ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Electrical wiring for church sound system (former public school)  (Read 25424 times)

D Edgcumbe

Our church has acquired a former public school and are planning and starting renovations.  I started a thread at http://forums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/topic,154460.0.html

What should we be doing for electrical wiring?  Number of circuits in case they have events? Grounding (bonding)? Surge protection?  Anything else to do it right the first time?  Somewhere I read that the sound circuits should all be on one phase (3-phase system).  Im an electrical apprentice, with help from an electrician (who probably knows even less than me about sound stuff) and members from the church.

Mike Sokol

• Lead instructor for the No~Shock~Zone
    • No~Shock~Zone Electrical Safety
Re: Electrical wiring for church sound system (former public school)
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2015, 05:39:32 PM »

Our church has acquired a former public school and are planning and starting renovations.  I started a thread at http://forums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/topic,154460.0.html

What should we be doing for electrical wiring?  Number of circuits in case they have events? Grounding (bonding)? Surge protection?  Anything else to do it right the first time?  Somewhere I read that the sound circuits should all be on one phase (3-phase system).  Im an electrical apprentice, with help from an electrician (who probably knows even less than me about sound stuff) and members from the church.

Please post a picture of your electrical service panel. That will help get things started.

D Edgcumbe

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2015, 06:02:38 PM »

Which one? lol
Actually not sure what you want by "service"