ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => Installed Sound/Contracting => Topic started by: Jon Dayton on February 05, 2012, 09:43:26 pm

Title: Anyone with Winebottler experience help get Protea software running on a Mac?
Post by: Jon Dayton on February 05, 2012, 09:43:26 pm
We just got an Ashly ne24.24m and I've been trying to get the control software installed on a MacBook using Winebottler but not having much luck.  I'm curious to know if anyone has gotten it to work and what tricks they used.  Or if not, is it worth trying Parallels or getting into Boot Camp?
Title: Re: Anyone with Winebottler experience help get Protea software running on a Mac?
Post by: Cliff Fuller on February 06, 2012, 10:24:35 am
We just got an Ashly ne24.24m and I've been trying to get the control software installed on a MacBook using Winebottler but not having much luck.  I'm curious to know if anyone has gotten it to work and what tricks they used.  Or if not, is it worth trying Parallels or getting into Boot Camp?

I just tried with success to install this. I don't know if the communication port/s work but the software does run. I used the "File Manager" under Wine to navigate to the install routine, it also installed something from MS via the internet. Once installed, I ran the app from a Finder window (Open With ...).

Hope this helps ....
Title: Re: Anyone with Winebottler experience help get Protea software running on a Mac?
Post by: Jon Dayton on February 06, 2012, 12:15:35 pm
I just tried with success to install this. I don't know if the communication port/s work but the software does run. I used the "File Manager" under Wine to navigate to the install routine, it also installed something from MS via the internet. Once installed, I ran the app from a Finder window (Open With ...).

Hope this helps ....

I got further than any of the other eight times I tried at work.  Possibly the sketchy network connection was preventing the MS download.  It made the app for me but on the first start I get a pop up saying that '''''' is not a valid operator.  Back to the drawing board.
Title: Re: Anyone with Winebottler experience help get Protea software running on a Mac?
Post by: Tim McCulloch on February 09, 2012, 03:34:33 pm
I got further than any of the other eight times I tried at work.  Possibly the sketchy network connection was preventing the MS download.  It made the app for me but on the first start I get a pop up saying that '''''' is not a valid operator.  Back to the drawing board.

If you're programming this for an install, rent or borrow a Windows machine and be done with this silliness that your Mac needs to be everything to everyone all the time...

If you're doing this to work with your own gear or you're an end-user of the install, experiment to your hearts content... but to me, kludging a command & control machine from a different OS is like putting up an SM57 and expecting U87 results.
Title: Re: Anyone with Winebottler experience help get Protea software running on a Mac?
Post by: Jon Dayton on February 12, 2012, 05:14:06 pm
If you're programming this for an install, rent or borrow a Windows machine and be done with this silliness that your Mac needs to be everything to everyone all the time...

If you're doing this to work with your own gear or you're an end-user of the install, experiment to your hearts content... but to me, kludging a command & control machine from a different OS is like putting up an SM57 and expecting U87 results.

In all honesty I'd rather have a PC but my work machine is a Mac and while there's no rule against me bringing in a PC, I'd rather not haul my Mac that they paid to put Smaart on and another notebook to talk to the racks in all the different rooms (6 in two buildings).

At any rate, I ran into some of the Ashly guys at a lunch the other day and they said that shortly all their stuff will come with a web interface.  I'm just trying to get everything I need on one machine for the time being.

It seems I'm almost there.  There's one control that's not properly registering and halting the startup.
Title: Re: Anyone with Winebottler experience help get Protea software running on a Mac?
Post by: Mac Kerr on February 12, 2012, 05:54:49 pm
In all honesty I'd rather have a PC but my work machine is a Mac and while there's no rule against me bringing in a PC, I'd rather not haul my Mac that they paid to put Smaart on and another notebook to talk to the racks in all the different rooms (6 in two buildings).

At any rate, I ran into some of the Ashly guys at a lunch the other day and they said that shortly all their stuff will come with a web interface.  I'm just trying to get everything I need on one machine for the time being.

It seems I'm almost there.  There's one control that's not properly registering and halting the startup.

If this is a work machine, and you need to do actual work with it, install Parallels or Fusion, and a real copy of Windows, and have it both ways. Why build a kludge for a job? Both Parallels and Fusion work well, and allow one click switching between MacOS or Windows. Boot Camp was a PITA when I tried it. I think the memory leak has been fixed, but it still requires a reboot to change OSs. I have run control software for Studer Vista 5, Riedel Artist, Riedel Rockworks, Yamaha PM1D, Digico SD10, and RF Guru, all with no problems.

Mac
Title: Re: Anyone with Winebottler experience help get Protea software running on a Mac?
Post by: Jon Dayton on February 13, 2012, 10:28:08 am
If this is a work machine, and you need to do actual work with it, install Parallels or Fusion, and a real copy of Windows, and have it both ways. Why build a kludge for a job? Both Parallels and Fusion work well, and allow one click switching between MacOS or Windows. Boot Camp was a PITA when I tried it. I think the memory leak has been fixed, but it still requires a reboot to change OSs. I have run control software for Studer Vista 5, Riedel Artist, Riedel Rockworks, Yamaha PM1D, Digico SD10, and RF Guru, all with no problems.

Mac

Parallels will be the next step.  The Mac works fine for nearly everything I do and I wanted to try and sort this out on the cheap if possible (the Mac and Smaart were a good sized outlay).  When it comes right down to it there's not much else that I need a windows environment for.  Not at all worth booting back and forth.  So while it's slow and we're waiting for the new budget I figured I'd fiddle with it a while.

The frustrating thing is that others seem to have gotten it and I seem to be not far from getting it.  So enough of me justifying the experience.  If I can't get it I'll just have to go fetch the PC based netbook when I need to talk to the racks.   But attached is a screen shot of the most recent hang up.
Title: Re: Anyone with Winebottler experience help get Protea software running on a Mac?
Post by: Cliff Fuller on February 14, 2012, 12:49:21 pm
But attached is a screen shot of the most recent hang up.

FWIW, Knob32.ocx should be found in your "virtual drive C", the path to mine is "~/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Ashly Audio Inc/Protea Software Suite/Knob32.OCX". AFAIK, the requestor that you are seeing indicates that the app can't find the file. What I've noticed about WineBottler or Wine is that you can have multiple "virtual drives", because of that you may have inadvertently installed the app somewhere other than where Wine thinks it should be. Because the "~/.wine" directory is an invisible folder in OSX it may be difficult to figure this out. If you use the "Go | Go to Folder..." in the Finder menu bar and enter "~/.wine" the directory should open.

If you start the app WineBottler, you will see how many virtual drives you have. It will also allow you to click on the little magnifying glass to open that particular virtual drive.

I might suggest that if all this is confusing you might un-install WineBottler and try installing it again noting where your virtual drive is located.

As other folks have mentioned, Wine may or may not be the best way to implement the applications you want to use. I use it because I like the challenge but in mission critical situations it may not be the best thing to do. I also use "Virtual Box" as my virtual machine app and seam to have few if any issues. YMMV

Hope this helps ....
Title: Re: Anyone with Winebottler experience help get Protea software running on a Mac?
Post by: Jon Dayton on February 27, 2012, 10:56:11 am

As other folks have mentioned, Wine may or may not be the best way to implement the applications you want to use. I use it because I like the challenge but in mission critical situations it may not be the best thing to do. I also use "Virtual Box" as my virtual machine app and seam to have few if any issues. YMMV


I like a challenge as well and have been wanting to learn more about WINE so I can get some a few missing pieces running on my Ubuntu machine at home.  If I can get it running with a fair amount of reliability that would be great but failing that I've got Virtual Box cued up and I'll give it a try next.

Thanks to all who answered.  Your advice has been very helpful.
Title: Re: Anyone with Winebottler experience help get Protea software running on a Mac?
Post by: Ben Mehlman on October 29, 2013, 12:24:18 pm
Hey guys.. raising this discussion from the dead!  I too have tried to get the Protea System Software running under WINE (on linux), about 6 months ago, and had the same problem with PSS being unable to load the OCX file.  The file is where it's supposed to be. 

Have you had any luck working it out?

I may go back to this and try to solve it.. I am a computer programmer (but I am a unix guy.. Windows not so much) so I have a few tools I can try, eg running strace on it to see the actual pathname of the file it's trying to open...

But hopefully someone's made progress on this in the last year :)

"Get Windows"? I already have two machines running windows.. a 12 inch and a 14.  But sometimes I have two systems out at the same time, and thus need three machines.  Linux is a lot less hassle than windows.. it's a lot more flexible if you need to move hard disks around.. no license hassles.. and I already have two additional laptops running it.  I already have an additional 12 inch running linux hence my desire to run the PSS under WINE.

"Get the new processor"??  I already have three Ashly processors which I like.. and can't afford to replace them.

Really.. I do not think that PSS is particularly complex software when it comes to the use of Windows system calls.. and it's rather old, so running on WINE should be possible.  It would be great if Ashly could get involved with this issue and figure it out.  They have the PSS source code, so it would be a lot easier for them than for us.  The support from those guys has been generally great.



Title: Re: Anyone with Winebottler experience help get Protea software running on a Mac?
Post by: Craig Hauber on October 29, 2013, 07:07:40 pm
Hey guys.. raising this discussion from the dead!  I too have tried to get the Protea System Software running under WINE (on linux), about 6 months ago, and had the same problem with PSS being unable to load the OCX file.  The file is where it's supposed to be. 

Have you had any luck working it out?

I may go back to this and try to solve it.. I am a computer programmer (but I am a unix guy.. Windows not so much) so I have a few tools I can try, eg running strace on it to see the actual pathname of the file it's trying to open...

But hopefully someone's made progress on this in the last year :)

"Get Windows"? I already have two machines running windows.. a 12 inch and a 14.  But sometimes I have two systems out at the same time, and thus need three machines.  Linux is a lot less hassle than windows.. it's a lot more flexible if you need to move hard disks around.. no license hassles.. and I already have two additional laptops running it.  I already have an additional 12 inch running linux hence my desire to run the PSS under WINE.

"Get the new processor"??  I already have three Ashly processors which I like.. and can't afford to replace them.

Really.. I do not think that PSS is particularly complex software when it comes to the use of Windows system calls.. and it's rather old, so running on WINE should be possible.  It would be great if Ashly could get involved with this issue and figure it out.  They have the PSS source code, so it would be a lot easier for them than for us.  The support from those guys has been generally great.

Have you tried Virtualbox?  I have it running on Debian and Ubuntu but haven't tried the protea software suite yet, just the original RS-232 non-networked application they had for programming the original 24.24m (because the boxes I'm running it on have real serial ports) 
Haven't had luck getting a USB to serial adaptor working with it on any of my debian laptops -but i am not that knowledgeable on linux yet so give me time.

Parallels on a mac works flawlessly for me though.  I actually have specific VM's for whatever brand of dsp I'm programming and it's nice to be able to have all my prior designs, the app to program with and an entire operating system all in one file that you can back-up everywhere. 
I had a job recently where my older macbook died beyond all repair and was able to just move the VM to the clients mac-mini and finish the job without having to re-install anything or loss of prior templates.
Title: Re: Anyone with Winebottler experience help get Protea software running on a Mac?
Post by: Ben Mehlman on October 30, 2013, 01:24:57 am
Hi Craig, thanks!  I use VirtualBox often for my computer work.. usually to run instances of linux or freedos on top of linux.  I haven't tried installing Windows on VirtualBox yet though I know it's made for that.  I assume I would need to buy another copy of Windows which I would prefer to avoid, but at least it would be the last time.. since I assume Windows doesn't notice when you move the VM from one physical box to another?

Anyway I'm going to try a bit more on WINE and see what I can come up with.  I too have the RS-232/422 Proteas and use them with a COM to TCP gateway, so I don't usually have to worry about the USB-Serial adapter cables though I do have them for backup.
Title: Re: Anyone with Winebottler experience help get Protea software running on a Mac?
Post by: Ben Mehlman on October 30, 2013, 02:53:17 am
So, I got it to run!

In short, the problem was that two MS Visual C++ DLL's were missing.

MFC40.DLL
MFC40LOC.DLL

These files are freely distributable with applications built using VC++,  but for whatever reason they were not installed with PSS.. or, PSS tried to install them but failed...  Or...  Anyway, for whatever reason, they are not there.

I found the two files on my Windows machines (one on one machine, one on another), and put them in my ~/.wine/ directory, and kazam, no problem.

But I don't have it talking to the Protea yet.. I have to work out the COM port stuff.  WINE does support linux serial devices and in theory should work with a USB-serial cable, but the drivers for those can be pretty tricky so we shall see about that tomorrow :)