ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => AC Power and Grounding => Topic started by: Nick Enright on February 01, 2016, 05:53:17 pm

Title: Old Panel
Post by: Nick Enright on February 01, 2016, 05:53:17 pm
Does anyone recognize this panel? it's ITE I believe, and asks for type eqp breaker. They snap in.

my search says that Siemens EQ is the same breaker and will fit.

What does the combined intel here say?

Title: Re: Old Panel
Post by: Cailen Waddell on February 01, 2016, 09:02:41 pm
That panel appears to have no ground.  Assuming if you were to put a breaker in, you would have a real electricians do it?  The lack of a ground is concerning.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Old Panel
Post by: Mark Cadwallader on February 01, 2016, 09:25:03 pm
That panel appears to have no ground.  Assuming if you were to put a breaker in, you would have a real electricians do it?  The lack of a ground is concerning.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

But... but... but I see a couple of green wires in the panel.... (End sarcasm/attempt at black humor)
Title: Re: Old Panel
Post by: Tom Bourke on February 01, 2016, 09:49:44 pm
What breaker?  I think the proper answer is what ever the replacement panel takes.

BTW does that outlet on the right have a ground wire to it?
Title: Re: Old Panel
Post by: Stephen Swaffer on February 01, 2016, 11:15:22 pm
I believe the conduit could possibly qualify as a ground/egc.  I don't like doing it that way.

Other breakers might fit-but will not be "listed" for the purpose-so really don't meet code.

I agree with Tom-a replacement panel would be a very good idea-and add an EGC as the same time.
Title: Re: Old Panel
Post by: frank kayser on February 02, 2016, 11:41:15 pm
I believe the conduit could possibly qualify as a ground/egc.  I don't like doing it that way.

Other breakers might fit-but will not be "listed" for the purpose-so really don't meet code.

I agree with Tom-a replacement panel would be a very good idea-and add an EGC as the same time.
I'm assuming you wish to replace a breaker and not add one, as there seems to be no room at the inn.
Title: Re: Old Panel
Post by: Nick Enright on February 03, 2016, 11:25:42 am
I'm assuming you wish to replace a breaker and not add one, as there seems to be no room at the inn.

I wish I had better options. 

that's what I wish. Thanks everyone for the suggestions.
Title: Re: Old Panel
Post by: Erik Jerde on February 04, 2016, 08:17:49 pm
There's a lot of different ITE panels.  I've got a client site that has mid breaker bolt-on and other ones that use bottom breaker bolt-on.  Gotta take that protective panel off to see the guts and know what you're working with.

As to the grounding, if this is a sub panel and everything is connected via EMT then that provides your ground path.  Just means whoever put in those ground lines doesn't know what they are doing (assuming green means ground of course).  The panel probably would benefit from a ground bus bar attached along one of the sides.  It's easy to do but they don't make allowances for it in the ITE panel design.
Title: Re: Old Panel
Post by: William Schnake on February 05, 2016, 09:18:35 am
I wish I had better options. 

that's what I wish. Thanks everyone for the suggestions.
Nick, sorry I can't help you with the breaker, however free advice...meter and meter again before you do anything.  This panel is a mess.

Bill
Title: Re: Old Panel
Post by: Nick Enright on February 07, 2016, 10:06:57 am
Nick, sorry I can't help you with the breaker, however free advice...meter and meter again before you do anything.  This panel is a mess.

Bill
NBD


yes, meter it, check the meter, meter it, check the source, meter it... I meter plain edison outlets if I havn't been there before.
Title: Re: Old Panel
Post by: Doug Hammel on February 08, 2016, 05:17:08 pm
Does anyone recognize this panel? it's ITE I believe, and asks for type eqp breaker. They snap in.

my search says that Siemens EQ is the same breaker and will fit.

What does the combined intel here say?
Check and se if there is a manufacturer's sticker somewhere that has a model number on it. Either that or have an electrician pull on e out so you can see what model of breaker it is.
Title: Re: Old Panel
Post by: Bob Leonard on March 21, 2016, 03:51:20 pm
That panel appears to have no ground.  Assuming if you were to put a breaker in, you would have a real electricians do it?  The lack of a ground is concerning.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I've worked on those boxes in the past. Wish I could remember the name. The ground bus is behind the shield at the bottom, and you can match the breaker by pulling one out and checking the manufacturer.
Title: Re: Old Panel
Post by: Nick Enright on March 21, 2016, 06:09:15 pm
I've worked on those boxes in the past. Wish I could remember the name. The ground bus is behind the shield at the bottom, and you can match the breaker by pulling one out and checking the manufacturer.

Not recommending, but yes it's ITE bought by Siemens. I do believe that the Siemens EQ Breaker will fit. I'm NOT sure however.
Title: Re: Old Panel
Post by: Jonathan Johnson on March 21, 2016, 08:55:07 pm
Not recommending, but yes it's ITE bought by Siemens. I do believe that the Siemens EQ Breaker will fit. I'm NOT sure however.

There may be many breakers by many different manufacturers that "will fit," but only the breaker bearing the type code specified for the panel will maintain its acceptability to a hard-nosed inspector. Any other breaker may invalidate any UL listing for both the box and the breaker.