ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => LAB Lounge => Topic started by: Steve Hurt on June 09, 2021, 11:05:38 PM

Title: I-Tech 6K replacement
Post by: Steve Hurt on June 09, 2021, 11:05:38 PM
I'm thinking of replacing my I-Tech 6K amps with newer amps
What are modern comparable amps that aren't I-Nukes and aren't unobtanium priced?

(I-Tech 6 K is 3000/w/ch into 4 ohms and has DSP built in - 2 rack spaces)

While I don't use 3kw/ch because that would blow breakers, the amps do make subs grunt really nicely compared to some other amps I've tried
(and for whatever reason, the 6K's have been a lot more trouble free than my older I-Tech 4K's were)

I will be plugging into edison outlets, often GFI protected  (I-Techs and GFI's hate each other for some reason)
Title: Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
Post by: Steve Litcher on June 10, 2021, 01:37:53 AM
Have you looked into the QSC PL380? They’re pretty stout; we had a bunch of them when we ran passive JTR subs and were really impressed by them. Check with Mike Pyle for better pricing.
Title: Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
Post by: Chris Grimshaw on June 10, 2021, 01:59:03 AM
Powersoft T602 springs to mind. 1U, great DSP & control, 2500w/ch into 4ohm.

Oh, and you can directly limit the amp's mains current draw.

Chris
Title: Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
Post by: Benjamin Krumholz on June 10, 2021, 07:34:18 AM
I'm thinking of replacing my I-Tech 6K amps with newer amps
What are modern comparable amps that aren't I-Nukes and aren't unobtanium priced?


You can find great deals on used Itech HD amps and 4 x 3500HD amps online currently.. You should be able to find an IT5000HD or IT9000HD for less than 2k.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/362500951611?epid=9012065003&hash=item5466bd8e3b:g:kBMAAOSw3s9fjcQg
 
Title: Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
Post by: John Halliburton on June 10, 2021, 09:15:40 AM
I'm thinking of replacing my I-Tech 6K amps with newer amps
What are modern comparable amps that aren't I-Nukes and aren't unobtanium priced?

(I-Tech 6 K is 3000/w/ch into 4 ohms and has DSP built in - 2 rack spaces)

While I don't use 3kw/ch because that would blow breakers, the amps do make subs grunt really nicely compared to some other amps I've tried
(and for whatever reason, the 6K's have been a lot more trouble free than my older I-Tech 4K's were)

I will be plugging into edison outlets, often GFI protected  (I-Techs and GFI's hate each other for some reason)

I've been very happy with my QSC PLD4.5 amps. Four channel, yet configurable to 1, 2, or 3, built in DSP, lightweight.

Best regards,

John
Title: Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
Post by: Matt Vivlamore on June 10, 2021, 09:26:39 AM
I'd replace the original IT's with some Lab Gruppen PLMs or Crown Itech-HDs.
Title: Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
Post by: David Sturzenbecher on June 10, 2021, 10:06:30 AM
I'm thinking of replacing my I-Tech 6K amps with newer amps
What are modern comparable amps that aren't I-Nukes and aren't unobtanium priced?

(I-Tech 6 K is 3000/w/ch into 4 ohms and has DSP built in - 2 rack spaces)

While I don't use 3kw/ch because that would blow breakers, the amps do make subs grunt really nicely compared to some other amps I've tried
(and for whatever reason, the 6K's have been a lot more trouble free than my older I-Tech 4K's were)

I will be plugging into edison outlets, often GFI protected  (I-Techs and GFI's hate each other for some reason)

Steve,
What speakers will these amps be powering?   
Title: Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
Post by: Helge A Bentsen on June 10, 2021, 10:10:42 AM
How many channels do you need and what  kind of DSP?

Powersoft X or T-series would be on the top of my list. Great DSP and flexibility.
Lab PLM if I wanted Lake Processing.

Title: Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
Post by: Scott Holtzman on June 10, 2021, 04:44:45 PM
Powersoft T602 springs to mind. 1U, great DSP & control, 2500w/ch into 4ohm.

Oh, and you can directly limit the amp's mains current draw.

Chris


The nice thing about the Powersoft is the wideband supply.  You can use the same rack, PDU and amplifier.  If you are constrained by the mains have a configuration that would work properly on a 15amp 120v circuit (in the US). 


My next rack is going to have three amps, two for the subs and one for mains.  I will put three edison inlets for venues with only 120v service and the appropriate twist lock for a 30amp 208-240v feed.  The distro will have a switch to transfer the inlet and the amps will auto range.  That's why I have my eye on the Powersoft.  They seem ideal for this config.



Title: Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
Post by: Steve Crump on June 10, 2021, 08:09:50 PM
+1 on the Powersoft T Series
Title: Re: I-Tech 6K replacement?
Post by: Mike Monte on June 11, 2021, 08:36:05 AM
I'm thinking of replacing my I-Tech 6K amps with newer amps

Of the Itechs that I own, two are IT6000's (original run).
Way back when the ribbon issue was realized I sent both of them back to Crown (on warranty) and they swapped-out the ribbon cables/front panels.
They have been bullet-proof ever since.

I am curious as to why you are considering replacing your current Itechs....are they barking or are you just updating gear??
 
Title: Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
Post by: Brian Jojade on June 11, 2021, 01:32:56 PM
I've been very happy with my QSC PLD4.5 amps. Four channel, yet configurable to 1, 2, or 3, built in DSP, lightweight.

Best regards,

John

I WAS happy with my PLD4.5s.  However, on more than one occasion, the amps would just for no apparent reason decide to not pass audio at a show, even though they did just fine the day before with no changes whatsoever.  And every single time I had an issue, I brought the amps back to the shop to test and could never repeat the problem.  Now I've got one sitting on the floor next to my desk that I get angry looking at every single day.  I'm scared to take it back on the road not knowing if it's going to be fine, or have a fit on me.
Title: Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
Post by: Rick Powell on June 12, 2021, 02:31:24 AM
Have you looked into the QSC PL380? They’re pretty stout; we had a bunch of them when we ran passive JTR subs and were really impressed by them. Check with Mike Pyle for better pricing.

To me, the PL380, although a great amp, would be a sideways move. Plus losing the good DSP processing of the ITech if you need it. I still power my Danleys with an ITech 6000 and it just works and works, over 10 years and running and who knows how old it was when I got it. If it ever started acting up where I questioned its reliability, I might consider the Powersoft T-series or Danley's DNA re-badged Linea series.
Title: Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
Post by: Helge A Bentsen on June 14, 2021, 09:07:25 AM
Powersoft just announced two new models in the T-series, T902 & T-904.
Talked to our distributor, price/performance looks very good.

https://tinyurl.com/9y5pmk69