ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 70v speakers comparable to JBL 24CT  (Read 6197 times)

Adam Grisi

70v speakers comparable to JBL 24CT
« on: January 08, 2008, 07:48:57 PM »

Good evening, I'll start off by first saying hello as I'm a newbie to the forums.
I've got a bar/restaurant I'm working on that I'm looking for some in-ceiling speakers for the dining area for a 70v system. A co-worker of mine originally spec'd out some JBL 24CT for the application, but they are a little more than the customer is going to want to spend for dining room speakers.
Can anyone recommend some quality 70v in-ceiling speakers that are comparable to these JBL 24ct's but a little more economical?
The speakers are going to be in a sheetrock ceiling. Am I better off buying transformers for other non 70v speakers? I appreciate any help/suggestions, Thanks in advance!

Adam

Hal Bissinger/COMSYSTEC

• http://www.comsystecusa.com
Re: 70v speakers comparable to JBL 24CT
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2008, 08:05:54 PM »

First off it's not the transformer that makes a speaker "expensive". You can get plenty of crap speakers with crap transformers for less money but guess what? Crap sound.

If your customer is stuck on the look of the 24CT there are lots of comparable products out there such as Toa and Atlas, Compare prices.

Something that is a lot less money and can sound good is the old standby- an 8" speaker, transformer and baffle. Again, if you want decent sound get decent speakers with transformers. I recommend at a minimum Quam 8C10FEPAX speakers and TBH70 transformers. Be sure to also use the plaster mounting rings when installing these in a sheetrock ceiling. Don't use toggle bolts like hackers do.

-Hal

Adam Grisi

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2008, 08:56:31 PM »