ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => Audio Measurement and Testing => Topic started by: Dan Richardson on July 02, 2012, 10:21:21 pm

Title: Studio Six iRemote for SMAART 7
Post by: Dan Richardson on July 02, 2012, 10:21:21 pm
Studio Six's iOS remote app for SMAART 7 hit the app store a week ago. I haven't tried it yet. Looks pretty slick.
Title: Re: Studio Six iRemote for SMAART 7
Post by: Steven Barnes on July 03, 2012, 05:18:32 pm
Studio Six's iOS remote app for SMAART 7 hit the app store a week ago. I haven't tried it yet. Looks pretty slick.

I like the idea, but I am wondering what the difference between this and just using a VNC client to connect either iPhone or iPad to remote view smaart. This will also give you full mouse control if you need to adjust delay etc.

Title: Re: Studio Six iRemote for SMAART 7
Post by: Arthur Skudra on July 04, 2012, 02:47:55 am
I like the idea, but I am wondering what the difference between this and just using a VNC client to connect either iPhone or iPad to remote view smaart. This will also give you full mouse control if you need to adjust delay etc.
The SSD remote app allows one to choose which measurement engine is displayed on the screen, and also turn on/off the generator, and manipulate the delay time and turn on/off the delay tracking feature remotely.  It may be more efficient in updating the data on your iPad than a VNC client, since only measurement engine data is being transmitted over your wifi connection.
Title: Re: Studio Six iRemote for SMAART 7
Post by: Dan Richardson on July 04, 2012, 11:30:17 am
The SSD remote app allows one to choose which measurement engine is displayed on the screen, and also turn on/off the generator, and manipulate the delay time and turn on/off the delay tracking feature remotely.  It may be more efficient in updating the data on your iPad than a VNC client, since only measurement engine data is being transmitted over your wifi connection.

Does iRemote maintain the connection when backgrounded on the iPad?
Title: Re: Studio Six iRemote for SMAART 7
Post by: Dan Richardson on July 04, 2012, 11:30:55 am
I like the idea, but I am wondering what the difference between this and just using a VNC client to connect either iPhone or iPad to remote view smaart. This will also give you full mouse control if you need to adjust delay etc.

I haven't bought it yet, but I would expect SSD's iRemote to function when something else is in front on the analysis machine, i.e. the program running your system controller. Using the iPad as a second display should get you real-time response to your system changes without having to toggle back and forth between analysis and control programs on the laptop.
Title: Re: Studio Six iRemote for SMAART 7
Post by: Arthur Skudra on July 04, 2012, 12:04:40 pm
Does iRemote maintain the connection when backgrounded on the iPad?
At present, no, but it's very quick to re-establish the connection with just one finger tap to select the Smaart 7 host.  Hopefully that gets addressed in an upcoming release.
Title: Re: Studio Six iRemote for SMAART 7
Post by: Adam Black on July 05, 2012, 08:46:17 am
I like the idea, but I am wondering what the difference between this and just using a VNC client to connect either iPhone or iPad to remote view smaart. This will also give you full mouse control if you need to adjust delay etc.

Steven,

VNC clients certainly work well enough. The primary advantage of a dedicated remote application is having a UI that was designed for the smaller screen.

-A
Title: Re: Studio Six iRemote for SMAART 7
Post by: Dan Richardson on July 05, 2012, 01:47:24 pm
The SSD remote app allows one to choose which measurement engine is displayed on the screen, and also turn on/off the generator, and manipulate the delay time and turn on/off the delay tracking feature remotely.

Does it take advantage of multitouch?
Title: Re: Studio Six iRemote for SMAART 7
Post by: Arthur Skudra on July 07, 2012, 12:10:07 am
Does it take advantage of multitouch?
If by multitouch you mean the ability to zoom, pan, or swipe a cursor on the screen, then yes.
Title: Re: Studio Six iRemote for SMAART 7
Post by: Timo Beckman on July 14, 2012, 04:36:20 am
I bought a Ipad and the remote . I "tested" it for a moment and it worked . Have to see how it works during a real live tuning (probably next week) .

I have not found the ability to save a measurement via the space bar yet if it's in there . Do not know so maybe anybody else who knows ?
Title: Re: Studio Six iRemote for SMAART 7
Post by: Arthur Skudra on July 14, 2012, 11:00:04 pm
I have not found the ability to save a measurement via the space bar yet if it's in there . Do not know so maybe anybody else who knows ?
I believe that Andrew is working on that feature, so no, it doesn't exist quite yet, but should available in a forthcoming update.
Title: Re: Studio Six iRemote for SMAART 7
Post by: Helge A Bentsen on November 13, 2012, 07:50:03 pm
I bought a Ipad and the remote . I "tested" it for a moment and it worked . Have to see how it works during a real live tuning (probably next week) .

I have not found the ability to save a measurement via the space bar yet if it's in there . Do not know so maybe anybody else who knows ?

I was thinking about buying an Ipad and use it as a remote, but I find it kinda useless if you cant save and recall measurements from it.

Has this feature been added?

I currently run VNC on a second computer for walking around, but I would like to use something simpler.
Title: Re: Studio Six iRemote for SMAART 7
Post by: Alfredo Prada on December 12, 2012, 12:14:15 pm
I was thinking about buying an Ipad and use it as a remote, but I find it kinda useless if you cant save and recall measurements from it.

Has this feature been added?

I currently run VNC on a second computer for walking around, but I would like to use something simpler.

No, it has not been added and it is needed to make this app usable, at least being able to save one trace to compare to the live trace. I read somewhere it was a limitation on the API function on Smaart's side. does anyone know any details?
Title: Re: Studio Six iRemote for SMAART 7
Post by: Adam Black on December 12, 2012, 01:22:32 pm
No, it has not been added and it is needed to make this app usable, at least being able to save one trace to compare to the live trace. I read somewhere it was a limitation on the API function on Smaart's side. does anyone know any details?

The API does not currently have a command that allows a client to request a capture. Nor does the API support retrieval of captured data; it operates on live measurements only. Both features have been added to our feature request list.

-A