ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => LAB Lounge => Topic started by: Wali Raffiqi on April 17, 2011, 07:39:00 pm

Title: Using StudioLive's FireWire port with USB
Post by: Wali Raffiqi on April 17, 2011, 07:39:00 pm
Hey folks,

For those using a Presonus StudioLive, and a laptop with a USB port only, what do you guys use to connect the two? I've looked everywhere to find a simple FireWire 6-pin to a USB type A cable or adapter, but am not having any good luck. Closest promising item that I found was a $30 hub, and I'm not sure if that would work either, and if it did, I rather not lug a hub with me to each gig.

Thanks.

Edit: I dug a little more and found an adapter on meritline.com, but they ship from China and takes 2-3 weeks. I guess I'll see if there is anything else available sooner, if not, that might be my only option.  :-\
Title: Re: Using StudioLive's FireWire port with USB
Post by: g'bye, Dick Rees on April 17, 2011, 08:17:12 pm
Hey folks,

For those using a Presonus StudioLive, and a laptop with a USB port only, what do you guys use to connect the two? I've looked everywhere to find a simple FireWire 6-pin to a USB type A cable or adapter, but am not having any good luck. Closest promising item that I found was a $30 hub, and I'm not sure if that would work either, and if it did, I rather not lug a hub with me to each gig.

Thanks.

Edit: I dug a little more and found an adapter on meritline.com, but they ship from China and takes 2-3 weeks. I guess I'll see if there is anything else available sooner, if not, that might be my only option.  :-\

Take a look at Page 131 of the manual.  Beyond that there are issues with things running in the background crippling the console/computer interface.  Do a search for this and check the SLive forums.
Title: Re: Using StudioLive's FireWire port with USB
Post by: Wali Raffiqi on April 17, 2011, 08:43:26 pm
I don't have access to my manual at this time, and the manual on presonus.com goes up to 124 pages.

What do you mean by things? I will be using it mostly for VSL and studiolive remote. And occasional recording.