ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => Installed Sound/Contracting => Topic started by: Nick Marques on August 22, 2017, 09:24:11 am

Title: Yamaha CL/QL + Shure Control
Post by: Nick Marques on August 22, 2017, 09:24:11 am
Hi all,

I am commissioning a Yamaha QL5, and while this isn't the first time and I am very familiar with the console, this is the first time I am doing so with Shure ULX-D control in an installation environment. I have three separate networks: AV LAN, Dante PRI, Dante SEC. For management of some Dante devices, AV LAN and Dante PRI are connected. All 3x switches are Cisco SG300.

All devices are running latest firmware as of yesterday (8/22/17).

I have everything working, but my understanding is that control of the Shure receivers only works when the Shure Control IP (not Dante PRI or SEC) is set to a 169.254.x.x address. Because this is an installation environment, I want that to be static and on a subnet that isn't on the APIPA range. Is this possible at all? I did find out that I can statically assign a 169.254.x.x address and it does work. I have a WiFi router on the network for use with the iPad app and Wireless Workbench, so there is a DHCP server. If I take it out of static and set to DHCP, it gets assigned. Am I to believe this is really designed to not work on anything but APIPA?

As it is right now, for this to work I either have to set my AV LAN to be in the 169.254.x.x range for ALL devices or keep the APIPA address on the receivers and manually add a 2nd IP address to the Wireless Workbench PC (can't do this with an iPad I am guessing).

Regardless of the IP set, the Dante portion works 100%. I am only looking at the Control aspect right now.

Please tell me Yamaha didn't screw this up this bad.... Any workarounds?
Title: Re: Yamaha CL/QL + Shure Control
Post by: James Cotton on August 22, 2017, 10:42:06 am
Hi all,

I am commissioning a Yamaha QL5, and while this isn't the first time and I am very familiar with the console, this is the first time I am doing so with Shure ULX-D control in an installation environment. I have three separate networks: AV LAN, Dante PRI, Dante SEC. For management of some Dante devices, AV LAN and Dante PRI are connected. All 3x switches are Cisco SG300.

All devices are running latest firmware as of yesterday (8/22/17).

I have everything working, but my understanding is that control of the Shure receivers only works when the Shure Control IP (not Dante PRI or SEC) is set to a 169.254.x.x address. Because this is an installation environment, I want that to be static and on a subnet that isn't on the APIPA range. Is this possible at all? I did find out that I can statically assign a 169.254.x.x address and it does work. I have a WiFi router on the network for use with the iPad app and Wireless Workbench, so there is a DHCP server. If I take it out of static and set to DHCP, it gets assigned. Am I to believe this is really designed to not work on anything but APIPA?

As it is right now, for this to work I either have to set my AV LAN to be in the 169.254.x.x range for ALL devices or keep the APIPA address on the receivers and manually add a 2nd IP address to the Wireless Workbench PC (can't do this with an iPad I am guessing).

Regardless of the IP set, the Dante portion works 100%. I am only looking at the Control aspect right now.

Please tell me Yamaha didn't screw this up this bad.... Any workarounds?

There's a long thread about this in the Console Connectivity forum, top post as of now.
From what I remember the answers to your questions are all there.
Title: Re: Yamaha CL/QL + Shure Control
Post by: Andrew Broughton on August 22, 2017, 11:18:26 am
http://forums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/topic,159908.msg1469066.html#msg1469066