ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Mixwizard Wz3, 6 independant monitor mixes w/ effects? Can it be done?  (Read 5875 times)

Danny Navarro Jr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4

Hey , names Danny and I'am new here. Just got a quick question about a Allen and Heath Mixwiz wz3. I want to use it for a live band and want to have 6 independent monitor mixes and still use the on board effects. The wz3 uses Aux 5 and 6 for the dual fx processors. , My question How can I still use aux 5 and 6 for monitor mixes and use the on board effects?? Can it be done? Any suggestions how to chain up a external processor to the PA? FYI I am a bass player, not a soundman so any help would be great! Thanks!
Logged

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6885
  • Audio Plumber
Posting rules
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2014, 01:22:11 pm »

any help would be great! Thanks!

Please go to your profile and change the "Name" field to your real first and last name as required by the posting rules displayed in the header at the top of the section, and in the Site Rules and Suggestions in the Forum Announcements section, and on the registration page when you registered.

Mac
Logged

Danny Navarro Jr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Posting rules
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2014, 01:32:27 pm »

Please go to your profile and change the "Name" field to your real first and last name as required by the posting rules displayed in the header at the top of the section, and in the Site Rules and Suggestions in the Forum Announcements section, and on the registration page when you registered.

Mac
Sorry
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 21630
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Mixwizard Wz3, 6 independant monitor mixes w/ effects? Can it be done?
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2014, 01:34:55 pm »

Hey , names Danny and I'am new here. Just got a quick question about a Allen and Heath Mixwiz wz3. I want to use it for a live band and want to have 6 independent monitor mixes and still use the on board effects. The wz3 uses Aux 5 and 6 for the dual fx processors. , My question How can I still use aux 5 and 6 for monitor mixes and use the on board effects?? Can it be done? Any suggestions how to chain up a external processor to the PA? FYI I am a bass player, not a soundman so any help would be great! Thanks!

No... well, unless you want to hear in the monitors the exact same blend of sounds you are sending to the EFX (very unlikely).

What "external processor" are you wanting to hook up?  System (loudspeaker) processing?  EFX processing?  Food processor?
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Danny Navarro Jr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Mixwizard Wz3, 6 independant monitor mixes w/ effects? Can it be done?
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2014, 02:37:29 pm »

It would be a midiverb III
Logged

Steve Garris

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1443
Re: Mixwizard Wz3, 6 independant monitor mixes w/ effects? Can it be done?
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2014, 02:56:22 pm »

It would be a midiverb III

The best you can do is 5 monitor mixes and 1 effect, either the onboard or the midi verb.

This is one reason I sold my mixwiz and picked up a Mackie DL1608. Now I have 6 monitor mixes, plus the 2 effects (built in), plus any thing I want to had as long as I have a spare send & return. And it's nice to have a comp and gate on every channel!
Logged

g'bye, Dick Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7424
  • Duluth
Re: Mixwizard Wz3, 6 independant monitor mixes w/ effects? Can it be done?
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2014, 03:24:45 pm »

The best you can do is 5 monitor mixes and 1 effect, either the onboard or the midi verb.

This is one reason I sold my mixwiz and picked up a Mackie DL1608. Now I have 6 monitor mixes, plus the 2 effects (built in), plus any thing I want to had as long as I have a spare send & return. And it's nice to have a comp and gate on every channel!

If the OP is willing to have the same reverb on the entire mix, you could insert the FX on the mains and dial it in with whatever "wetness" you desire thus obviating the need to use an AUX to feed the FX unit.

This is the only way to do what was asked.
Logged
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

Tommy Peel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1462
  • Longview, Texas
Re: Mixwizard Wz3, 6 independant monitor mixes w/ effects? Can it be done?
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2014, 03:45:16 pm »

You could also insert the effect processor on one channel if you only need efx on one channel.

Thinking outside the box(literally):
Direct out the channels that need efx to a small mixer(lots of options for small mixers including some 1 rack space options such as a Behringer RX1604) which feeds the efx processor and return the efx processor to the main board through ST1, ST2, or an open channel(s). Also a small mini mixer could be used if you only needed 3 channels getting efx. The disadvantage to this would be that the efx sends would be pre-fader.
Logged

Geoff Doane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 857
  • Halifax, NS
Re: Mixwizard Wz3, 6 independant monitor mixes w/ effects? Can it be done?
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2014, 09:08:19 pm »

There's one other way to do this, although it's a bit of a kludge.

He didn't actually mention it, but I assume the OP is using the board for the main mix as well as monitors.  If you can live with mono mains, pan all the channels to the left, and connect your Midiverb to the right output.  To send signal from each channel to the verb, turn the pan control clockwise as required.  Set up the gain on the input of the verb so you don't need to go past half way on the pan pots.  You will lose some signal in the mains (left output), but it's only about 3 dB at center pan.  If you need more level out front, turn up the fader, and readjust the pan pot ccw.

Return the reverb to the left channel of one of the stereo inputs (or a regular input, if you have enough).  You might need a dummy plug in the right input so it doesn't send reverb back to the reverb.  I don't remember if all the auxes can be pre-fade on the MixWiz as it comes from the factory, but I know if they aren't, there is a mod you can do so they are.

You could try using the right output for the 6th monitor mix, and use Aux 6 for an internal effect, but MON 6 will be post fader, which might make it more difficult to deal with.

This is not an ideal situation, but if you're trying to squeeze every last feature out of the console, this is one way to do it.  I remember seeing this trick quite often in the old days when even decent club consoles (like a Soundcraft 1S) only had two aux sends (monitor and "echo"), and a band wanted/needed another mix.  Back then, another graphic EQ and crossover was a significant cost, so many people ran the PA mono anyway.

GTD
Logged

Patrick Tracy

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 513
  • Boulder, CO, USA
    • Boulder Sound Guy
Re: Mixwizard Wz3, 6 independant monitor mixes w/ effects? Can it be done?
« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2014, 11:27:02 pm »

Another option, requiring extra gear (line mixer and cabling):

Mixer direct outs -> line mixer -> external effects unit -> mixer stereo return.

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Mixwizard Wz3, 6 independant monitor mixes w/ effects? Can it be done?
« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2014, 11:27:02 pm »


Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.051 seconds with 24 queries.