ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => LAB Lounge => Topic started by: John William on July 20, 2014, 06:23:31 pm

Title: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: John William on July 20, 2014, 06:23:31 pm
Been using 2x 01v96 since years now , all sorts of jobs, all sorts of AC power but never an issue.

During a theatre rehearsal week and just about to go into a show (typical timing!!) my 01v crashes, no display on the screen, backlight remains on, no audio passes. I reboot the desk and it function correctly for the next hour and I just get through the show .

During break I get an analogue desk on standby as a backup.
next show is about to start and the 01v reboots of it's own accord and just when it's finished startup reboots again , this cycle continues.
In the mean time within 20 seconds I've patched in the analogue and get the show done , phew!!!

after the show  switch off the 01v leave for a while and it boots up correctly with no faults.

next day , next show setup my second 01v96 no more problem so I guess this rules out power issues at a guess.

I wonder if anyone here have had similar crashes/rebooting with the 01v96? any fixes?
I will struggle to trust this particular board again.

thanks all, John
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: g'bye, Dick Rees on July 20, 2014, 06:39:54 pm
You need to get a Fluke meter and learn how to check your power...especially in venues with lots of lighting or food service.
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: John William on July 20, 2014, 07:09:52 pm
You need to get a Fluke meter and learn how to check your power...especially in venues with lots of lighting or food service.

hi , thanks for the reply.
though I did not use this particular time I do have a meter but in this case although not impossible it is unlikely to be a power issue as the venue has perfect history in terms of power reliability (theatre with dedicated audio electrical circuit), and crucially the second 01v96 I set up ran perfectly.

01v's are usually incredibly resilient in bad/low situations and I find other items switch off well before they do. again the many other bits of gear being ran that day did not suffer an issues as I would expect with an electrical power issue.
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: Steve Alves on July 20, 2014, 07:16:32 pm
May seem like a silly question but are you sure there was no moisture or condensation inside. I had something similar happen after leaving one out all night (outdoor show). It was covered but some condensation creeped inside. A few bags of desiccant and a few days and it has been fine for two years.
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: Bob Leonard on July 20, 2014, 11:46:15 pm
You need to get a Fluke meter and learn how to check your power...especially in venues with lots of lighting or food service.

This and heat/airflow through the unit.
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: don mcmeckan on July 21, 2014, 01:01:26 am
This and heat/airflow through the unit.

If the internal battery is bad, console will reboot, but you will lose your memories.

Had it happen at a gig, did the show with the console partially open!

Check the battery.

Thanks,      Don
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: mike mullin on July 21, 2014, 10:20:42 am
You're O1V96 needs to be serviced for cold solder joints and maybe a new battery.
This happened to both of my units. All was good after some proper servicing.
I didn't loose the memory either.
cheers,
Mike
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: Andrew Broughton on July 21, 2014, 11:22:29 am
If the internal battery is bad, console will reboot, but you will lose your memories.
I don't believe that. The battery is only a backup for the memory when your console is switched off. I don't believe a bad battery will cause a Yamaha console to reboot. Lose it's memory, yes. Reboot, no.
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: Tim McCulloch on July 21, 2014, 11:42:58 am
You're O1V96 needs to be serviced for cold solder joints and maybe a new battery.
This happened to both of my units. All was good after some proper servicing.
I didn't loose the memory either.
cheers,
Mike

THIS.

Just like the grounding issue in the original 01v, it's fixable by your local Yamaha service technician.  I think they have a service bulletin about what solder points most often need reflow.  At any rate, any tech that has seen a few of them should know right where to look.
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: don mcmeckan on July 21, 2014, 12:56:45 pm
I don't believe that. The battery is only a backup for the memory when your console is switched off. I don't believe a bad battery will cause a Yamaha console to reboot. Lose it's memory, yes. Reboot, no.

This gig happened two years ago, so my memory may be a little fuzzy.

I'm pretty certain that we lost our scenes.

I'll check with my lighting guy to see if he remembers ( he's 30 years younger than me! )

Thanks,          Don
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: Andrew Broughton on July 21, 2014, 12:58:43 pm
I'm pretty certain that we lost our scenes.
That is what would happen when you powered off the board or if you lost power. That's all the battery does other than keep the real-time clock working.
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: don mcmeckan on July 21, 2014, 03:20:37 pm
That is what would happen when you powered off the board or if you lost power. That's all the battery does other than keep the real-time clock working.

Like I said my memory is a little fuzzy!

I am going to change the battery in my DM 1000, so I'll see if that removes all my scenes.

Should I change the battery while powered up?

Thanks,        Don
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: Andrew Broughton on July 21, 2014, 03:26:26 pm
Personally, I wouldn't do it that way, I'd just do a backup and then restore it after I changed the battery. Fiddling around inside with the power on is just dangerous. However, if you simply must, then:

Back up the DM1000 to your computer or an SM card.
Power off and open up the DM1000
Find the battery
Power on the DM1000 and replace the battery after it boots up, being extremely careful not to short anything out.
After the new battery is in, power off the DM1000 and reassemble.
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: don mcmeckan on July 21, 2014, 03:56:10 pm
Personally, I wouldn't do it that way, I'd just do a backup and then restore it after I changed the battery. Fiddling around inside with the power on is just dangerous. However, if you simply must, then:

Back up the DM1000 to your computer or an SM card.
Power off and open up the DM1000
Find the battery
Power on the DM1000 and replace the battery after it boots up, being extremely careful not to short anything out.
After the new battery is in, power off the DM1000 and reassemble.

Sorry, I wasn't clear on my question.

Normally I would change the battery exactly as you described.
This would be an experiment to see if removing the battery ( or battery dying ) while console is powered up would remove scenes.

I'm retiring the DM 1000 to my rehearsal space so no need to save any scenes.

Thanks          Don
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: Andrew Broughton on July 21, 2014, 04:11:23 pm
You can do that experiment if you like, but I'm quite sure it won't lose any scenes until you power it off without the battery installed.
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: don mcmeckan on July 21, 2014, 05:28:51 pm
You can do that experiment if you like, but I'm quite sure it won't lose any scenes until you power it off without the battery installed.

Thanks Andrew, I'm going to do it do it anyway because I just have to know.

I'll report back in a couple of days.

Thanks,      Don
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: Andrew Broughton on July 21, 2014, 05:33:13 pm
If you short the contacts while pulling out the battery, you might cause a reboot, clear the memory or otherwise mess things up.
I would do it this way so you don't short anything out:
Power it off, unplug it.
Open it up and take out the battery.
Put it back together and power it on.
You'll likely get a battery error. Click Ok or otherwise clear the error.
Create a scene and store it.
If you can create and store scenes and otherwise use the console without the batttery, then having no battery or a dead battery will not cause you to lose scenes.
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: g'bye, Dick Rees on July 21, 2014, 05:36:45 pm
I'm going to do it do it anyway because I just have to know.


That's what I want on my tombstone...
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: don mcmeckan on July 21, 2014, 06:59:27 pm
If you short the contacts while pulling out the battery, you might cause a reboot, clear the memory or otherwise mess things up.
I would do it this way so you don't short anything out:
Power it off, unplug it.
Open it up and take out the battery.
Put it back together and power it on.
You'll likely get a battery error. Click Ok or otherwise clear the error.
Create a scene and store it.
If you can create and store scenes and otherwise use the console without the batttery, then having no battery or a dead battery will not cause you to lose scenes.

Thanks Andrew, will do!

Don
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: don mcmeckan on July 21, 2014, 07:03:40 pm

That's what I want on my tombstone...

Love it! seen on a tombstone: He Just Had To Know

Don
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: John William on July 24, 2014, 10:47:22 am
thanks for the replies , looks like a dry joint is a possibility rather than battery problem as some others of you have experienced. looks like a trip to Yamaha service centre for the desk.
thanks again
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: don mcmeckan on July 24, 2014, 11:46:49 am
thanks for the replies , looks like a dry joint is a possibility rather than battery problem as some others of you have experienced. looks like a trip to Yamaha service centre for the desk.
thanks again

Hi John, an update to my experiment: Pulled the battery from the DM1000 while the mixer was running, it did not reboot, just kept going as Andrew said it would.

My O1V was probably having the same issue as yours, but changing the battery somehow fixed the problem ( probably a coincidence, bumped a ribbon cable....)

Good luck with your repair.

Don
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: Doug Fowler on October 02, 2014, 12:23:18 pm
John/everyone,

Did you get a result with this original issue?

I only ask as the exact same thing has been happening to my desk. Pretty much word for word as you've explained in your original post.

Mixer just randomly re-booting itself. As far as I know it has nothing to do with battery or power issues.

I've done a factory reset. Lost all my scenes but thought it may help. It has helped in the fact that it doesn't reboot as much. But it has still caught me out a few times.

Cheers

Read the rules, fix your display name.

Thank you for your cooperation. 
Title: Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
Post by: jayjay on October 03, 2014, 10:32:15 am
Read the rules, fix your display name.

Thank you for your cooperation.


....Cheers Doug. That's really helpful!
Title: Posting Rules
Post by: Mac Kerr on October 03, 2014, 11:08:33 am

....Cheers Doug. That's really helpful!

It was actually very helpful, because refusing to follow the clearly posted rules for participation on these forums will mean you may not post. If you would like to post, and have people answer your questions please change the name in your profile to your real name. Till then your posts will require approval by a moderator.

FWIW, Doug and I are the administrators here.

Mac
admin
Title: Re: Posting Rules
Post by: Scott Holtzman on October 03, 2014, 02:13:29 pm
It was actually very helpful, because refusing to follow the clearly posted rules for participation on these forums will mean you may not post. If you would like to post, and have people answer your questions please change the name in your profile to your real name. Till then your posts will require approval by a moderator.

FWIW, Doug and I are the administrators here.

Mac
admin

If he doesn't read the rules what would possibly think he would notice the administrator by your profile data?

It's just unconscionable before you freely give of your time that you want someone to show the effort to be part of the community, Why you elitist.   ;D