ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => LAB: The Classic Live Audio Board => Topic started by: Kirby Yarbrough on November 06, 2018, 05:05:24 pm

Title: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
Post by: Kirby Yarbrough on November 06, 2018, 05:05:24 pm
Just acquired a Dante AVIO 2-ch analog output adaptor, and I can't get it to speak to me.  From what I've read, it's likely because it needs PoE, but the links I've found to enable PoE on the SG300/10 come back with some version of 'article not available'.  The SG300 specs say it will provide PoE.

Anyone know how this is done, or if I'm chasing the wrong solution altogether?
Title: Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
Post by: John L Nobile on November 06, 2018, 05:15:51 pm
Just acquired a Dante AVIO 2-ch analog output adaptor, and I can't get it to speak to me.  From what I've read, it's likely because it needs PoE, but the links I've found to enable PoE on the SG300/10 come back with some version of 'article not available'.  The SG300 specs say it will provide PoE.

Anyone know how this is done, or if I'm chasing the wrong solution altogether?

Depends on which one you have. I have a bunch of 8 port ones that don't. Check out this list
https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/switches/small-business-300-series-managed-switches/models-comparison.html

Single channel POE injectors are cheap.
Title: Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
Post by: Caleb Dueck on November 06, 2018, 06:43:57 pm
Yamaha has a great article about how to configure an SG300 for Dante.

SG300-10 doesn't have PoE, while the SG300-10PP does. 

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
Post by: Kirby Yarbrough on November 06, 2018, 08:37:34 pm
SG300-10 doesn't have PoE, while the SG300-10PP does. 

Yeah, finally found that answer.  Oh well, in the market for a PoE injector.
Title: Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
Post by: Bryan Hargrave on November 07, 2018, 01:02:08 pm
Just make sure its 48v and not 24v. I have a ton of Ubiquiti Edge POE switches and a few of the injectors for their APs. They just don't kick out the juice to power the Audinate stuff... or most non-Ubiquiti stuff.

You should be able to find something on Amazon for 15-20 bucks. The TP Link TL-POE150S will work just fine. If you plan to expand to more of the AVIO units I would suggest getting a switch to power them instead. Having multiple injectors and their wall warts gets messy fast. I have a Netgear Prosafe GS110TP that powers 2 AVIO, an AP and another switch. I got it refurbed for just under 100 bucks.

Yeah, finally found that answer.  Oh well, in the market for a PoE injector.
Title: Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
Post by: Russell Ault on November 07, 2018, 02:37:02 pm
Just make sure its 48v and not 24v. I have a ton of Ubiquiti Edge POE switches and a few of the injectors for their APs. They just don't kick out the juice to power the Audinate stuff... or most non-Ubiquiti stuff.

Not sure about the switches, but aren't the Ubiquiti injectors explicitly proprietary (like, in a "might let the magic smoke out if you plug them into a non-Ubiquiti device" kind of way)?

-Russ
Title: Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
Post by: Bryan Hargrave on November 07, 2018, 03:47:23 pm
That could be, I don't really know. But the marked output on the hardware says 24v which is pretty suggestive that the biggest issue is just that there isn't enough voltage to power the AVIO which requires 48v.

Not sure about the switches, but aren't the Ubiquiti injectors explicitly proprietary (like, in a "might let the magic smoke out if you plug them into a non-Ubiquiti device" kind of way)?

-Russ
Title: Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
Post by: William Schnake on November 07, 2018, 04:45:34 pm
Not sure about the switches, but aren't the Ubiquiti injectors explicitly proprietary (like, in a "might let the magic smoke out if you plug them into a non-Ubiquiti device" kind of way)?

-Russ

This is just a thought, but we have been using Ubiquiti for several years and the easiest way to do it is to use PoE.  If it were me, I would get a PoE supported switch.

Bill
Title: Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
Post by: Samuel Sjöbergsson on November 08, 2018, 12:52:28 am
That could be, I don't really know. But the marked output on the hardware says 24v which is pretty suggestive that the biggest issue is just that there isn't enough voltage to power the AVIO which requires 48v.
But the difference isn't only the voltage ubiquiti own 24v is passive which means it always 24v while the standard 48v is active and only have power if the receiver wants POE. That said I don't know about the edge-switches but the bigger unifi switches with POE has support for both standard 48V and thir own 24V but to use 24V you need to activate it on that port.
Title: Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
Post by: Doug McFadzen on November 08, 2018, 10:18:54 am
Make sure that your PoE injector is Class 1 802.3af PoE per the manufacturers specification.

https://www.audinate.com/products/devices/dante-avio#analoginput
Title: Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
Post by: Kirby Yarbrough on November 08, 2018, 02:58:12 pm
Make sure that your PoE injector is Class 1 802.3af PoE per the manufacturers specification.

Done, and thanks.
Title: Re: Enabling PoE on a Cisco SG300/10 for a Dante AVIO unit?
Post by: Thomas Dameron on November 09, 2018, 11:28:01 am
I've found all of the same problems in compatibility with the Ubiquity stuff.  It's kind of like Black Magic video do-dads: they work great as long as they're only talking to other BMD stuff.

Instead of injectors, for not much more money I've just been buying Netgear GS110TP switches.  They ship configured with everything Dante compatible for Dante only networks.  I would want something a little more sophisticated if I was doing a bunch of multicast on a mixed network, but if it's just a Dante network powering Avio/Aphenol/Rapco devices, this thing works great.  As a bonus, it will also power their even small GS108T-V2.  If you power the 108 with a wall wart it gives you redundant power to the smaller switch, although the failover isn't graceful at all.  With the Netgear stuff, make sure you stick with the Managed Pro line, the Manged Plus line is no bueno for Dante.

Amazon link:
http://a.co/d/0iewKEQ (http://a.co/d/0iewKEQ)

thomas d.