ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => LAB Lounge => Topic started by: Ben Swartz on March 28, 2011, 10:30:46 am

Title: LS9 Question
Post by: Ben Swartz on March 28, 2011, 10:30:46 am
This might be obvious and simple, but I am struggling with it. We have an LS9 32 in our school auditorium and I thought I knew my way around pretty well. When we had it installed, I asked the installer to move the main mono fader (it's a mono system) from fader 32 on the Master layer to the red stereo fader that will work on all layers. All worked great, but this weekend I had to load the original .ysm file back on thanks to some student goofiness, and when I did, I lost my red fader. I'm okay with it since I rarely touch the mains fader, but the choral teacher, band teacher, and others will get lost without that little red guy. I know it should be a simple move, I just can't figure it out.  Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

 
Title: Re: LS9 Question
Post by: Russel Murton on March 28, 2011, 11:21:25 am
This might be obvious and simple, but I am struggling with it. We have an LS9 32 in our school auditorium and I thought I knew my way around pretty well. When we had it installed, I asked the installer to move the main mono fader (it's a mono system) from fader 32 on the Master layer to the red stereo fader that will work on all layers. All worked great, but this weekend I had to load the original .ysm file back on thanks to some student goofiness, and when I did, I lost my red fader. I'm okay with it since I rarely touch the mains fader, but the choral teacher, band teacher, and others will get lost without that little red guy. I know it should be a simple move, I just can't figure it out.  Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

The one way to do it would be to go into the channel link page using the channel job button on the top left hand corner, turn all the paramaters off except Fader, Mute and Channel On and then have the Mono fader up on the custom fader layer and then hold the stereo bus Select button The red fader's select button) and then hit the mono fader's select button, this then should result in the mono buses's select button to flash and when you move either fader should result in both the stereo buses red fader and the mono fader to move in sync. Make sure they are both all the way down to preserve an exact match in fader level.

I'm assuming you either have an LCR setup or an output that is fed by the mono bus and have assigned the correct omni output to the mono bus and use the mono assign button on each channel to either determine which channels go to the stereo and mono buses.

If it is an LCR setup you can change this option in the setup menus somewhere for the panning to become LCR.
Title: Re: LS9 Question
Post by: tim.j.phillips on March 28, 2011, 02:11:00 pm
If it is an LCR setup you can change this option in the setup menus somewhere for the panning to become LCR.

Its actually on the home screen for each channel when you select it.  If you move the cursor to the word "pan" in it's section on the screen and click it, it'll change it LCR.  I just happened to fumble over that the other day when fiddling with it. 

-Tim
Title: Re: LS9 Question
Post by: Tim Tyler on March 28, 2011, 03:29:55 pm
Linking the MONO fader with the STEREO fader is done on the PREFERENCES  page, not the CHANNEL LINK page.  (p. 194)

-Tim T
Title: Re: LS9 Question
Post by: Airton Pereira on March 28, 2011, 08:06:41 pm
I have a LS9 32 for 6 months and didn't know I could do it :)
I don't need this feature, though.
Title: Re: LS9 Question
Post by: Rob Spence on March 29, 2011, 12:44:45 am
I have a LS9 32 for 6 months and didn't know I could do it :)
I don't need this feature, though.
After you get the system back, make a copy to a USB stick and put it in a safe place. Update it every so often.
Title: Re: LS9 Question
Post by: Ben Swartz on March 30, 2011, 11:44:32 am
Thanks for the help and advice - I have it doing what I want now. I'm not sure they were just linked before, because the mono fader on the master layer did not track the red stereo fader, it just worked on its own, but I'm not bothered about that. I also appreciate the advice about saving settings - I have the original baseline config, and did not think it would be a big deal to just build off of it, but I did not realize how many little convenience things I had done and that would need to be redone. I have now gotten a base configuration that includes those conveniences (mute masters, user defineds, etc.) and that is my new rescue key. I will keep the other one just in case, but this way I do not have to go ALL the way back. Thanks again for all the advice....