ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => AC Power and Grounding => Topic started by: Thomas Le on May 01, 2017, 01:19:06 pm

Title: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
Post by: Thomas Le on May 01, 2017, 01:19:06 pm
My church has two 2400's for two Yamaha F15 tops per side (one per channel, 8 ohms) and two 3600VZ's for two Yamaha F28 subs per side (one per channel, 4 ohms), both are modified with 15A edison plugs (amps are 120V 60Hz USA edition).
What are the original power plugs for each respective amp?
Stupid question but is it safe to continue operating both amps using the 15A edison plugs?
 
Title: Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
Post by: Keith Broughton on May 01, 2017, 01:49:45 pm
My church has two 2400's for two Yamaha F15 tops per side (one per channel, 8 ohms) and two 3600VZ's for two Yamaha F28 subs per side (one per channel, 4 ohms), both are modified with 15A edison plugs (amps are 120V 60Hz USA edition).
What are the original power plugs for each respective amp?
Stupid question but is it safe to continue operating both amps using the 15A edison plugs?
 
Provided the cct breaker for that outlet is rated the same as the plug and cord, it is "safe" to operate.
I know with the VZ5000 amps , I used a 30 amp plug for 120 volt operation.
Depends (I know....) how much load you have on them and how hard you drive them.
Unlike some of the "modern" amps, these older Crowns like a good solid voltage supply.
Your application is reasonably light so you should be OK.
Title: Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
Post by: David Sturzenbecher on May 01, 2017, 07:08:49 pm
30A 120V (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170501/d8e49f9b7d2ede38dffa114104560994.jpg)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Title: Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
Post by: Jonathan Johnson on May 01, 2017, 07:26:02 pm
30A 120V (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170501/d8e49f9b7d2ede38dffa114104560994.jpg)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

That appears to be a NEMA TT-30, usually used for recreational vehicles. Outside of the RV industry, a NEMA 5-30 or NEMA L5-30 plug is usually used for 30A 125V service.

It's similar to a NEMA 7-15 or 7-20, but I believe those are a smaller diameter and only for 277V single phase.
Title: Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
Post by: Tim McCulloch on May 01, 2017, 07:33:30 pm
That appears to be a NEMA TT-30, usually used for recreational vehicles. Outside of the RV industry, a NEMA 5-30 or NEMA L5-30 plug is usually used for 30A 125V service.

It's similar to a NEMA 7-15 or 7-20, but I believe those are a smaller diameter and only for 277V single phase.

It is what it appears to be and yes, that is how it was shipped from the factory.  In the field you frequently find them with 5-15.
Title: Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
Post by: Thomas Le on May 01, 2017, 10:57:47 pm
Looking at the macrotech ebay listings, looks like there are two variants of the 2400: one using 15A edison and one using 20A edison with a 15A edison converter. 3600VZ is indeed 30A. Thanks guys.
Title: Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
Post by: Scott Helmke on May 02, 2017, 02:39:01 pm
FWIW all of our rental 3600's have 15A Edison plugs, and it's never been a problem. The 30A plug assumes sine waves, I think.  As long as you steer clear of EDM you'll be fine.
Title: Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
Post by: Mike Caldwell on May 02, 2017, 05:17:48 pm
Looking at the macrotech ebay listings, looks like there are two variants of the 2400: one using 15A edison and one using 20A edison with a 15A edison converter. 3600VZ is indeed 30A. Thanks guys.

The very early MA2400's shipped with a 30 amp RV plug then the later ones had a 20 amp edison.
My 3600's still have the 30amp RV plug, I built my distros to accommodate them early on.
Title: Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
Post by: Ed Hall on May 04, 2017, 08:14:28 am
  This thread got me thinking, so I went out and checked mine. I have a MA3600 and MA5000 from the late 90's.  Both have a L16-30 installed with a short adapter cord to 5-15. ???  Haven't used them much and never looked at the plug installed on the amps.  I have no idea why the that plug was installed??? Time to buy the right plug. More shop time!   ::)
Title: Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
Post by: Thomas Le on May 08, 2017, 02:13:24 pm
Got through the weekend with the church rig, thankfully there was a distro to plug them into though the highest was 20A per breaker. No EDM material here ('cause its a church...). Thanks again.
Title: Re: Crown Macro-Tech 2400 & 3600VZ original power plugs?
Post by: John Rutirasiri on May 09, 2017, 10:00:02 am
FWIW all of our rental 3600's have 15A Edison plugs, and it's never been a problem. The 30A plug assumes sine waves, I think.  As long as you steer clear of EDM you'll be fine.

30A plug is a "fast" way for mfg to get UL approval.

John R.