ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Midas M32-IP console - rebooting itself?  (Read 1515 times)

Mike Caldwell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3161
  • Covington, Ohio
    • Mike Caldwell Audio Productions
Re: Midas M32-IP console - rebooting itself?
« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2024, 07:46:16 AM »



But I do believe they are making lower cost versions of their own products. Oh, and the M32 Live felt cheaper than the older M32Rs. More lighter duty or something. Still working, though.

No...they would never do that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sam Costa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 495
  • 408-849-6420
Re: Midas M32-IP console - rebooting itself?
« Reply #11 on: February 28, 2024, 01:42:43 PM »

I haven't gotten a new console of any sort since pre-pandemic by a year or two, but I did get a full size X32 and it looked and felt very different from the earlier ones.

The earlier ones all had hidden screws holding the faders and other bits in place, the new one had screw heads visible all over the place. Some knobs were a little different, too.

That was as far as I got into it, and that one was sold off once I realized I didn't really need full-size consoles anymore.

But I do believe they are making lower cost versions of their own products. Oh, and the M32 Live felt cheaper than the older M32Rs. More lighter duty or something. Still working, though.

I did notice that on my X32 (early 2013 model) its has the clear plastic surface buttons and later models they changed it to white rubberized surface buttons, which in my guess they were less prone to sticking. I had a buttons on my X32 that stuck when pressed and had to use tape to pop it back up. Eventually I ended up cleaning them and worked out.
Logged
Being a productive member of society and encouraging others to do the same.

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7696
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Midas M32-IP console - rebooting itself?
« Reply #12 on: February 28, 2024, 02:29:54 PM »

I did notice that on my X32 (early 2013 model) its has the clear plastic surface buttons and later models they changed it to white rubberized surface buttons, which in my guess they were less prone to sticking. I had a buttons on my X32 that stuck when pressed and had to use tape to pop it back up. Eventually I ended up cleaning them and worked out.


Sam,


Been following this closely in case there is a gotcha lurking.  Most of our consoles are about 2013-25 vintage.  I like the rubber buttons better too.  Before Behringer stopped selling parts we were able to put together a nice stash of faders for the x32 and m32.  We have had to use a few, mostly on club rigs.  The cased up mixers stay in nice shape.  I used one at a winterfest in 20 degree temps this weekend without any issue at all and I was marveling and how a 10 year old mixer that cost so little has held up.  The M32 I was running had a heck of a dent in the corner too.  I have no idea what happened.


Keep the updates coming, especially if you are able to connect the UPS.


Scott



Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Sam Costa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 495
  • 408-849-6420
Re: Midas M32-IP console - rebooting itself?
« Reply #13 on: February 28, 2024, 04:37:27 PM »


Sam,


Been following this closely in case there is a gotcha lurking.  Most of our consoles are about 2013-25 vintage.  I like the rubber buttons better too.  Before Behringer stopped selling parts we were able to put together a nice stash of faders for the x32 and m32.  We have had to use a few, mostly on club rigs.  The cased up mixers stay in nice shape.  I used one at a winterfest in 20 degree temps this weekend without any issue at all and I was marveling and how a 10 year old mixer that cost so little has held up.  The M32 I was running had a heck of a dent in the corner too.  I have no idea what happened.


Keep the updates coming, especially if you are able to connect the UPS.


Scott

Hey Scott, I work this venue every year for an SCU gala and it wasn't there last year. This console (M32) looked pretty new when i connected with the house tech he never heard of this issue. I'm not sure if its used throughout the hotel in different ballrooms throughout the year but he seemed like it wasn't a big deal and said he would give the info to their administrator and send out for service (maybe it's happened before?)
In any case, I sent him an email yesterday and asked that they place it on a UPS first before sending it out, whether they do that I wont know.
MY old X32 is still rockin, it's been through the ringer a few times and still powers up just fine.,

Mine should be coming in  weeks and I certainly will have it on a UPS within my rack. Hopefully I dont run into this type of problem.. I hate carrying extra backup gear.  ;D
Logged
Being a productive member of society and encouraging others to do the same.

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7696
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Midas M32-IP console - rebooting itself?
« Reply #14 on: February 28, 2024, 07:53:00 PM »

Hey Scott, I work this venue every year for an SCU gala and it wasn't there last year. This console (M32) looked pretty new when i connected with the house tech he never heard of this issue. I'm not sure if its used throughout the hotel in different ballrooms throughout the year but he seemed like it wasn't a big deal and said he would give the info to their administrator and send out for service (maybe it's happened before?)
In any case, I sent him an email yesterday and asked that they place it on a UPS first before sending it out, whether they do that I wont know.
MY old X32 is still rockin, it's been through the ringer a few times and still powers up just fine.,

Mine should be coming in  weeks and I certainly will have it on a UPS within my rack. Hopefully I dont run into this type of problem.. I hate carrying extra backup gear.  ;D
Thanks Sam appreciate that I didnít realize it was your gear.

I am not in love with M/X32 but as Tim says itís the devil we know.  You can toss a stone and find a tech to run one here in Cleveland and I would say 90%of the clubs have them. 

We have installed about 20 of them installed and own 8 or 9.  We replace a few fader banks and and I/O board thatís it so I do roll my eyes when people disparage them.  You need diamond cutters and plow horses.  Itís a great plow horse.

Scott


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Sam Costa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 495
  • 408-849-6420
Re: Midas M32-IP console - rebooting itself?
« Reply #15 on: March 15, 2024, 11:44:16 AM »

Thanks Sam appreciate that I didnít realize it was your gear.

I am not in love with M/X32 but as Tim says itís the devil we know.  You can toss a stone and find a tech to run one here in Cleveland and I would say 90%of the clubs have them. 

We have installed about 20 of them installed and own 8 or 9.  We replace a few fader banks and and I/O board thatís it so I do roll my eyes when people disparage them.  You need diamond cutters and plow horses.  Itís a great plow horse.

Scott

**UPDATE**
Interestingly enough, I got a call from the house tech yesterday and they shipped the console back to Midas and it was a bad power supply. I told him a UPS wouldn't have helped in this situation, but to get one anyway and he already did.
Received mine 2 days ago, loaded up a scene from my USB, and I left it powered up in the garage for 48 hours and no issues yet. :)
 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
Being a productive member of society and encouraging others to do the same.

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7696
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Midas M32-IP console - rebooting itself?
« Reply #16 on: March 15, 2024, 03:53:52 PM »




That's great news Sam
Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Midas M32-IP console - rebooting itself?
¬ę Reply #16 on: March 15, 2024, 03:53:52 PM ¬Ľ


Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
 



Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.03 seconds with 23 queries.