ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => LAB: The Classic Live Audio Board => Topic started by: Kirby Yarbrough on November 17, 2018, 11:00:04 am

Title: Dante flow subscription status issue
Post by: Kirby Yarbrough on November 17, 2018, 11:00:04 am
Running a Windows 10 laptop with DVS 4.0.4.4 and Controller 4.1.0.5, cabled directly (no switch) to Yamaha QL1 (Dante 4.0.8.2) using the primary interface.  Both using link local IP addresses (169.254.xxx.xxx on the same 255.255.255.0 subnet).  Both devices appear in Controller.  Laptop soundcard shows the correct DVS transmit channels selected.

QL1 never shows the laptop as a mounted device.  Not surprisingly, getting a result of 'Subscription status is: flow creation in progress...' in trying to route two channels from laptop to QL1. 

What am I doing wrong?
Title: Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
Post by: Andrew Hollis on November 17, 2018, 11:24:55 am
If you've manually set a link local (APIPA) IP, you must use mask 255.255.0.0. 255.255.255.0 is not a valid mask for APIPA.
Title: Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
Post by: Kirby Yarbrough on November 17, 2018, 11:36:56 am
If you've manually set a link local (APIPA) IP, you must use mask 255.255.0.0. 255.255.255.0 is not a valid mask for APIPA.
Didn't set a manual link local, just used the IPv4 property of 'Obtain an IP address automatically' on the laptop. 
Title: Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
Post by: Tim McCulloch on November 17, 2018, 12:11:24 pm
Didn't set a manual link local, just used the IPv4 property of 'Obtain an IP address automatically' on the laptop.

I think Andrew is right.  Try changing the subnet mask and see it it works.
Title: Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
Post by: Aram Piligian on November 17, 2018, 01:43:50 pm
Do you have any other networks (including wifi) connected to the laptop?   Sometimes that can throw a wrench into things for no reason.

Title: Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
Post by: Kirby Yarbrough on November 17, 2018, 01:55:03 pm
Try changing the subnet mask and see it it works.

Checked subset mask on the ethernet port connection (set by IPv4 property to 'Obtain an IP address automatically') and it is 255.255.0.0.

This connection works fine on another laptop which is set up in exactly the same way, running the same versions of DVS and Controller and obtaining an IP address automatically).
Title: Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
Post by: Ade Stuart on November 17, 2018, 05:40:40 pm
Running a Windows 10 laptop with DVS 4.0.4.4 and Controller 4.1.0.5, cabled directly (no switch) to Yamaha QL1 (Dante 4.0.8.2) using the primary interface.  Both using link local IP addresses (169.254.xxx.xxx on the same 255.255.255.0 subnet).  Both devices appear in Controller.  Laptop soundcard shows the correct DVS transmit channels selected.

QL1 never shows the laptop as a mounted device.  Not surprisingly, getting a result of 'Subscription status is: flow creation in progress...' in trying to route two channels from laptop to QL1. 

What am I doing wrong?

Can you successfully patch in Dante controller?
What firmware is the QL1 running (Main and Dante)?
Try running temporarily with all firewalls and security turned off.
Title: Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
Post by: Kirby Yarbrough on November 18, 2018, 01:58:09 pm
Can you successfully patch in Dante controller?
What firmware is the QL1 running (Main and Dante)?
Try running temporarily with all firewalls and security turned off.

QL1 never shows the laptop as a mounted device, so patching in Controller is not successful, yields 'Subscription status is: flow creation in progress...' in trying to route two channels from laptop to QL1.

QL1 Dante versions 4.0.8.2, 4.0.3.7, 2.0.6.

Second laptop where this whole setup is successful has all firewalls and security left on.
Title: Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
Post by: Ed Spoto on November 19, 2018, 11:34:57 am
This is usually a firewall issue with your computer.

The standard firewalls that are installed with Windows and OS X are automatically configured by Dante software at installation.

However, if you are using a third-party firewall and/or need to manually enable ports and applications:

Dante Discovery
The Dante Discovery service (the service that automatically discovers Dante devices on the network) requires that the ‘Dante mDNSResponder’ application is allowed access through the firewall (this is a per-application rule, rather than a per-port rule).

Dante Control & Monitoring
Dante Control and Monitoring (ConMon) messages require that the following ports are open: 8700, 8702, 8703, 8705, 8800.

Dante Controller
Dante Controller uses port 8751, and also relies on Dante Discovery and ConMon.

Dante Virtual Soundcard
DVS uses ports 319, 320, 4321, 4440, 4444, 4455 and the range 14336 - 14600.

DVS also relies on Dante Discovery and ConMon.

Dante Firmware Update Manager
Firmware Update Manager uses ports 67, 69, and 6700, and relies on Dante Discovery and ConMon.
Title: Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
Post by: Kirby Yarbrough on November 19, 2018, 04:40:55 pm
This is usually a firewall issue with your computer.

Some progress: uninstalled and reinstalled DVS and Controller, and I can now patch to/from the laptop and the QL1.  BUT, the laptop still doesn't appear as a mounted device on the QL1, so I can't select a Dante channel to send or receive from the QL1.

Title: Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
Post by: Mac Kerr on November 19, 2018, 04:56:36 pm
Some progress: uninstalled and reinstalled DVS and Controller, and I can now patch to/from the laptop and the QL1.  BUT, the laptop still doesn't appear as a mounted device on the QL1, so I can't select a Dante channel to send or receive from the QL1.

Open up Dante Controller and patch it in Controller. You should have it online anyway to keep track of device status, network status, and latency anyway. Devices do not need to be mounted on the console to work.

Mac
Title: Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
Post by: Kirby Yarbrough on November 19, 2018, 05:28:02 pm
Open up Dante Controller and patch it in Controller.
Mac

I have it patched in Controller. The laptop's sound card shows DVS Transmit 1 -- 2 as the selected (and default) output device.  The issue is those channels appear as Dante nn / ???-??? on the QL1 (and the laptop doesn't appear as a Dante mounted device on the QL1).

With the other laptop, it does appear as a mounted device and those Dante channels can be selected on the QL1.
Title: Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
Post by: Mac Kerr on November 19, 2018, 06:01:31 pm
I have it patched in Controller. The laptop's sound card shows DVS Transmit 1 -- 2 as the selected (and default) output device.  The issue is those channels appear as Dante nn / ???-??? on the QL1 (and the laptop doesn't appear as a Dante mounted device on the QL1).

With the other laptop, it does appear as a mounted device and those Dante channels can be selected on the QL1.
Does audio pass? What does Dante Controller say about device status, network status, and flows? Devices do not need to be mounted to work, and they do not need to appear with labels to work. Does anything appear different in Controller between the 2 laptops?

Mac
Title: Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
Post by: Kirby Yarbrough on November 19, 2018, 08:44:51 pm
Does audio pass? What does Dante Controller say about device status, network status, and flows? Devices do not need to be mounted to work, and they do not need to appear with labels to work. Does anything appear different in Controller between the 2 laptops?

Mac

Well I'll be dipped in _____.  Big thanks, Mac.  Audio does in fact pass.  Other than the laptop's IP addresses in the Device Info tab, the only other difference is that the Network Status tab shows no Subscription Status for the laptop with issues (the other laptop shows the green check for both the laptop and the QL1).  Looking at the patching in the receiving channels on the QL1, it still shows Dante nn '???-???'.  Still mystified why one laptop shows as a connected device in the QL1 but the other doesn't.
Title: Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
Post by: Miguel Dahl on November 20, 2018, 12:52:35 pm
Some progress: uninstalled and reinstalled DVS and Controller, and I can now patch to/from the laptop and the QL1.  BUT, the laptop still doesn't appear as a mounted device on the QL1, so I can't select a Dante channel to send or receive from the QL1.

This might be a stupid question, but have you actually mounted it in the QL1?
Title: Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
Post by: Kirby Yarbrough on November 20, 2018, 02:45:00 pm
This might be a stupid question, but have you actually mounted it in the QL1?

Bingo!  Thanks Miguel.  I mounted it manually using the device name in Controller and lo and behold there it is.  The correct transmit and receive channels are now identified in the Dante patching windows on the QL1.
Title: Re: Dante flow subscription status issue
Post by: Ade Stuart on November 20, 2018, 05:11:16 pm
 ::)