ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => LAB Lounge => Topic started by: Patrick Campbell on May 27, 2015, 01:10:53 pm

Title: Racking Powersoft K2 and K3 amps
Post by: Patrick Campbell on May 27, 2015, 01:10:53 pm
Hey everyone,

When you rack Powersoft amps, do you put a space between them for possible thermal issues ?

I want to got from my 20 space amp rack full of QSC amps, down to FOUR Powersoft amps and DR260 and backup that I can fit in a 6 space rack ???

Any experience is welcomed with this downsizing move

BTW, I got QSC RMX 5050 amps for sale and a 20 space amp rack -ha

Thanks again,

Patrick
Title: Re: Racking Powersoft K2 and K3 amps
Post by: Tim Weaver on May 27, 2015, 02:26:48 pm
Hey everyone,

When you rack Powersoft amps, do you put a space between them for possible thermal issues ?

I want to got from my 20 space amp rack full of QSC amps, down to FOUR Powersoft amps and DR260 and backup that I can fit in a 6 space rack ???

Any experience is welcomed with this downsizing move

BTW, I got QSC RMX 5050 amps for sale and a 20 space amp rack -ha

Thanks again,

Patrick

I've seen them done both ways, but I've never heard of a problem with them while tightly spaced. I'd say go for it and just be sure that the rack can breathe.
Title: Re: Racking Powersoft K2 and K3 amps
Post by: gordonmcgregor on May 27, 2015, 03:25:18 pm
I've seen them done both ways, but I've never heard of a problem with them while tightly spaced. I'd say go for it and just be sure that the rack can breathe.
As long as there's PLENTY of front to back airpath then you have no need for gaps in the racks between amps. I suspect the newer ones will run even cooler than the older versions, the biggest issue I've seen is a 1or2u patch panel mounted on the back can easily restrict the air flow enough to have the amps fans running harder than usual. I also have to say i've never seen one thermal out either even under serious abuse. G
Title: Re: Racking Powersoft K2 and K3 amps
Post by: Lee Buckalew on May 27, 2015, 03:34:50 pm
Hey everyone,

When you rack Powersoft amps, do you put a space between them for possible thermal issues ?

I want to got from my 20 space amp rack full of QSC amps, down to FOUR Powersoft amps and DR260 and backup that I can fit in a 6 space rack ???

Any experience is welcomed with this downsizing move

BTW, I got QSC RMX 5050 amps for sale and a 20 space amp rack -ha

Thanks again,

Patrick

I routinely see 8-12 in a single rack with no spaces.  Higher quantities than that I usually see them in groups by application (subs, LF, MF, HF) or with small spaces between them in large amp rack rooms.

Lee
Title: Re: Racking Powersoft K2 and K3 amps
Post by: Patrick Campbell on July 28, 2015, 11:22:59 am
I routinely see 8-12 in a single rack with no spaces.  Higher quantities than that I usually see them in groups by application (subs, LF, MF, HF) or with small spaces between them in large amp rack rooms.

Lee

Ran my Powersofts all weekend in 97 degree heat for 15 hours each at 2 OHMS on Subs and not even a hiccup

Title: Re: Racking Powersoft K2 and K3 amps
Post by: Mac Kerr on July 28, 2015, 12:28:02 pm
As long as there's PLENTY of front to back airpath then you have no need for gaps in the racks between amps. I suspect the newer ones will run even cooler than the older versions, the biggest issue I've seen is a 1or2u patch panel mounted on the back can easily restrict the air flow enough to have the amps fans running harder than usual. I also have to say i've never seen one thermal out either even under serious abuse. G

IIRC Powersoft recommends no space between amps.

Mac