ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => SR Forum Archives => Product Reviews: Sound Reinforcement FUD Forum Archive => Topic started by: Dave Gunnell on April 20, 2004, 01:12:34 am

Title: Crown I-Tech amps
Post by: Dave Gunnell on April 20, 2004, 01:12:34 am
Has anyone out there used the new Crown I-Tech amps?  How do they sound?  I'm impressed with the output specs, but they sure have a lot of bells and whistles (DSP, networking stuff) that a lot of us will never need, and boy are they expensive.  I have yet to find a dealer that isn't charging list price for the amp.  Plus the power ratings seem pretty high for all but the highest power handling speaker systems--the smallest amp in the series (I-T4000) has specs that look like a MacroTech 5002 @ 4 ohms, and then they go up from there.

So has anyone used them?  And does anyone know if Crown will expand the line to include lower power models, and also higher power models without all the DSP that many of us don't need.

DaveG
Title: Re: Crown I-Tech amps
Post by: Pittbull on April 21, 2004, 08:17:11 am
I just bought 7. I got 3 4000, 3 6000, and 1 8000. They sound good and are extremely easy to use, but alas... i have had some problems with the 6000's though. i don't think they have worked out the bugs yet. no word on what else is coming out...
Title: Re: Crown I-Tech amps
Post by: Andy Peters on April 21, 2004, 04:31:10 pm
Pittbull wrote on Wed, 21 April 2004 05:17

I just bought 7. I got 3 4000, 3 6000, and 1 8000. They sound good and are extremely easy to use, but alas... i have had some problems with the 6000's though. i don't think they have worked out the bugs yet. no word on what else is coming out...


Could you be more specific about the problems you've been having?

--a
Title: Re: Crown I-Tech amps
Post by: Pittbull on May 12, 2004, 08:22:37 am
Well...the RJ45 connectors are not soldered securely onto the circut boards, so you have to be VERY careful when you connect via Cat5; and there seems to be a thermal protect problem that has something to do with the routing of a ribbon cable through 4 of the coils in the back. The GUI for IQwic could be a little more user friendly, but all in all, i am very satisfied with my purchase, and now that MY problems are fixed, the amps are blowin' away the competition!!  if you need anything...(pics, specs, settings...)contact me

-Pitt