ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => SR Forum Archives => LAB Lounge FUD Forum Archive => Topic started by: (BJ) Benjamin Fisher on February 18, 2010, 09:37:50 PM

Title: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
Post by: (BJ) Benjamin Fisher on February 18, 2010, 09:37:50 PM
I am using all of my Aux's for monitors, so isnt there a way I can run an Outboard Effects unit into a spare channel I have and be able to incorporate it into the vocal channels? How, and how will this work? I have no experience with such process.
Title: Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
Post by: Tim McCulloch on February 18, 2010, 09:46:22 PM
benjamin fisher wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 20:37

I am using all of my Aux's for monitors, so isnt there a way I can run an Outboard Effects unit into a spare channel I have and be able to incorporate it into the vocal channels? How, and how will this work? I have no experience with such process.

From where would the input to the FX be derived?
Title: Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
Post by: Adam Whetham on February 18, 2010, 09:49:41 PM
if its just one channel you could user the channel insert. which would also send the effect to the monitors though. and you would have to hit the bypass button to turn it on and off and adjust the wetness on the unit.

You could also cheat and if your board has groups assign the vocal channels to a group, then take the group out (if it has such a thing) and run it back into a channel...

what board do you have that you have all the aux's filled up with monitors?
Title: Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
Post by: Scott Deeter on February 18, 2010, 09:55:51 PM
Nevermind Adam beat me to it Crying or Very Sad
Title: Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
Post by: Dick Rees on February 18, 2010, 10:00:37 PM
Adam...

Yamaha MG166 was cited in his introductory post.

That would be a big 3 auxes.  
Title: Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
Post by: (BJ) Benjamin Fisher on February 18, 2010, 10:36:56 PM
This particular board is a Yamaha MG206c
Title: Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
Post by: Adam Whetham on February 18, 2010, 10:45:37 PM
benjamin fisher wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 21:36

This particular board is a Yamaha MG206c


Isn't the aux 4 post fader on that one?? That's gotta be fun to have that monitor mix  Laughing

but back to the topic on hand.

you have groups so cool. And group outs right under the aux outs.

so say you have vocals in channels 1-4 and you want to add some verb? Click down the 1/2 group buttons on them along with the ST ones.

now the 1/2 group fader will be your output level to the FX unit.

Now plug that out from group 1 out (I would stick with mono for this until you decide you need stereo FX...) and plug it into your FX units L/mono input

take the L/Mono output of the unit and take it back into the line input of say channel 12 (I say 12 because its still a mono channel and I'm not sure if you run your PA in stereo or not)

now turn channel 12 up to taste and you have FX....

a backwards and non-standard way to do it, but it will get the job done.

Just a warning though.

NEVER send channel 12 to group 1/2 or you will have a horrible mess/noise coming out of your speakers.

EDIT: AND! do not press in the ST button on the group 1/2 to send it to stereo. we don't want it going anywhere except out its outputs on the back of the board.
Title: Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
Post by: Dick Rees on February 18, 2010, 10:58:31 PM
Adam Whetham wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 21:45

benjamin fisher wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 21:36

This particular board is a Yamaha MG206c


Isn't the aux 4 post fader on that one?? That's gotta be fun to have that monitor mix  Laughing

but back to the topic on hand.

you have groups so cool. And group outs right under the aux outs.

so say you have vocals in channels 1-4 and you want to add some verb? Click down the 1/2 group buttons on them along with the ST ones.

now the 1/2 group fader will be your output level to the FX unit.

Now plug that out from group 1 out (I would stick with mono for this until you decide you need stereo FX...) and plug it into your FX units L/mono input

take the L/Mono output of the unit and take it back into the line input of say channel 12 (I say 12 because its still a mono channel and I'm not sure if you run your PA in stereo or not)

now turn channel 12 up to taste and you have FX....

a backwards and non-standard way to do it, but it will get the job done.

Just a warning though.

NEVER send channel 12 to group 1/2 or you will have a horrible mess/noise coming out of your speakers.




And do not depress the switch which routes the groups (which you are now using for FX sends) to the main L/R bus.  Right, Adam?
Title: Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
Post by: Tom Reid on February 18, 2010, 11:02:03 PM
Hi, it looks like you can use any of the group outs on the back as an fx send.  

Just don't assign the returned fx to the sub group that's doing the sending.
Title: Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
Post by: Adam Whetham on February 18, 2010, 11:23:13 PM
Dick Rees wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 21:58


And do not depress the switch which routes the groups (which you are now using for FX sends) to the main L/R bus.  Right, Adam?


HAHA! Not even joking Dick I just woke up from sleeping thinking "OH CRAP I FORGOT TO MENTION THE ST BUTTON ON THE GROUPS!" and had to turn my computer on again to check quick.

Yes. make sure the ST button is not clicked in/sending to the Stereo for this to work right. I'm going to edit my directions up farther.
Title: Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
Post by: Dick Rees on February 18, 2010, 11:26:08 PM
Adam Whetham wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 22:23

Dick Rees wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 21:58


And do not depress the switch which routes the groups (which you are now using for FX sends) to the main L/R bus.  Right, Adam?


HAHA! Not even joking Dick I just woke up from sleeping thinking "OH CRAP I FORGOT TO MENTION THE ST BUTTON ON THE GROUPS!" and had to turn my computer on again to check quick.

Yes. make sure the ST button is not clicked in/sending to the Stereo for this to work right. I'm going to edit my directions up farther.



Dude!!!  We gotta get us some life!!!
Title: Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
Post by: (BJ) Benjamin Fisher on February 19, 2010, 08:22:50 AM
Lol thanks guys. I dont normally need 4 monitor mixes, just this case (for now), so atleast it will get the job done. I am borrowing the board from a friend for this gig and thought that  Aux 4 could be switched between pre/post fader. But I guess thats not the case. How will this effect the 4th mon mix? How can I remedy it, or atleast make it bearable?

Art, I cant wait to get that board off of you.
Title: Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
Post by: Patrick Tracy on February 19, 2010, 02:59:12 PM
benjamin fisher wrote on Fri, 19 February 2010 06:22

Lol thanks guys. I don't normally need 4 monitor mixes, just this case (for now), so at least it will get the job done. I am borrowing the board from a friend for this gig and thought that  Aux 4 could be switched between pre/post fader. But I guess that's not the case. How will this effect the 4th mon mix? How can I remedy it, or at least make it bearable?


Every adjustment of a channel fader will also alter that input in the post-fader aux mix. There's no practical way to make it bearable other than not altering your main mix for the show. Musicians need a stable reference, not something that shifts as you adjust for the audience's needs.
Title: Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
Post by: Jeff Wheeler on February 19, 2010, 04:56:01 PM
Why are you not using your MG24/14FX?  That mixer has sufficient auxes.
Title: Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
Post by: (BJ) Benjamin Fisher on February 19, 2010, 06:40:19 PM
I dont have an MG24...I only have the MG16. This MG20 is a friends, but I'm going to try to use a friends MixWiz. I am getting a Mackie SR24 from Art in the next few weeks, just need something for the time being.
Title: Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
Post by: (BJ) Benjamin Fisher on February 20, 2010, 01:57:03 AM
Problem solved, borrowing a MixWiz. Easy fix.
Title: Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
Post by: James Feenstra on February 20, 2010, 02:10:19 AM
use groups

take a (post fader) group out into the fx unit, and return to a channel as normal

assign whatever channels you want to go to the effect to the group

it's not as neat and tidy as an aux send, but it'll get the job done and at least let you control both the input and output level going to and from the fx unit