ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => LAB Lounge => Topic started by: Peter Kowalczyk on September 24, 2019, 09:38:35 pm

Title: X32 / dual S16 Preamp Control Issue
Post by: Peter Kowalczyk on September 24, 2019, 09:38:35 pm
Greetings!

One of my venues uses an X32 compact and dual S16s.  Audio is routed normally through both S16s, which is to say the top (master) unit routes its inputs 1-16 to AES50A 1-16, and the bottom (slave) S16 routes its 1-16 to AES50A 17-32.  Outputs correspond; 1-8 on top and 9-16 on bottom.  P

hysical Routing is pretty standard:  Console AES50 A port <> master S16 AES50 A; Master S16 AES50 B port <> slave AES50 A port.  Green lights on S16 front panels indicate valid connection.

The issue is that the console cannot control the preamps of the bottom (slave) S16.  No phantom power, and +/-18 dB Trim instead of proper Preamp Gain.  Routing is correct, but control is not.

The 'Preamps' tab also fails to correctly control channels 17-32, and the system status does not show that the slave S16 is connected.

Has anyone observed / solved this issue before?
Title: Re: X32 / dual S16 Preamp Control Issue
Post by: Peter Kowalczyk on September 24, 2019, 10:20:14 pm
.... Updated Console firmware, from 3.09 to 3.11, with no luck.
Title: Re: X32 / dual S16 Preamp Control Issue
Post by: Peter Kowalczyk on September 24, 2019, 10:52:39 pm
.... Updated Console firmware, from 3.09 to 3.11, with no luck.

.... Annnnnnd updated S16 firmware from 2.2 > 2.4 (slave unit) and 1.1 > 2.4 (master unit) to resolve the issue.

good talk, thanks guys... 
Title: Re: X32 / dual S16 Preamp Control Issue
Post by: Douglas R. Allen on September 25, 2019, 05:20:06 am
.... Annnnnnd updated S16 firmware from 2.2 > 2.4 (slave unit) and 1.1 > 2.4 (master unit) to resolve the issue.

good talk, thanks guys...

It sounds like with the 2 units having different firmware, 2.2-1.1 they wouldn't talk so that was the problem. I have a DL16 and a S16 both on 2.2 currently and they work fine. Where I'm at your post hit at 9:30 at night in the States so many are not online so I'm guessing part of the reason for little replies. At least you found the problem!

Douglas R. Allen
Title: Re: X32 / dual S16 Preamp Control Issue
Post by: Chris Hindle on September 25, 2019, 08:18:23 am
It sounds like with the 2 units having different firmware, 2.2-1.1 they wouldn't talk so that was the problem. I have a DL16 and a S16 both on 2.2 currently and they work fine. Where I'm at your post hit at 9:30 at night in the States so many are not online so I'm guessing part of the reason for little replies. At least you found the problem!

Douglas R. Allen
Wow Douglas.
I havn't seen Rat Fur in the wild for years....  ;D
Chris.
Title: Re: X32 / dual S16 Preamp Control Issue
Post by: Dan Mortensen on September 25, 2019, 02:32:31 pm
Greetings!

One of my venues uses an X32 compact and dual S16s.  Audio is routed normally through both S16s, which is to say the top (master) unit routes its inputs 1-16 to AES50A 1-16, and the bottom (slave) S16 routes its 1-16 to AES50A 17-32.  Outputs correspond; 1-8 on top and 9-16 on bottom.  P

hysical Routing is pretty standard:  Console AES50 A port <> master S16 AES50 A; Master S16 AES50 B port <> slave AES50 A port.  Green lights on S16 front panels indicate valid connection.

The issue is that the console cannot control the preamps of the bottom (slave) S16.  No phantom power, and +/-18 dB Trim instead of proper Preamp Gain.  Routing is correct, but control is not.

The 'Preamps' tab also fails to correctly control channels 17-32, and the system status does not show that the slave S16 is connected.

Has anyone observed / solved this issue before?

Glad you fixed it with the firmware update.

Early on in the X32's life I had a similar problem but affecting all the channels that was due to using an Ethernet style cable that only had 6 pins in the RJ45 (making it something else?) instead of 8.