ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => Audio Measurement and Testing => Topic started by: dian r subekti on February 24, 2021, 11:16:38 PM

Title: Frd, zma and ascii
Post by: dian r subekti on February 24, 2021, 11:16:38 PM
Hi all.  Has anyone tried to create frd and zma files based on ascii in smart live version 5.4 or 7 ?.
Title: Re: Frd, zma and ascii
Post by: Russell Ault on February 25, 2021, 03:07:14 AM
Hi all.  Has anyone tried to create frd and zma files based on ascii in smart live version 5.4 or 7 ?.

My quick bit of Googling suggests that Smaart's ASCII format (in v8, anyway) should be roughly compatible with FRD (not sure about ZMA). You may have to comment out (with an asterisk) or remove everything above the actual data in the file, and depending on the trace you're exporting you might also need to remove a column (I don't see any mention in for FRD about about a coherence column). You'll also need to change the file extension to FRD (of course).

-Russ
Title: Re: Frd, zma and ascii
Post by: Chris Grimshaw on February 25, 2021, 03:04:41 PM
(not sure about ZMA)

ZMA is the impedance plot, so an entirely different measurement technique.

Chris
Title: Re: Frd, zma and ascii
Post by: dian r subekti on February 26, 2021, 11:10:11 PM
ZMA is the impedance plot, so an entirely different measurement technique.

Chris
I tried to remove everything above the actual data in the file with ms excel.  and paste to notepad and save it with the extension .frd and it works.  thanks man
Title: Re: Frd, zma and ascii
Post by: dian r subekti on February 26, 2021, 11:13:24 PM
ZMA is the impedance plot, so an entirely different measurement technique.

Chris
Yes, right.  Impedance plots are different in measurement techniques.