ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => LAB Lounge => Topic started by: Miguel Dahl on November 23, 2018, 08:40:03 am

Title: Dante Controller: "Mysterious Unit" is being "Elevated to Grand Master"
Post by: Miguel Dahl on November 23, 2018, 08:40:03 am
I'm currently working on a setup which with RIO3224 + QL5.

I'm running the primary through switches so I also can have DVS and Sennheiser WSM on the same cable on my laptop. I also do a Secondary/redundant which is point to point QL5 <-> RIO

I noticed in the Dante Controller that it says that "some kind of unit" has been elevated to Grand Master. This happens after a while after get-in and powering up my laptop with the Dante Controller. The unit which has been elevated to Grand Master is what makes me ask. The name of it is just a string of numbers/letters, I can't identify this unit, I don't know what it is.

But when I look at the top of the screen in Dante Controller, it says that the QL5 is the clock master.

For instance. 2 Hrs into rehersals I see that this mysterious unit has been elevated to Grand Master, but at the top of the screen it says that QL5 is the master.

What is this? This is the only message I get in the log which is "off".
Title: Re: Dante Controller: "Mysterious Unit" is being "Elevated to Grand Master"
Post by: Ray Aberle on November 23, 2018, 09:07:30 am
What is the "string of numbers and letters" that it's being identified with?

-Ray
Title: Re: Dante Controller: "Mysterious Unit" is being "Elevated to Grand Master"
Post by: Miguel Dahl on November 23, 2018, 09:46:09 am
What is the "string of numbers and letters" that it's being identified with?

-Ray

I didn't understand your post. I'm currently not at the venue, or have saved the log (doh). it's just something like 10-strings or something (from memory) with what could look like an network MAC-adress, but it's not the same format. To me it seemed like just a random string of numbers and letters.

It's not a typical Dante unit name.
Title: Re: Dante Controller: "Mysterious Unit" is being "Elevated to Grand Master"
Post by: Nathan Riddle on November 23, 2018, 10:26:42 am
What do you mean you don't understand Ray's post?

What are the numbers and letters?
Title: Re: Dante Controller: "Mysterious Unit" is being "Elevated to Grand Master"
Post by: Miguel Dahl on November 23, 2018, 10:43:43 am
What do you mean you don't understand Ray's post?

What are the numbers and letters?

Ah. Sorry. It was pretty straight forward. But as I wrote above, I don't have them in front of me. I'll take a picture tomorrow when I get back there, as I guess it will happen again.
Title: Re: Dante Controller: "Mysterious Unit" is being "Elevated to Grand Master"
Post by: brian maddox on November 23, 2018, 11:15:56 am
Ah. Sorry. It was pretty straight forward. But as I wrote above, I don't have them in front of me. I'll take a picture tomorrow when I get back there, as I guess it will happen again.

I have had this happen and when i dug a little deeper i was able to identify that the string of numbers was PART of the MAC address of the unit that was now identified as the Grand Master.  I don't know why it identifies it this was, however, and welcome hearing from someone who does.

In my case it was a unit i did NOT want to be the master so i went in and altered my settings.  You can designate more than one "preferred master" [which i had neglected to do] and if for some reason the network isn't happy with it's current master it will move to one on your preferred list which can keep it from randomly picking the most flakey unit in the network [as was happening in my case].
Title: Re: Dante Controller: "Mysterious Unit" is being "Elevated to Grand Master"
Post by: Miguel Dahl on November 23, 2018, 11:31:52 am
I have had this happen and when i dug a little deeper i was able to identify that the string of numbers was PART of the MAC address of the unit that was now identified as the Grand Master.  I don't know why it identifies it this was, however, and welcome hearing from someone who does.

In my case it was a unit i did NOT want to be the master so i went in and altered my settings.  You can designate more than one "preferred master" [which i had neglected to do] and if for some reason the network isn't happy with it's current master it will move to one on your preferred list which can keep it from randomly picking the most flakey unit in the network [as was happening in my case].

Aha! I only have the QL5 as preferred master. But what seems strange that after this log message, and nothing else after it (it didn't report to change back to some other master, like the QL5), QL5 is reported as being the clock master.

But I only have the QL5 and the RIO as possible sources for a dante clock master. Sennheisers and my DVS can't be dante clock masters. I also remote the QL5 with an IPAD, but that shouldn't have anything to do with it.
Title: Re: Dante Controller: "Mysterious Unit" is being "Elevated to Grand Master"
Post by: Miguel Dahl on November 24, 2018, 06:25:50 am
Alright. It's actually the QL5 itself. The string is the MAC-address, but without the : in between.

So dante controller uses the terms grand master and clock master. If I yank out the primary, it says that RIO has been clock master. Plug it back in it says that QL5 is clock master again. What is grand master?
Title: Re: Dante Controller: "Mysterious Unit" is being "Elevated to Grand Master"
Post by: Eric Snodgrass on November 24, 2018, 03:13:28 pm
What is grand master?
This is Grandmaster -
Title: Re: Dante Controller: "Mysterious Unit" is being "Elevated to Grand Master"
Post by: Miguel Dahl on November 25, 2018, 02:48:09 pm
Alright. It's actually the QL5 itself. The string is the MAC-address, but without the : in between.

So dante controller uses the terms grand master and clock master. If I yank out the primary, it says that RIO has been clock master. Plug it back in it says that QL5 is clock master again. What is grand master?

After some more and little research, the "Grand Master" string pops up when I turn on the wifi on my laptop which runs the DVS.
Title: Re: Dante Controller: "Mysterious Unit" is being "Elevated to Grand Master"
Post by: brian maddox on November 25, 2018, 10:16:16 pm
After some more and little research, the "Grand Master" string pops up when I turn on the wifi on my laptop which runs the DVS.

interesting.  i have no idea what that means, but perhaps someone with more IT knowledge may be able to shed some light.
Title: Re: Dante Controller: "Mysterious Unit" is being "Elevated to Grand Master"
Post by: Jon Dees on November 26, 2018, 02:00:20 pm
interesting.  i have no idea what that means, but perhaps someone with more IT knowledge may be able to shed some light.

The discoverability and unit names run over Bonjour. Perhaps the PC's Bonjour queries are being sent to the wrong interface. This happens to me on a desktop with two interfaces (one for the Dante device network, one for the corporate network). DVS and Controller get confused and use the wrong interface regardless of what I have selected, even if I close and re-open. Takes a reboot to make it happy again. As with most IT problems, I blame Windows.
Title: Re: Dante Controller: "Mysterious Unit" is being "Elevated to Grand Master"
Post by: Mark Wilkinson on November 27, 2018, 07:44:00 am
interesting.  i have no idea what that means, but perhaps someone with more IT knowledge may be able to shed some light.

No real IT knowledge here, but in trying to get a switch running with q-sys, I just encountered PTPv2...the clocking protocol that chooses best clock when grandmaster goes missing

http://www.ni.com/tutorial/2822/en/#toc2