ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => Pro AV Forum => Topic started by: Greg Branson on October 11, 2018, 10:55:01 am

Title: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Greg Branson on October 11, 2018, 10:55:01 am
I am trying to convert HDMI from a laptop (1280 X 720) to HD-SDI. I have tried both an AJA HA5 and a Blackmagic Design HDMI to SDI Mini Converter to no avail. I am considering getting a Kramer FC-113. Any suggestions?
Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Ray Aberle on October 11, 2018, 11:13:46 am
I am trying to convert HDMI from a laptop (1280 X 720) to HD-SDI. I have tried both an AJA HA5 and a Blackmagic Design HDMI to SDI Mini Converter to no avail. I am considering getting a Kramer FC-113. Any suggestions?

Greg, what problem(s) are you encountering when using the AJA or the BMD products?

-Ray
Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Caleb Dueck on October 11, 2018, 11:53:06 am
If it's an HDCP issue - none of them will work.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Stephen Beatty on October 11, 2018, 02:02:31 pm
If you are using a Mac you'll have issues with the basic desktop out of the digital ports because the desktop is "protected" by HDCP.
We get around this with systems like Polycom by using an VGA adapter from the Mac. Extron now has a box that will strip the HDCP from the Mac's to get around this for HDMI out. Also SDI video does not do HDCP.
Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Ray Aberle on October 11, 2018, 02:26:07 pm
HDCP was definitely in my mind, but without knowing why the OP stated "to no avail," it's hard to suggest what things the OP needs to do or buy to make his setup work...
Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Greg Branson on October 11, 2018, 02:37:58 pm
Greg, what problem(s) are you encountering when using the AJA or the BMD products?

-Ray

I get no signal or sometimes a signal that will not sync.
Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Stephen Beatty on October 11, 2018, 04:13:22 pm
What brand and model is your laptop? A standalone HDMI port or do you adapt from mini-display port or USB-c? What equipment are you trying to feed the SDI signal into. What cabling are you using for SDI send?
Can you even get a image out of your laptop?
Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Milt Hathaway on October 11, 2018, 04:17:12 pm
If you are using a Mac you'll have issues with the basic desktop out of the digital ports because the desktop is "protected" by HDCP.
We get around this with systems like Polycom by using an VGA adapter from the Mac. Extron now has a box that will strip the HDCP from the Mac's to get around this for HDMI out. Also SDI video does not do HDCP.

The Mac output is only "protected by HDCP" when playing HDCP protected content AND/OR when the item it is connected to has HDCP compatibility active. I've had no problem feeding unprotected video content into DAC-70s and various switchers.
Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Stephen Beatty on October 11, 2018, 04:22:18 pm
Yeah. It only raises it's nasty head when your trying to live stream or lecture/capture. They work fine just connected to the AV systems to do PowerPoint, Youtube and stuff on a HDCP compliant TV or projector. All the systems we have on campus are HDCP compliant. While I have worked with it I don't do video production at work so SDI is not in our systems
Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Greg Branson on October 11, 2018, 04:31:34 pm
What brand and model is your laptop? A standalone HDMI port or do you adapt from mini-display port or USB-c? What equipment are you trying to feed the SDI signal into. What cabling are you using for SDI send?
Can you even get a image out of your laptop?

Tried different laptops. One is an HP with a standard HDMI connector. Another is a Lenovo ThinkPad with a Mini HDMI connector through an adapter.

Have tried to send to two different SDI inputs. One is to a Vaddio ProductionView switcher. Another is to a Blackmagic Design H.264 Pro Recorder.
Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Stephen Beatty on October 11, 2018, 05:13:02 pm
Yeah. Something is wonky. Tried different cables? Anything else you can get a straight SDI out to test the signal path? Tried different resolutions?

 We do this where we give a straight HDMI out and one particular live stream crew uses I believe a Black Magic HDMI to SDI converter to get into their switcher. Never had an issue and we see all brands of laptops.
Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Greg Branson on October 11, 2018, 05:35:25 pm
Yeah. Something is wonky. Tried different cables? Anything else you can get a straight SDI out to test the signal path? Tried different resolutions?

 We do this where we give a straight HDMI out and one particular live stream crew uses I believe a Black Magic HDMI to SDI converter to get into their switcher. Never had an issue and we see all brands of laptops.

Yes, I've tried all types of different cables. Thanks for your input.
Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Milt Hathaway on October 11, 2018, 05:54:18 pm
Yeah. It only raises it's nasty head when your trying to live stream or lecture/capture. They work fine just connected to the AV systems to do PowerPoint, Youtube and stuff on a HDCP compliant TV or projector. All the systems we have on campus are HDCP compliant. While I have worked with it I don't do video production at work so SDI is not in our systems

Odd, I can do Mac HDMI>SDI>whatever all day long with no problem.
Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Caleb Dueck on October 11, 2018, 05:59:19 pm
Decimator MD-HX. 
Although it sounds like a different issue. 

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Jordan Wolf on October 11, 2018, 07:27:29 pm
Maybe I missed it, but what device are you attempting to feed with this signal? Is it a display, DA, switcher?

Specific make & model would be helpful.
Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Erik Jerde on October 12, 2018, 12:34:41 am
I am trying to convert HDMI from a laptop (1280 X 720) to HD-SDI. I have tried both an AJA HA5 and a Blackmagic Design HDMI to SDI Mini Converter to no avail. I am considering getting a Kramer FC-113. Any suggestions?

Get a decimator md-hx and run your signal through the DUC onboard.
Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Rob Spence on October 12, 2018, 12:55:34 am
I ended up using a cheap HDCP stripper and then all was well.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Luke Geis on October 12, 2018, 06:33:59 pm
HDCP every time.
Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Tom Bourke on October 12, 2018, 07:25:04 pm
HDCP every time.
I really hate HDCP problems.  Even if everything you have is "compliant" it STILL may block you.  Getting consumer devices to display on a pro video rig that is using SDI is a real PITA.
Title: Re: HDMI to HD-SDI Converters
Post by: Luke Geis on October 12, 2018, 07:58:48 pm
I had a gig once where there was a client supplied MAC computer. We set up the speakers for audio, a screen, and a projector. Went to test the video and all we got was the sound. As soon as he went to play the video the screen would go black. Needless to say, they had to find another copy of the movie they wanted in order to play it.

HDCP is the most common video issue if you can't acquire an image.