ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => LAB: The Classic Live Audio Board => Topic started by: Andrew Broughton on April 21, 2020, 10:20:42 pm

Title: New Companion module for Yamaha CL/QL
Post by: Andrew Broughton on April 21, 2020, 10:20:42 pm

Another module for the Yamaha stuff. This one is more interesting to me than the SCP one that I did earlier (https://forums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/topic,173326.msg1597396.html#msg1597396).


Easier to show than explain. It's free, you don't need a StreamDeck or even a mixer to play with it. Visit my site for details if you're curious...

https://youtu.be/8nKuF3Dq3I8
Title: Re: New Companion module for Yamaha CL/QL
Post by: brian maddox on April 21, 2020, 11:06:25 pm
Another module for the Yamaha stuff. This one is more interesting to me than the SCP one that I did earlier (https://forums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/topic,173326.msg1597396.html#msg1597396).


Easier to show than explain. It's free, you don't need a StreamDeck or even a mixer to play with it. Visit my site for details if you're curious...

https://youtu.be/8nKuF3Dq3I8

This is insanely cool.  Macros on a Yamaha console are a game changer.

Now i just need a gig to use this on.  :)
Title: Re: New Companion module for Yamaha CL/QL
Post by: Nathan Salt on April 22, 2020, 03:39:49 am
Andrew you are an absolute legend
Title: Re: New Companion module for Yamaha CL/QL
Post by: Zach Greenhorn on April 22, 2020, 12:48:10 pm
Now i just need a gig to use this on.  :)


I need more of my gigs (when they come back) to have Yamaha's to try this out on.

I've been using Companion for controlling QLab, Reaper, and controlling my Macs and the console du jour if it has a companion module available.
Title: Re: New Companion module for Yamaha CL/QL
Post by: Justice C. Bigler on April 22, 2020, 06:21:39 pm
Andrew, where does one get the most recent version of your software?

I'd like to play with it with my DM2000 while everything is shut down.
Title: Re: New Companion module for Yamaha CL/QL
Post by: brian maddox on April 22, 2020, 07:41:02 pm

I need more of my gigs (when they come back) to have Yamaha's to try this out on.

I've been using Companion for controlling QLab, Reaper, and controlling my Macs and the console du jour if it has a companion module available.

Me too.  Although when i AM working, i'm on QL/CL 99 percent of the time, which is why Andrew's module is so appealing.

The whole Macro thing is a Game Changer.  That makes the whole process of programming buttons in Companion a no brainer.  I've got GOBS of things i can think of to use this thing for. 
Title: Re: New Companion module for Yamaha CL/QL
Post by: Dan Richardson on April 23, 2020, 11:06:42 am
Andrew, where does one get the most recent version of your software?

I'd like to play with it with my DM2000 while everything is shut down.

The official builds are here, under the 2.0 Beta clickthrough.
https://bitfocus.io/user/downloads (https://bitfocus.io/user/downloads)

Andrew does his own more frequent build on his website.

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?4-Programming (http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?4-Programming)

Title: Re: New Companion module for Yamaha CL/QL
Post by: Tim Weaver on April 23, 2020, 02:35:53 pm
I'm a complete neophyte in regards to using midi commands on a desk, so if this is a stupid question sorry...


If I programmed a macro that would set every channel's EQ to "ON" and set all the High Passes to maybe 80 hz and "ON" does the macro just toggle the ON button or is it an absolute "it will be on no matter what state it was in before" type situation?

I'm thinking for a new band soundcheck situation you could recall scene 000 and then run a macro to set all the EQ's to ON, add a HP to all channels and turn it ON, and maybe set all the comps to a default setting, or maybe setup the two dynamics inserts to how you like them, etc.

Then you are saving several seconds per channel on a soundcheck just by not having to hit several buttons and twiddle knobs to get to a default channel strip before you even start tweaking.

You could even throw in the User define knobs into this and have the High Pass on one and comp ratio on another, etc etc. You'd save afew minutes per soundcheck which would add up quite a bit on a festival day!
Title: Re: New Companion module for Yamaha CL/QL
Post by: brian maddox on April 23, 2020, 03:15:14 pm
I'm a complete neophyte in regards to using midi commands on a desk, so if this is a stupid question sorry...


If I programmed a macro that would set every channel's EQ to "ON" and set all the High Passes to maybe 80 hz and "ON" does the macro just toggle the ON button or is it an absolute "it will be on no matter what state it was in before" type situation?

I'm thinking for a new band soundcheck situation you could recall scene 000 and then run a macro to set all the EQ's to ON, add a HP to all channels and turn it ON, and maybe set all the comps to a default setting, or maybe setup the two dynamics inserts to how you like them, etc.

Then you are saving several seconds per channel on a soundcheck just by not having to hit several buttons and twiddle knobs to get to a default channel strip before you even start tweaking.

You could even throw in the User define knobs into this and have the High Pass on one and comp ratio on another, etc etc. You'd save afew minutes per soundcheck which would add up quite a bit on a festival day!

The MIDI implementation on Yamaha consoles is natively Absolute Commands.  That is, there is a MIDI command for "Turn input channel 2 ON".  It is not a command to "Press the Channel 2 On/Off Button".  So yes, you could set a string of commands to do just about anything and know that at least those things are definitely in that state.

Where Andrew's solution here really shines is in the way that it fills in some gaps in Yamaha's implementation of scene control as well as QL/CL editor.  There are some specific things that are NOT recalled by scene commands [such as Outport settings] that can really bite you in the butt.  There are also some things that the Editor can't reach "like OSC ON" that can be a pain when you're remoteing into a console.  Given that Yamaha's MIDI implementation is 100 percent, having a Macro recorder for MIDI means being able to set a button to literally do anything that your hands can do on the desk.  This is amazingly powerful.
Title: Re: New Companion module for Yamaha CL/QL
Post by: Eric Snodgrass on April 23, 2020, 03:16:59 pm
I'm a complete neophyte in regards to using midi commands on a desk, so if this is a stupid question sorry...


If I programmed a macro that would set every channel's EQ to "ON" and set all the High Passes to maybe 80 hz and "ON" does the macro just toggle the ON button or is it an absolute "it will be on no matter what state it was in before" type situation?

I'm thinking for a new band soundcheck situation you could recall scene 000 and then run a macro to set all the EQ's to ON, add a HP to all channels and turn it ON, and maybe set all the comps to a default setting, or maybe setup the two dynamics inserts to how you like them, etc.

Then you are saving several seconds per channel on a soundcheck just by not having to hit several buttons and twiddle knobs to get to a default channel strip before you even start tweaking.

You could even throw in the User define knobs into this and have the High Pass on one and comp ratio on another, etc etc. You'd save afew minutes per soundcheck which would add up quite a bit on a festival day!

Can't you just save all of those settings in the scene itself? 
Title: Re: New Companion module for Yamaha CL/QL
Post by: Tim Weaver on April 23, 2020, 04:27:10 pm
Can't you just save all of those settings in the scene itself?

Sort of, but if you are working on someone else's desk, ie, it's a rental or it's the openers desk you would be better off recalling scene 000 which is an "All Flat" scene which is the Yamaha default. It has EQ's, Comps, and Gates flat and "punched out".

A lot of folks won't like you messing with their Scene 000. So this seems like a good workaround and was just my first thought of how to use the macros.
Title: Re: New Companion module for Yamaha CL/QL
Post by: Riley Casey on April 23, 2020, 07:08:46 pm
You can't really "mess with" scene 0 as no changes you make while in that scene can be recalled, they must first be stored in another numbered scene. Any recall of Scene 0 returns it to that blank state.  Most of what you're doing in a scene change in a generic RnR show can easily be recalled with the scene memory system but as soon as you get into a large corporate event with a couple of dozen output ports to various delays, records, green rooms ad infinitum simply being able to return all the output ports on every Omni port and Dante patch to 0 gain and delay is worth it's weight in 1s and 0s.

...
A lot of folks won't like you messing with their Scene 000. So this seems like a good workaround and was just my first thought of how to use the macros.
Title: Re: New Companion module for Yamaha CL/QL
Post by: brian maddox on April 23, 2020, 08:25:57 pm
You can't really "mess with" scene 0 as no changes you make while in that scene can be recalled, they must first be stored in another numbered scene. Any recall of Scene 0 returns it to that blank state.  Most of what you're doing in a scene change in a generic RnR show can easily be recalled with the scene memory system but as soon as you get into a large corporate event with a couple of dozen output ports to various delays, records, green rooms ad infinitum simply being able to return all the output ports on every Omni port and Dante patch to 0 gain and delay is worth it's weight in 1s and 0s.

^^yup

Title: Re: New Companion module for Yamaha CL/QL
Post by: Tim Weaver on April 23, 2020, 09:07:53 pm
^^yup

To be honest I haven't tried, but I knew that scene 0 was locked. I assumed you could unlock it and record over it if you wanted. I seem to remember some desks being that way. Maybe I'm just old and audio alzheimer's is setting in. I rarely mess with scenes anymore since the day job has a desk for each job. I don't need to recall scenes for anything anymore. I still save, but I'm just saving over the same scene over and over now. Getting lazy I guess.
Title: Re: New Companion module for Yamaha CL/QL
Post by: Andrew Broughton on April 25, 2020, 01:07:30 am
Andrew, where does one get the most recent version of your software?

I'd like to play with it with my DM2000 while everything is shut down.
Hey Justice;
Everything is on my website. 2 companion modules and YammieQ and whatever else.
The companion modules are just for TF/CL/QL, fwiw...
Title: Re: New Companion module for Yamaha CL/QL
Post by: Andrew Broughton on April 25, 2020, 01:16:13 am
Sort of, but if you are working on someone else's desk, ie, it's a rental or it's the openers desk you would be better off recalling scene 000 which is an "All Flat" scene which is the Yamaha default. It has EQ's, Comps, and Gates flat and "punched out".

A lot of folks won't like you messing with their Scene 000. So this seems like a good workaround and was just my first thought of how to use the macros.
Except scene 000 will only recall some settings, and even less if stuff has been recall safed. The standard way is to load the festival's setup into the editor, making sure they've safed all their outputs and stuff that you don't want to change, fix your patch to match theirs if needed, and then drag your scene into their list. When it's your turn, recall your scene.
Yamaha's pretty good that way now.

Macros are much more useful for things that can't be done with scenes, like very specific parameters, setup changes, things like that. However, theoretically, you could literally factory reset the board, press record on the SD, start twisting dials on the console and start mixing the band, and every setting you changed would be recorded. AND it's editable after the fact. Unlike scenes, ONLY the things you change are recorded. This opens up huge possibilities.
Title: Re: New Companion module for Yamaha CL/QL
Post by: Andrew Broughton on April 28, 2020, 01:20:42 am
New version up. Could use some more testing if anyone's game. No Streamdeck or mixing console is needed. Just a computer.