ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Line 6 Wireless and Phantom supply ?  (Read 6535 times)

Brandon Romanowski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
    • IndigoConcertAudiDept.
Line 6 Wireless and Phantom supply ?
« on: September 24, 2012, 09:09:07 pm »

I just read about Doug Fowler using Line6 for wireless measurement purposes. Whats up with the external phantom supply ? The line6 packs don't have phantom ? Whats the deal ...
Logged

Brandon Romanowski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
    • IndigoConcertAudiDept.
Re: Line 6 Wireless and Phantom supply ?
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2012, 11:00:20 pm »

I just read about Doug Fowler using Line6 for wireless measurement purposes. Whats up with the external phantom supply ? The line6 packs don't have phantom ? Whats the deal ...


They only have 5V ......
Logged

Rasmus Rosenberg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 55
Re: Line 6 Wireless and Phantom supply ?
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2012, 05:05:40 pm »


They only have 5V ......

Any one got a list of what different mic's actually use? I only had the line6 device for a day trail got it working with an EMC 800 but didn't realise that it only got 5v until later in the day where i tried to connect an M30 and that didn't work.

mvh
Rasmus
Logged

Gustaf Kempe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: Line 6 Wireless and Phantom supply ?
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2012, 03:18:36 am »

You either need a phantom power supply in between your mic and the beltpack. Or buy a mic that don't need phantom power. The only measurment mics I know of which don't need poer is the earthworks m30bx and the one from nti.
Logged

Brandon Romanowski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
    • IndigoConcertAudiDept.
Re: Line 6 Wireless and Phantom supply ?
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2012, 11:24:16 am »

Can anyone recommend an inline battery powered phantom supply that is at least 18V  ?
Logged

Don Boomer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 298
    • RF Venue
Re: Line 6 Wireless and Phantom supply ?
« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2012, 09:49:26 pm »

It's typical that wireless beltpacks have bias voltage.  Very few have phantom power.
Logged
Don Boomer
Senior applications engineer
RF Venue, Inc.

Doug Fowler

  • Member since May 1995, 2nd poster on original LAB, moderator on and off since 1997, now running TurboMOD v1.826
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1781
  • Saint Louis, MO USA
Re: Line 6 Wireless and Phantom supply ?
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2012, 10:17:35 pm »

Can anyone recommend an inline battery powered phantom supply that is at least 18V  ?

I'm using the Countryman box.   Bought them from Performance, too.

http://www.performanceaudio.com/buy/Countryman/Battery_Power_Module/14473
Logged
"It's got electrolytes.  It's got what plants crave."

Rasmus Rosenberg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 55
Re: Line 6 Wireless and Phantom supply ?
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2012, 03:24:34 am »

I'm using the Countryman box.   Bought them from Performance, too.

http://www.performanceaudio.com/buy/Countryman/Battery_Power_Module/14473

WHat options are there that will do 48v 10 mA?
Logged

Grant Conklin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
    • G-Force Pro Audio
Re: Line 6 Wireless and Phantom supply ?
« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2012, 04:24:01 pm »

WHat options are there that will do 48v 10 mA?

The Rolls PB224 looks like it does the trick.

The Galaxy Audio JIB/PB might.

Not sure about the Audix APS-911. 

Luis Pinzón Arroyo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: Line 6 Wireless and Phantom supply ?
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2013, 03:09:32 pm »

I just read about Doug Fowler using Line6 for wireless measurement purposes. Whats up with the external phantom supply ? The line6 packs don't have phantom ? Whats the deal ...

It is very easy to make a phantom power supply, if you have some soldering skills, try this:

Logged
The more I look, the more I see..The more I listen, the more I hear.

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Line 6 Wireless and Phantom supply ?
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2013, 03:09:32 pm »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.065 seconds with 23 queries.