ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => SR Forum Archives => LAB Lounge FUD Forum Archive => Topic started by: Paul Hill on June 04, 2007, 02:25:21 pm

Title: Power required
Post by: Paul Hill on June 04, 2007, 02:25:21 pm
FIRSTLY I'M IN THE UK... where I believe power is 230V (although everyone thinks it's 240 - correct me if I'm wrong)

I'm doing an outdoor gig this weekend and I'm not sure how much power I actually need. I'm running 2 Behringer EP2500s. In the specs it says 5A consumption and they have a 8A breaker. There's also some other devices like DSP, cd players, mixer. I think that's everything. Do you think I would be able to power it off one 13A socket if that's all thats available?

Thanks in advance.
Title: Re: Power required
Post by: Scott Smith on June 04, 2007, 03:20:13 pm
Doesn't current go "the other way" over there?  ...or maybe that was Australia...?
Title: Re: Power required
Post by: Bennett Prescott on June 04, 2007, 03:33:11 pm
Maybe?

Depends on how hard you're driving the system. If you're going to load the amps to 4 ohms and drive them to clip for a few hours, probably not. Otherwise, probably.
Title: Re: Power required
Post by: Bob Dore on June 04, 2007, 03:56:54 pm
Yes, power in the UK is 230V. You should be ok unless you drive the system flat out.

Bob.
Title: Re: Power required
Post by: Paul Hill on June 04, 2007, 04:11:21 pm
Cheers guys. I think I'll be running it with a limiter keeping it just a little lower than the whole system should go. There's a DJ who I don't know using it and I won't be there the whole time. At least this way if he reds the arse of the mixer then it'll just be running just under 'full power' if you know what I mean. Deffinitely no clipping on the amps.
Title: Re: Power required
Post by: Kevin Ballard on June 05, 2007, 07:14:55 am
Paul,

Providing the load isn't into 4 Ohm bridged (in which case you should have different concerns). This little setup will run off a stiff 13A supply. Remember a limiter may raise the RMS output and draw more current and the CD's will alteady be compressed.

BUT

There may be some current in rush to charge the capacitors so wait 5 seconds between turning on each amplifier and because there will be a DJ, I question the power consumption for flashing things (off topic here). Just don't try to run this on the end of a 25m cable unless it is rated for at least 15A or more because it will get warm otherwise, and remember that no mains cable should be left coiled and connected or it will smell of melting insulation after a while.

The 13A fuse in a plug is nominal and unlike a breaker can be abused for short periods of time. This means a current of more value can pass but it will heat up the fuse until it melts. Kick drum type beats can exceed the 13A rating as they pulse but put your hand on the plug and see if you can detect warmth after 15 mins. That will tell you to turn down or it will turn itself off soon.

HTH
Title: Re: Power required
Post by: Paul Hill on June 05, 2007, 07:49:47 am
Thanks Kevin. I'll be running 4ohms off each side of each amp so they should have a bit of extra room in them. I hadn't thought of that feeling the plug trick. I'll do that. And yes, I've checked there won't be any off-topics eating all the juice for my amps. Just 2 amps, dsp, mixer and cd players.

Thanks again. Paul.