ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => Console Connectivity Solutions => Topic started by: Kevin Windrem on March 10, 2017, 01:24:33 pm

Title: Yamaha R Remote on Mac OS solution
Post by: Kevin Windrem on March 10, 2017, 01:24:33 pm
As of version 4.10, R Remote is required to update Rio firmware. Typical configurations (including Auto IP and Static IP (Auto) do not work.

I discovered that with the proper IP addresses assigned by a DHCP server, R Remote works with Mac OS.

With a Class-C IP address (subnet mask 255.255.255.0), Rio IP addresses above x.x.x.128 work while those below that do not.

I set the Rio DIP switches for DHCP (2 down, 3 up for Rios -- Tios are different). This may not be necessary but I wanted to avoid Auto IP addresses.

Then, set the DHCP server to provide addresses of x.x.x.128 and above.

A reboot of the Rios was necessary for the new IP addresses to be assigned.

I do not know how different subnet mask settings affect the range of IPs that work.

I tried Auto IP, static IP (auto) without success.

I suspect that after R Remote connects, you could manually set an IP address in the range that works.

Rios use three separate IP addresses: one for Dante Primary, one for Dante Secondary (redundant mode) and one for control (used by R Remote). Control IP configuration is through R Remote so you can't set it unless R Remote connects. Dante Primary and Secondary IP config.

Some routers (like my Asus) show IP and MAC addresses for all connections so this may provide an additional troubleshooting tool.
Title: Re: Yamaha R Remote on Mac OS solution
Post by: Dan Currie on March 13, 2017, 07:17:11 pm
I've updated firmware and dante using R Remote DHCP with no issues.
edit...Weird, I'm pretty sure this comment was from your locked thread.

As of version 4.10, R Remote is required to update Rio firmware. Typical configurations (including Auto IP and Static IP (Auto) do not work.

I discovered that with the proper IP addresses assigned by a DHCP server, R Remote works with Mac OS.

With a Class-C IP address (subnet mask 255.255.255.0), Rio IP addresses above x.x.x.128 work while those below that do not.

I set the Rio DIP switches for DHCP (2 down, 3 up for Rios -- Tios are different). This may not be necessary but I wanted to avoid Auto IP addresses.

Then, set the DHCP server to provide addresses of x.x.x.128 and above.

A reboot of the Rios was necessary for the new IP addresses to be assigned.

I do not know how different subnet mask settings affect the range of IPs that work.

I tried Auto IP, static IP (auto) without success.

I suspect that after R Remote connects, you could manually set an IP address in the range that works.

Rios use three separate IP addresses: one for Dante Primary, one for Dante Secondary (redundant mode) and one for control (used by R Remote). Control IP configuration is through R Remote so you can't set it unless R Remote connects. Dante Primary and Secondary IP config.

Some routers (like my Asus) show IP and MAC addresses for all connections so this may provide an additional troubleshooting tool.
Title: Re: Yamaha R Remote on Mac OS solution
Post by: Geri O'Neil on April 07, 2017, 11:39:48 am
I recently did the Rio updates using R Remote for the first time and using my Mac.

I couldn't make R Remote connect until I installed Dante Virtual Soundcard, which I wouldn't think necessary since I'm not trying to pass any audio. But R Remote connected right up once I did.

Coincidence? Or apparently it is necessary? Either way, updating was easy and straightforward
Title: Re: Yamaha R Remote on Mac OS solution
Post by: Patrick Lum on May 22, 2017, 11:16:42 pm
Many thanks for posting your solution. I had similar problems and corrected my issues using your information.

As of version 4.10, R Remote is required to update Rio firmware. Typical configurations (including Auto IP and Static IP (Auto) do not work.

I discovered that with the proper IP addresses assigned by a DHCP server, R Remote works with Mac OS.

With a Class-C IP address (subnet mask 255.255.255.0), Rio IP addresses above x.x.x.128 work while those below that do not.

I set the Rio DIP switches for DHCP (2 down, 3 up for Rios -- Tios are different). This may not be necessary but I wanted to avoid Auto IP addresses.

Then, set the DHCP server to provide addresses of x.x.x.128 and above.

A reboot of the Rios was necessary for the new IP addresses to be assigned.

I do not know how different subnet mask settings affect the range of IPs that work.

I tried Auto IP, static IP (auto) without success.

I suspect that after R Remote connects, you could manually set an IP address in the range that works.

Rios use three separate IP addresses: one for Dante Primary, one for Dante Secondary (redundant mode) and one for control (used by R Remote). Control IP configuration is through R Remote so you can't set it unless R Remote connects. Dante Primary and Secondary IP config.

Some routers (like my Asus) show IP and MAC addresses for all connections so this may provide an additional troubleshooting tool.