ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => Wireless and Communications => Topic started by: Keith Broughton on March 12, 2017, 09:18:57 am

Title: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Keith Broughton on March 12, 2017, 09:18:57 am
Networking is not my thing and beyond a basic home network, I am out of my depth so it has been quite frustrating trying to get the 5 gig Ubuqity Bullet to work as I want.
 It should be able to be setup in such a way to be able to plug it in, set an IP on the device under control and JUST WORK....all the time...EVRY TIME!!
Before anyone offers the "well it was easy for me" or the "all you have to do is ...." I tried all the suggestions I could find with no reliable, repeatable success.
Finally, I set it up in bridge mode, gave it a static IP address and tried it on a variety of devices. All I need to do is set the device under control, and the control device, to the IP address within the group.
Now it connects reliably to my laptops and iPad and tested good for controlling the consoles, processors and wireless receivers I want.

As a side note, I tried to get the Ubiquity and my Apple Airport Express to work on the same variety of devices. Seems to me they should be able to be setup to do the same thing but the Express would not work on the Yamaha console.

Now I just need to try it out the Ubiquity on gigs 'cause you all know that the stuff that works in the shop can, magically, fail on a gig  ::)
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: William Schnake on March 12, 2017, 10:17:30 am
Keith, thanks for sharing your experience.  I have read quite a bit about the Ubiquiti access points on this Forum.  I have actually hired a local IT guy to come in and setup the network for us.  After reading other people's experiences and frustrations I figure it will be easier than me getting pissed off and calling him later.  Anyway, I do have a question, which is open to anyone, why the Ubiquiti Bullet rather than something else in their line?  Our shows are usually in the 1,000 - 3,000 person range although we do have a couple that are in the 10,000 person range.   My guys is suggesting two of the UAP-AC-M-PRO, one for FoH and one for Monitor World. 

Congrats on getting yours up and running.

Bill
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: David Sturzenbecher on March 12, 2017, 11:33:33 am
Networking is not my thing and beyond a basic home network, I am out of my depth so it has been quite frustrating trying to get the 5 gig Ubuqity Bullet to work as I want.
 It should be able to be setup in such a way to be able to plug it in, set an IP on the device under control and JUST WORK....all the time...EVRY TIME!!
Before anyone offers the "well it was easy for me" or the "all you have to do is ...." I tried all the suggestions I could find with no reliable, repeatable success.
Finally, I set it up in bridge mode, gave it a static IP address and tried it on a variety of devices. All I need to do is set the device under control, and the control device, to the IP address within the group.
Now it connects reliably to my laptops and iPad and tested good for controlling the consoles, processors and wireless receivers I want.

As a side note, I tried to get the Ubiquity and my Apple Airport Express to work on the same variety of devices. Seems to me they should be able to be setup to do the same thing but the Express would not work on the Yamaha console.

Now I just need to try it out the Ubiquity on gigs 'cause you all know that the stuff that works in the shop can, magically, fail on a gig  ::)

Keith,
I share your frustration.  I had a heck of a time getting my Bullet set up as well. Having to research which frequencies you can and can't use, was maybe my biggest hurdle.  Of course after the fact I found various setup guides around the internet that ended up being the same process I used to get mine going. 

One thing I wish, is that you could force the DHCP server in the thing to dole out IP's when in bridge mode.  I am sure our specific use case is limited, whereas there would normally be some other DHCP server on the network. I know the EnGenious stuff does allow for this with some crafty manual URL entries.
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Keith Broughton on March 12, 2017, 12:30:52 pm
Quote
why the Ubiquiti Bullet rather than something else in their line?
The fact that you can connect whatever antenna you want and fits reasonably well in my briefcase.




One thing I wish, is that you could force the DHCP server in the thing to dole out IP's when in bridge mode. 
Agreed! I don't see a way of doing this.
I forgot to mention I setup a group  of channel frequencies for it to use and had to set to a narrower channel.

So far...so good.
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Bob Charest on March 12, 2017, 02:55:32 pm
...and had to set to a narrower channel..

Keith, 20MHz instead of 40MHz, correct? Also disabled airMAX?
Title: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Andrew Broughton on March 12, 2017, 03:51:08 pm
I admit I know just enough about networking to be dangerous. So my question is:
What is bridge mode and why is that the mode it should be used in?
My Nano station is in some mode (router maybe?) where it has a static ip but still has dhcp and gives out ip's to its wifi network.

I agree that it's default setup does not work and has to be changed (frequencies I believe) to work with my iPad. Odd.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: David Sturzenbecher on March 12, 2017, 04:18:01 pm
Andrew, I am in the same boat in regards to networking understanding.  However,It is my understanding as the bullet has just one network port, in bridge mode, that one port is on the same local area network as devices that connect through the wireless side, and no mater what side of the access point, wired or wireless, you see everything.  In router mode, the single port is acting as a WAN port, where you would typically plug into the internet, with a router in between it and the rest of your wireless network. Therefor communication between the wired and the wireless side, as we typically set up our networks does not happen.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Keith Broughton on March 13, 2017, 07:01:18 am
Keith, 20MHz instead of 40MHz, correct? Also disabled airMAX?
Correct. I also found that setting up a "frequencies to use" list helped speed up wireless connectivity.

David explained it well.
Bridge mode would not be suitable for a network that is connected to the internet as the internet side and the local network side usually need different IP address ranges.
For something like console control, I see no reason that the wired side and wireless side cannot be in the same IP range.
DHCP would be handy (in the case of the Bullet)but there is a case to be made for networking in static IP ranges.
Some of the more experienced networking people might be able to add to this.

For me, it just works and that's what I need.
When I hook up to remote control something, I want it to function and not make me start some kind of networking trouble shooting session.
I'm not on the gig to be an IT person!
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Dave Garoutte on March 21, 2017, 04:17:36 pm
I ended up with a Ubiquity AP outdoor 5.
I liked that it came with the diversity antennas included.
It was easy to set up and has worked great in our tests so far.
I'm making a post to mount it to my portable FOH table.
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Keith Broughton on March 31, 2017, 08:04:14 am
So I have now had some gigs to try this out on and, like a useful tool should, plugs in and WORKS every time.
FINALLY!
I was very close to selling it out of frustration.
That said, when other techs see it, there are raised eyebrows and some "suggestion" of what it is. ;D
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Andy_Leviss on April 01, 2017, 03:03:10 pm
One thing I wish, is that you could force the DHCP server in the thing to dole out IP's when in bridge mode.  I am sure our specific use case is limited, whereas there would normally be some other DHCP server on the network.

Well....then it wouldn't be bridge mode. Bridge mode, by definition, is "cable replacement". No DHCP, no funny business, just make it look to the device on the other side like I'm plugged directly in.


There should be a way to configure it to be a DHCP server without mucking up other stuff, but it's been a few years since I regularly configured these, having left Masque for Figure 53. I unfortunately don't have one to poke at right now, and the one regular gig I have where I've to a UniFi uses it in bridge mode. I know the DHCP server in the firmware back in 2013 was giving me grief, though; I had started poking at seeing if I could find an Arduino sketch that could act as a DHCP server, so I could just have a dedicated server in a little box on an Arduino Ethernet.

As far as appearance, mine were customized so they looked more like pipe bombs, LOL. I had our brilliant metalworker at Masque, Felix, build me custom enclosures out of schedule 40 with threaded ends that added an Ethercon at the connector end, so that on Broadway shows or tours with FOH truss, you can just run an Ethercon in the truss bundle, and stick one of the omni antennas on the Bullet and cheseborough it right to the truss. Great coverage both sides of the stage in most any house I sent them to. (The sch40 also made it really fun to put a longer high gain omni on and pretend it was a light saber...)
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Keith Broughton on April 01, 2017, 04:03:04 pm


There should be a way to configure it to be a DHCP server without mucking up other stuff,
As far as appearance, mine were customized so they looked more like pipe bombs,
You would think so but I had no end of trouble getting DHCP to work, reliably, with all my gear.
Would not want to try to get this on a plane in my carry on though.... :o
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Timothy Bolish on May 21, 2017, 05:05:23 pm
So I have now had some gigs to try this out on and, like a useful tool should, plugs in and WORKS every time.
FINALLY!
I was very close to selling it out of frustration.
That said, when other techs see it, there are raised eyebrows and some "suggestion" of what it is. ;D

What antenna are you using here?

Thanks!
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Doug Fowler on May 21, 2017, 05:47:12 pm
What antenna are you using here?

Thanks!

Read the rules, fix your display name.

Thank you for your cooperation.
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Keith Broughton on May 22, 2017, 08:54:46 am
What antenna are you using here?

Thanks!
I used this one from Super Pass in Waterloo Canada.
http://www.superpass.com/SPDJ4O.html

However, the Bullet is now in landfill somewhere and the antenna in a drawer.
 I bought a used Netgear N600 and with less than 5 minutes of effort, got it to work with the consoles I use.
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Timothy Bolish on May 22, 2017, 12:45:10 pm
I used this one from Super Pass in Waterloo Canada.
http://www.superpass.com/SPDJ4O.html

However, the Bullet is now in landfill somewhere and the antenna in a drawer.
 I bought a used Netgear N600 and with less than 5 minutes of effort, got it to work with the consoles I use.

Ugh, how frustrating.  I actually just bought a used N600 as well, ha.  I'd love to have a slick setup of a PoE managed switch with a nice outdoor WAP for controlling everything, however after reading a bunch of threads, including this one - I'm pretty sure I'm just going to start small with a consumer router such as the N600 since have limited IT experience.



Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Keith Broughton on May 22, 2017, 02:24:26 pm

I'm pretty sure I'm just going to start small with a consumer router such as the N600 since have limited IT experience.
A wise choice  :)
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Scott Helmke on May 22, 2017, 04:26:14 pm
In our shop we have a couple of non-wifi boxes that do everything else - several ports, DHCP server, etc. A couple of our more industrial access points (such as the Bullet) get paired with one of those boxes for a complete solution. 

But the N600 is pretty hard to top as far as "always works" goes.
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Keith Broughton on May 22, 2017, 06:11:24 pm

But the N600 is pretty hard to top as far as "always works" goes.
Brief case friendly too.
Just need to make a little bracket for mic stand mounting to get it up in the air.

Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Tiago de Sousa on August 15, 2019, 09:47:36 pm
However, the Bullet is now in landfill somewhere

Why?
What happened with you Bullet?
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Tim McCulloch on August 15, 2019, 11:11:17 pm
Why?
What happened with you Bullet?

I think Keith was losing hair over configuration.  A couple of participants here had an even worse time trying to get the MikroTik the Bullet is based on to work.  I have a MikroTik that refuses to accept configuration.  I keep it thinking that some day I'll have a flash of inspiration and will find the setting that prevents it from working, but then again I think I'll win the Lotto, too....

I know the Bullet can be configured to work as I've seen enough of them in use but none of those users are willing to share the config settings.
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: David Sturzenbecher on August 16, 2019, 12:11:51 am
Why?
What happened with you Bullet?

My bullet has seen the trash heap as well. Those things are junk.
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Keith Broughton on August 16, 2019, 06:24:10 am
I think Keith was losing hair over configuration.
YES! And I don't have much to start with. ;D

It's a shame because the M5, with antenna, could have made a very compact and powerful access point. It just wasn't worth my time to keep banging my head on the wall.
For me, a tool is something that works ever time you need it. I'm not interested in "configuring" a screwdriver when I need to use it. ::)
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Andrew Broughton on August 16, 2019, 11:59:33 am
I flashed my M5 and Loco M5 to DD-WRT and have been very happy. SO MUCH EASIER to configure, and it "just works" with that firmware. Truth be told, it probably wasn't easy to port DD-WRT to that platform as it's one of the "paid" upgrades ($20) as opposed to the free version that works with the Linksys et AL. Their a good form factor for remote control, especially the Loco. Range is crazy!

If you haven't embraced the upgrading of firmware on routers, I highly recommend you give it a try. All my routers are easier to use and just work better with the DD-WRT software.
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Tiago de Sousa on August 16, 2019, 10:07:50 pm
So I have now had some gigs to try this out on and, like a useful tool should, plugs in and WORKS every time.
FINALLY!
I was very close to selling it out of frustration.
That said, when other techs see it, there are raised eyebrows and some "suggestion" of what it is. ;D

But you got it to work at some point Keith and were happy, what happened then?

thanks
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Keith Broughton on August 17, 2019, 07:29:50 am
But you got it to work at some point Keith and were happy, what happened then?

thanks
I tried it on a variety of different consoles in different locations and could not get reliable results. Sure, I could get it to work on one console, in the shop, but as soon as it got out into the real world, the problems began.
It came down to a matter of how much of my life am I willing to pi$$ away trying to get a "professional" device to work when a used $20 home WAP/router worked just fine... everywhere... every time!
At the time I was trying to use the M5, a clear and concise setup method applicable to my requirements, was not forthcoming so I gave up.
Seems that more info has become available in the last year or so. :)


Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Tiago de Sousa on August 17, 2019, 02:48:57 pm
Thank you so much for your reply Keith.

I also use a home Router and it works fine in most cases (just some Digico SD models can be a pain because they use 255.255.0.0)  because it has a DHCP server.

Looking back nowadays do you think your problems with the Bullet might be the lack of a DHCP server, and by having a fixed ip on the Bullet you might have to change that ip depending on the console?

Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Bob Charest on August 17, 2019, 08:29:11 pm
I think Keith was losing hair over configuration.  A couple of participants here had an even worse time trying to get the MikroTik the Bullet is based on to work.  I have a MikroTik that refuses to accept configuration.  I keep it thinking that some day I'll have a flash of inspiration and will find the setting that prevents it from working, but then again I think I'll win the Lotto, too....

I know the Bullet can be configured to work as I've seen enough of them in use but none of those users are willing to share the config settings.
Hi Tim,

I'd used it (in conjunction with a router and a defined static IP pool) with no problems since I brought it in in 2012. I posted a bunch on PSW about it as well back in 2012 & 2013, as there were a number of discussions about it. Back then, I also included the doc that we had as far as IP configuration: 2013 BCB Doc (https://forums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/topic,142260.msg1321418.html#msg1321418)

The thread (from 2015) where I posted all I knew that made it work for me is here:Ubiquiti Bullet (https://forums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/topic,153810.msg1410959.html#msg1410959)

Best regards,
Bob
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: David Sturzenbecher on August 17, 2019, 09:57:13 pm

Looking back nowadays do you think your problems with the Bullet might be the lack of a DHCP server, and by having a fixed ip on the Bullet you might have to change that ip depending on the console?

No
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Tiago de Sousa on August 17, 2019, 10:21:54 pm
Hi Tim,

I'd used it (in conjunction with a router and a defined static IP pool) with no problems since I brought it in in 2012. I posted a bunch on PSW about it as well back in 2012 & 2013, as there were a number of discussions about it. Back then, I also included the doc that we had as far as IP configuration: 2013 BCB Doc (https://forums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/topic,142260.msg1321418.html#msg1321418)

The thread (from 2015) where I posted all I knew that made it work for me is here:Ubiquiti Bullet (https://forums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/topic,153810.msg1410959.html#msg1410959)

Best regards,
Bob

Hello Bob,
thank you so much for the links and the information

I'm excited to try my Bullet AC, I'm just waiting at the moment for an Antenna and the PoE adapter.

Will use your info to setup and try it out in different gigs, I will post the results.
Don't know how different is the new AC model compared to an M5 setup wise, but it should probably be pretty similar
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Keith Broughton on August 18, 2019, 06:21:13 am


Looking back nowadays do you think your problems with the Bullet might be the lack of a DHCP server, and by having a fixed ip on the Bullet you might have to change that ip depending on the console?
I was chatting with the FOH guy from a country band recently and he told had a lot of trouble with a Ubiqity product until he set up a DHCP server.
This added another piece of equipment and my whole point for buying the M5 was to keep it small and easy to pack in a brief case.
I'm not convinced the lack of a DHCP server should be an issue for the M5 and, as others have indicated, they can work with a static IP.
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: David Sturzenbecher on August 18, 2019, 08:09:07 am
I was chatting with the FOH guy from a country band recently and he told had a lot of trouble with a Ubiqity product until he set up a DHCP server.
This added another piece of equipment and my whole point for buying the M5 was to keep it small and easy to pack in a brief case.
I'm not convinced the lack of a DHCP server should be an issue for the M5 and, as others have indicated, they can work with a static IP.

If I recall from the few years back when I had issues... the access point would show up in the windows or iOS available network list, but you simply couldn’t consistently connect to it. Sometimes it would work, sometimes not. With no rhyme of reason.... which was super frustrating. I ended up staying with an EnGenius access point that has been flawless in front of 60,000 people... and also had a DHCP server on board. 
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Paulo Rodrigues on August 18, 2019, 10:16:08 am
Hello Bob,
thank you so much for the links and the information

I'm excited to try my Bullet AC, I'm just waiting at the moment for an Antenna and the PoE adapter.

Will use your info to setup and try it out in different gigs, I will post the results
Don't know how different is the new AC model compared to an M5 setup wise, but it should probably be pretty similar
The BulletAC will only talk to other Ubiquiti products. AirMax cannot be disabled. After a day of trying to configure it with no luck, found out many other people had same problem from a forum and ended up sending it back. No where on the website or documentation do they tell you this.
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Tiago de Sousa on August 18, 2019, 07:35:13 pm
The BulletAC will only talk to other Ubiquiti products. AirMax cannot be disabled.

Oh Hell,
I didn't know that, I have to return my unit now
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Scott Helmke on August 19, 2019, 09:38:30 am
I was chatting with the FOH guy from a country band recently and he told had a lot of trouble with a Ubiqity product until he set up a DHCP server.
This added another piece of equipment and my whole point for buying the M5 was to keep it small and easy to pack in a brief case.

Which is exactly what we did to make the Bullet work.  It's another box, another wall-wart.
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Andrew Broughton on August 19, 2019, 11:32:51 am
Which is exactly what we did to make the Bullet work.  It's another box, another wall-wart.
Another reason I got the Nanostation. Built-in DHCP.
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Bob Charest on August 19, 2019, 01:50:08 pm
Oh Hell,
I didn't know that, I have to return my unit now

Tiago,

If you're set on having a Bullet M5 for the form factor, I've got two that I kept on-hand for spares that were never unboxed. Also, I've got my spare L-Com antenna that was never used. I guess the gear was rock solid... And we always were very careful on setup & strike.

I would be willing to offer you a price that would be hard to beat, as I'm cleaning up all the extra gear I've got now that my wife and I have stopped doing the 9-member band after 20 years... :-)

Let me know if you're interested.

Best regards,
Bob
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Tiago de Sousa on August 19, 2019, 07:45:14 pm
Let me know if you're interested.

Thanks Bob

pm sent
Title: Re: Ubiqity Bullet issues solved
Post by: Tiago de Sousa on August 26, 2019, 01:29:44 pm
Thanks everyone, for your knowledge and opinions.
I know there are a lot of members that gave up on the Bullet and don't like it. I understand that.

But I would like to ask for those of you that use the Bullet and were able to make it work,
I can exchance my Bullet AC for a Bullet M5 unit, that will allow me to turn AirMax off.

Can you please let me know if you are able to make the Bullet M5 work plugged directley to a console, without a router or switch with a DHCP server?

I would like to use it if I can use it with fixed IP direclty to the console, without having another unit in the middle.
Like some of you said having another unit and wallwart really misses the point I need , which is having a small unit to carry around, which the Bullet if it works fits the bill perfectly.