ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Fiber for CL5  (Read 6403 times)

Dave Wallingford

Fiber for CL5
« on: August 06, 2014, 07:26:11 AM »

I could use some help specifying a fiber system for a CL5 - or at least some help checking my homework! I'm using Cisco SG300 switches, and I'm a complete noob with fiber.

I assume I need 2 fibers for each network connection - 1 Rx and 1 Tx. Correct?

Some of the big corporate AV companies I work with use fiber snakes with LC connectors, and the broadcast companies I work with seem to use ST connectors. The GBICs in the switches will have LC connectors, I believe. ST seems more robust, but it adds more connections - I'd probably have a rack panel with ST connectors, and ST to LC cables from there to the switch. WIth an LC snake, I can connect directly. Any opinions on which is preferable? Do I lose any sort of signal strength with the added connections with ST adapters?

The way I'm usually setup, I think I'd need 8 channels of fiber:
Rx/Tx Dante Primary
Rx/Tx Dante Secondary
Rx/Tx Control / Misc network
Rx/Tx Comms, with some sort of fiber to com interface  - this would be a rental item. Also looks like this may only require one channel of fiber, depending on the interface.

The fiber itself might end up being something I'd rent, but I'd like to be setup with all the pieces necessary for it other than the fiber itself. How robust are the fibers? If I need 8, should I get something with 10 or 12 channels of fiber?

I think I would look at something more robust like Neutrik's OpticalCon Quad, but that would mean I would need 2 of them, right?