ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => LAB: The Classic Live Audio Board => Topic started by: peter dakin on February 04, 2013, 07:37:55 am

Title: Anyone been using the UB Madi yet from Digico?
Post by: peter dakin on February 04, 2013, 07:37:55 am
Just wondered if anyone's had one out on the road?

At 750 its still a fair wallop for 48ch, especially when compared with the 1000 for the RME MadiFace (56ch).
However I do like the look of its simplicity and robust nature.

Now if only the clients would go for paying for a virtual soundcheck/recording option!
Title: Re: Anyone been using the UB Madi yet from Digico?
Post by: Georg Hrauda on February 04, 2013, 08:15:14 am
Hi, Ive used it a few times and it worked very well. The only thing is that you only have coax Madi In/Out and no optical. ( Doesnt matter if you own a Digico Mixer  :)
Title: Re: Anyone been using the UB Madi yet from Digico?
Post by: Jim Turner on February 04, 2013, 01:10:41 pm
Yes, it's a great little device. Truly plug & play. AND it has a colour scrolling LED!
Title: Anyone been using the UB Madi yet from Digico?
Post by: Samuel Rees on February 04, 2013, 01:15:38 pm
Hi, I´ve used it a few times and it worked very well. The only thing is that you only have coax Madi In/Out and no optical. ( Doesnt matter if you own a Digico Mixer  :)

You'd think they could sell a billion more of em if they included optical or made an optical model!
Title: Re: Anyone been using the UB Madi yet from Digico?
Post by: Jim King on February 04, 2013, 02:17:07 pm
Any word on latency? (other than DigiCo's highly technical rating of "low")

I'm trying to figure out if its sufficiently fast to work for live processing, or if it'll only be fast enough for recording/playback.
Title: Re: Anyone been using the UB Madi yet from Digico?
Post by: gordonmcgregor on February 04, 2013, 03:54:39 pm
Any word on latency? (other than DigiCo's highly technical rating of "low")

I doubt the entire latency of going through adaptor into computer and back out will be quick enough for insert effects but I would think using it for reverbs etc would be ok. The adaptor is really quick ie I can monitor from the computer doing overdubs, but if I use processsing in the chain in the computer then the latency gets noticable quite quickly. G
Title: Re: Anyone been using the UB Madi yet from Digico?
Post by: Adam Robinson on February 05, 2013, 02:48:33 pm
I've been recording a tour with the UB Madi with great success (all 48 channels).  No ideas for you on latency, though.  I'm simply using the device to record with right now.
Title: Re: Anyone been using the UB Madi yet from Digico?
Post by: peter dakin on February 06, 2013, 05:35:20 am
I've been recording a tour with the UB Madi with great success (all 48 channels).  No ideas for you on latency, though.  I'm simply using the device to record with right now.

Demo'd one yesterday with a SD9. Flawless.. I feel my wallet running for the hills.
Title: Re: Anyone been using the UB Madi yet from Digico?
Post by: Ray Soly on February 06, 2013, 11:25:47 am
Used a pair of UB Madi with my Qlab rigs w/A&H iLive+MADI card......as others have stated truly plug n' play no need to reboot and, with the iLive's redundant link feature on the madi card you get instant switching from primary to secondary links.....if your 2 Qlab rigs were in sync, you'd be hard pressed to know which link is actually playing!  true redundancy..........optical port option would be a +, even though this is not needed on the iLive it would permit longer runs.....although I have tested the coaxial madi signal on a theatre's in house video patch running well in excess of 250 ft with no problems.....

RayS