ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => LAB: The Classic Live Audio Board => Topic started by: Steven Gregory on November 05, 2017, 10:02:04 pm

Title: Soundcraft SI Expression - EQ settings for monitors different than main buss?
Post by: Steven Gregory on November 05, 2017, 10:02:04 pm
Hey All.
Question regarding Soundcraft SI Expression 1, (16 chan)
Is it possible to create monitor mixes with different  EQ settings than those set in the main (LR) buss.?
EX: nice warm EQ for the mains and a bit brighter and less bottom for the stage wedges.
Can someone walk me through that?

Thanks.
Title: Re: Soundcraft SI Expression - EQ settings for monitors different than main buss?
Post by: Joel Mevis on November 06, 2017, 08:34:31 am
Hey All.
Question regarding Soundcraft SI Expression 1, (16 chan)
Is it possible to create monitor mixes with different  EQ settings than those set in the main (LR) buss.?
EX: nice warm EQ for the mains and a bit brighter and less bottom for the stage wedges.
Can someone walk me through that?

Thanks.

I have an SI Impact but it should be the same.

Select the Mix you want to edit (faders should turn orange/yellow).
Press the select button on the L&R or Mono, which ever one glows. I don't remember exactly I think its mono though.
Then adjust eq/compression etc on that mix.

Or you could then adjust the GEQ of that mix.

Another way to do it, is to go to what ever page all your aux mixes are on. Page C maybe?
Press the select button under the mix number you want and then adjust the Eq.
Title: Re: Soundcraft SI Expression - EQ settings for monitors different than main buss?
Post by: Tim McCulloch on November 06, 2017, 10:42:54 am
Hey All.
Question regarding Soundcraft SI Expression 1, (16 chan)
Is it possible to create monitor mixes with different  EQ settings than those set in the main (LR) buss.?
EX: nice warm EQ for the mains and a bit brighter and less bottom for the stage wedges.
Can someone walk me through that?

Thanks.

You can "voice" the individual monitor MIXES with output EQ.  Shelf-filtering the wedge mixes, -6dB @ 200Hz - give or take - will clear up much of the mud you get from the LF coupling of the wedge's LF with the stage floor.

The alternative is to assign more than 1 input strip to the same physical input; use 1 strip for FOH mixing and another set for post EQ sends, and use that input strip to send to monitors.  This allows you to have completely separate channel strip EQ for FOH and monitors but it also has some drawbacks - there is only 1 preamp for each physical input so you don't have independent input gains; you need to keep them organized in your mind (and labeled) as to which input strips are mains and which are monitors... but you'll have full channel strip EQ for the inputs going to monitors, which can be a really big help (and does not change the need to use the MIX output EQs for feedback control and mix voicing).
Title: Re: Soundcraft SI Expression - EQ settings for monitors different than main buss?
Post by: Steve Ferreira on November 06, 2017, 01:48:23 pm
You can "voice" the individual monitor MIXES with output EQ.  Shelf-filtering the wedge mixes, -6dB @ 200Hz - give or take - will clear up much of the mud you get from the LF coupling of the wedge's LF with the stage floor.

The alternative is to assign more than 1 input strip to the same physical input; use 1 strip for FOH mixing and another set for post EQ sends, and use that input strip to send to monitors.  This allows you to have completely separate channel strip EQ for FOH and monitors but it also has some drawbacks - there is only 1 preamp for each physical input so you don't have independent input gains; you need to keep them organized in your mind (and labeled) as to which input strips are mains and which are monitors... but you'll have full channel strip EQ for the inputs going to monitors, which can be a really big help (and does not change the need to use the MIX output EQs for feedback control and mix voicing).

Tim hit the nail on the head. OP watch this video to give you a better understanding https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L5HVYx1Pq7w
Title: Re: Soundcraft SI Expression - EQ settings for monitors different than main buss?
Post by: Bob Leonard on November 06, 2017, 05:59:53 pm
As has already been said. Create a group/MIX 1-14. Assign an output to the mix. i.e. output 6 for mix 6. Run that output to the IEM or monitor amp. Assign members of the group (every channel if you want). Press the MIX button for the mix you want. press the EQ high/low button. Adjust to taste. You can set the EQ for every mix and every output.
Title: Re: Soundcraft SI Expression - EQ settings for monitors different than main buss?
Post by: Steve Ferreira on November 07, 2017, 01:03:50 pm
As has already been said. Create a group/MIX 1-14. Assign an output to the mix. i.e. output 6 for mix 6. Run that output to the IEM or monitor amp. Assign members of the group (every channel if you want). Press the MIX button for the mix you want. press the EQ high/low button. Adjust to taste. You can set the EQ for every mix and every output.

Bob,
That works for a general mix EQ. If you want an individual channel strip eq'd to taste you would need to go the double patch route. The video I posted gives a good explanation on it.
Title: Re: Soundcraft SI Expression - EQ settings for monitors different than main buss?
Post by: Dave Garoutte on November 07, 2017, 03:38:51 pm
Bob,
That works for a general mix EQ. If you want an individual channel strip eq'd to taste you would need to go the double patch route. The video I posted gives a good explanation on it.

But that's what the OP asked about.
Title: Re: Soundcraft SI Expression - EQ settings for monitors different than main buss?
Post by: Bob Leonard on November 07, 2017, 09:07:25 pm
Bob,
That works for a general mix EQ. If you want an individual channel strip eq'd to taste you would need to go the double patch route. The video I posted gives a good explanation on it.

Correct. My fault thinking group eq.
Title: Re: Soundcraft SI Expression - EQ settings for monitors different than main buss?
Post by: Branimir Bozak on November 09, 2017, 07:21:47 pm
No, but you could assign some other channel the same inputs, um... doubling... For instance, if you have a regular band, for instance, 14 channels, you have them on your first layer, and on the second layer the channels 15 - 28, assign inputs 1 to 14, and use that layer for monitors.

Channels share the gain, but you can eq them differently, apply compressor, etc...

Quite useful, at least for vocals, I do it all the time with vocals...