ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => Pro AV Forum => Topic started by: Scott Gray on October 22, 2019, 01:38:27 pm

Title: PA Power amp Connection Question
Post by: Scott Gray on October 22, 2019, 01:38:27 pm
This should be an easy answer, but I cannot find it online.

I have a Behringer Xenyx 1222 mixer and just purchased a Behringer NX4 6000 to replace the existing power amp. The mixer has a L & R main output. The NX4 has A,B,C,D input and 4 channels out (ABCD). How do I connect the L & R out to the power amp input and have A, B, C, and D outputs with independent volumes on each?

Y adapter seems the obvious solution, but some people seem to think Y cables should not be used??

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Title: Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
Post by: Keith Broughton on October 22, 2019, 01:44:13 pm
This should be an easy answer, but I cannot find it online.

I have a Behringer Xenyx 1222 mixer and just purchased a Behringer NX4 6000 to replace the existing power amp. The mixer has a L & R main output. The NX4 has A,B,C,D input and 4 channels out (ABCD). How do I connect the L & R out to the power amp input and have A, B, C, and D outputs with independent volumes on each?

Y adapter seems the obvious solution, but some people seem to think Y cables should not be used??

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
I see no  reason Y adapters will not be suitable for your application if the on board switches don't give you input configuration options.
Title: Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
Post by: Mark Cadwallader on October 22, 2019, 05:49:02 pm
The general rule of thumb that I learned is that it is okay to split a signal with a wye cable, but don't combine signals with a wye.
Title: Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
Post by: Geert Friedhof on October 22, 2019, 06:08:17 pm
Put both 'mode' switches in mono, and both 'crossover' switches at full range.
Put Left and Right from the mixer in A and C respectively.
A and B will be Left, C and D will be Right.
Title: Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
Post by: Scott Gray on October 22, 2019, 10:03:34 pm
Put both 'mode' switches in mono, and both 'crossover' switches at full range.
Put Left and Right from the mixer in A and C respectively.
A and B will be Left, C and D will be Right.

I thought it should be something like this, just didn't have the correct combination. Thank You.
Title: Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
Post by: Scott Gray on October 23, 2019, 09:25:39 am
OK, so I connected this way. Now on the power amp A = left and C = right but B and D volume controls do nothing. I'm trying to get a L & R Mains and L & R Monitors all with independent volume controls.

There's not many switches or controls, is there anything else I might be missing?
Title: Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
Post by: Taylor Hall on October 23, 2019, 10:21:37 am
OK, so I connected this way. Now on the power amp A = left and C = right but B and D volume controls do nothing. I'm trying to get a L & R Mains and L & R Monitors all with independent volume controls.

There's not many switches or controls, is there anything else I might be missing?
If that's the case you will need to undo the switch settings that linked AB and CD and run individual inputs to each channel. Linking channels like you did before will only let one gain knob per linked pair control the sensitivity.
Title: Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
Post by: Scott Gray on October 23, 2019, 10:34:05 am
If that's the case you will need to undo the switch settings that linked AB and CD and run individual inputs to each channel. Linking channels like you did before will only let one gain knob per linked pair control the sensitivity.


Agreed, it looks like splitters (Y cables ) then.

Thank You.
Title: Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
Post by: Scott Holtzman on October 24, 2019, 12:55:03 am

Agreed, it looks like splitters (Y cables ) then.

Thank You.

You should not be controlling volume at the amp.  Doesn't your mixer have aux feeds for the monitors?  If not consider an XR-12 as an upgrade to that mixer. 

Title: Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
Post by: Debbie Dunkley on November 29, 2019, 10:00:41 am
I agree.  Monitors require a mix that's different from house, which is usually accomplished by aux mixes.  (Some boards call them by different names.) Each aux mix has its own dedicated output from the board, which feeds into its own designated input and corresponding output on an amp (assuming a passive speaker system).

Hey Carl... Welcome to the forum but you will need to change your display name to your real name as per the forum rules you agreed to when you joined. Just a  heads up ......
Title: Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
Post by: Dennis Wiggins on November 29, 2019, 10:15:45 am
...The mixer has a L & R main output. The NX4 has A,B,C,D input and 4 channels out (ABCD). How do I connect the L & R out to the power amp input and have A, B, C, and D outputs with independent volumes on each?...

Look at the right side of page 5 of the manual that came with the NX4-6000.

Set both of the switches to "stereo."  This will be the 4 input to 4 output configuration.

Set both switches to "full range."

Use 2 Y cables to "split" each L and R output from you mixer.
(Buy 2 of these:  Hosa YXM-101.5 XLR3F to Dual XLR3M Y Cable, 1.5 Feet)

Plug the 2 split outputs from L into the A and B inputs, and the 2 R into the C and D inputs.

You will now have individual control of each of the amp channel volumes.

A and B knobs will individually control the L signal outputs.  C and D will control the R.

-Dennis

 
Title: Posting Rules
Post by: Mac Kerr on November 29, 2019, 11:07:01 am
I agree.

Please go to your profile and change the "Name" field to your real first and last name as required by the posting rules displayed in the header at the top of the section, and in the Site Rules and Suggestions (http://forums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/board,36.0.html) in the Forum Announcements section, and on the registration page when you registered.

Mac
admin