ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => LAB: The Classic Live Audio Board => Topic started by: Geri O'Neil on December 22, 2011, 12:57:35 am

Title: Yamaha Studio Manager - Win and Mac Versions
Post by: Geri O'Neil on December 22, 2011, 12:57:35 am
This will sound like a newbie question, and so be it....(well, I'm new with the Mac, anyway)

Several times a year, we use the ol' M7 on festivals where guest band guys come in with their show on the jump drive. I have my notebook connected and use Studio Manager to pull their scene into ours instead of their jump drive blowing away my system output settings.

I've done it on Windows machines ever since I started, but now, I have a MacBook Pro. The Big Question is, can I put someone's scene file that originated on a Windows version of SM and move it from their jump drive to my Mac Version of SM and sync the M7 as usual? Before now I've never thought about it and I've never had a problem moving a single scene into our M7 this way, having no idea what version the guy used to originate his scene.

And yes, I religiously keep the M7's firmware updated. One of my Monday morning routines is to check Yamaha's download site for any changes to the various pieces of gear we use. I do keep all old versions of the firmware just in case I have to roll it back like I almost did this last time around... >:( 

Thanx, Geri O
Title: Re: Yamaha Studio Manager - Win and Mac Versions
Post by: Tim Weaver on December 22, 2011, 01:04:55 am
This will sound like a newbie question, and so be it....(well, I'm new with the Mac, anyway)

Several times a year, we use the ol' M7 on festivals where guest band guys come in with their show on the jump drive. I have my notebook connected and use Studio Manager to pull their scene into ours instead of their jump drive blowing away my system output settings.

I've done it on Windows machines ever since I started, but now, I have a MacBook Pro. The Big Question is, can I put someone's scene file that originated on a Windows version of SM and move it from their jump drive to my Mac Version of SM and sync the M7 as usual? Before now I've never thought about it and I've never had a problem moving a single scene into our M7 this way, having no idea what version the guy used to originate his scene.

And yes, I religiously keep the M7's firmware updated. One of my Monday morning routines is to check Yamaha's download site for any changes to the various pieces of gear we use. I do keep all old versions of the firmware just in case I have to roll it back like I almost did this last time around... >:( 

Thanx, Geri O

You can do it, no problem. As far as SM is concerned, the .ysm and the .mc7 files are universal. Kinda like a .jpg or a .pdf.

The only reason you might have a problem is if you drop a file on a mac-formatted thumb drive, you might not be able to read it on a PC. This is a mac vs. PC issue though, not a SM issue.