ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: X32 / dual S16 Preamp Control Issue  (Read 330 times)

Peter Kowalczyk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 218
X32 / dual S16 Preamp Control Issue
« on: September 24, 2019, 09:38:35 pm »

Greetings!

One of my venues uses an X32 compact and dual S16s.  Audio is routed normally through both S16s, which is to say the top (master) unit routes its inputs 1-16 to AES50A 1-16, and the bottom (slave) S16 routes its 1-16 to AES50A 17-32.  Outputs correspond; 1-8 on top and 9-16 on bottom.  P

hysical Routing is pretty standard:  Console AES50 A port <> master S16 AES50 A; Master S16 AES50 B port <> slave AES50 A port.  Green lights on S16 front panels indicate valid connection.

The issue is that the console cannot control the preamps of the bottom (slave) S16.  No phantom power, and +/-18 dB Trim instead of proper Preamp Gain.  Routing is correct, but control is not.

The 'Preamps' tab also fails to correctly control channels 17-32, and the system status does not show that the slave S16 is connected.

Has anyone observed / solved this issue before?
Logged

Peter Kowalczyk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 218
Re: X32 / dual S16 Preamp Control Issue
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2019, 10:20:14 pm »

.... Updated Console firmware, from 3.09 to 3.11, with no luck.
Logged

Peter Kowalczyk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 218
Re: X32 / dual S16 Preamp Control Issue
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2019, 10:52:39 pm »

.... Updated Console firmware, from 3.09 to 3.11, with no luck.

.... Annnnnnd updated S16 firmware from 2.2 > 2.4 (slave unit) and 1.1 > 2.4 (master unit) to resolve the issue.

good talk, thanks guys... 
Logged

Douglas R. Allen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1107
Re: X32 / dual S16 Preamp Control Issue
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2019, 05:20:06 am »

.... Annnnnnd updated S16 firmware from 2.2 > 2.4 (slave unit) and 1.1 > 2.4 (master unit) to resolve the issue.

good talk, thanks guys...

It sounds like with the 2 units having different firmware, 2.2-1.1 they wouldn't talk so that was the problem. I have a DL16 and a S16 both on 2.2 currently and they work fine. Where I'm at your post hit at 9:30 at night in the States so many are not online so I'm guessing part of the reason for little replies. At least you found the problem!

Douglas R. Allen
Logged

Chris Hindle

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1737
  • Montreal, Quebec, Canada, Earth, Sol System,......
Re: X32 / dual S16 Preamp Control Issue
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2019, 08:18:23 am »

It sounds like with the 2 units having different firmware, 2.2-1.1 they wouldn't talk so that was the problem. I have a DL16 and a S16 both on 2.2 currently and they work fine. Where I'm at your post hit at 9:30 at night in the States so many are not online so I'm guessing part of the reason for little replies. At least you found the problem!

Douglas R. Allen
Wow Douglas.
I havn't seen Rat Fur in the wild for years....  ;D
Chris.
Logged
Ya, Whatever. Just throw a '57 on it, and get off my stage.

Dan Mortensen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 702
Re: X32 / dual S16 Preamp Control Issue
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2019, 02:32:31 pm »

Greetings!

One of my venues uses an X32 compact and dual S16s.  Audio is routed normally through both S16s, which is to say the top (master) unit routes its inputs 1-16 to AES50A 1-16, and the bottom (slave) S16 routes its 1-16 to AES50A 17-32.  Outputs correspond; 1-8 on top and 9-16 on bottom.  P

hysical Routing is pretty standard:  Console AES50 A port <> master S16 AES50 A; Master S16 AES50 B port <> slave AES50 A port.  Green lights on S16 front panels indicate valid connection.

The issue is that the console cannot control the preamps of the bottom (slave) S16.  No phantom power, and +/-18 dB Trim instead of proper Preamp Gain.  Routing is correct, but control is not.

The 'Preamps' tab also fails to correctly control channels 17-32, and the system status does not show that the slave S16 is connected.

Has anyone observed / solved this issue before?

Glad you fixed it with the firmware update.

Early on in the X32's life I had a similar problem but affecting all the channels that was due to using an Ethernet style cable that only had 6 pins in the RJ45 (making it something else?) instead of 8.
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: X32 / dual S16 Preamp Control Issue
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2019, 02:32:31 pm »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.027 seconds with 24 queries.