ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: 2 DMX lines using 5 pin  (Read 3901 times)

Daniel Nickleski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 804
    • http://www.soundworkspro.com
2 DMX lines using 5 pin
« on: November 15, 2007, 02:36:50 pm »

Hello All,
 I don't know if this is possible, but here it goes. I am sending two DMX line to the stage (1 for conventional, 1 for Movers) all of which are 3 pin. Would I be able to send these two lines down a 5 pin DMX cable. I know I would have to make a custom (2) 3 pin male to 5 pin converter for FOH and a 5pin to (2) 3 pin female for the stage. Would I be able to share the shield for the two separate signals and then use the remaining 4 conductors for my Data + and -. I hope this question is making sense.
 Thanks for any help!
    Daniel
Logged
Daniel Nickleski
soundworksdan@mac.com

Tony "T" Tissot

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3902
    • http://www.4dbsound.com
Re: 2 DMX lines using 5 pin
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2007, 03:40:35 pm »

The question makes sense.

From a practical POV - this works. I have done it in the past.

The only real issue is potential cross talk. Make sure both runs get terminated.
Logged
MNGS
ProSoundWeb - Home of 50,000 audio professionals - and two or three curmudgeonly SOBs.

John Birchman, CTS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 560
    • http://www.jrbtechnical.com/
Re: 2 DMX lines using 5 pin
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2007, 05:11:44 pm »

Yes - the 5 pin protocol is set up for this:

1. Data Link Common
2. Data 1- (Primary Data Link)
3. Data 1+ (Primary Data Link)
4. Data 2- (Secondary Data Link)
5. Data 2+ (Secondary Data Link)

They both share the common on pin 1, again, just make sure to terminate both data sets and the end of each chain.

John
Logged
John Birchman, CTS
Freelance AV and Stage Technician
JRB Technical
Lake Buena Vista, FL

len woelfel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 582
    • http://www.party-chicago.com/rentals/rentals.html
Re: 2 DMX lines using 5 pin
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2007, 07:44:19 am »

Never done it, but considering the cost of cable versus the potential for aggravation if you run into a problem, I'd rather just run a second cable.  

Emil Barnabas

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 145
    • http://www.barnabas.com
Re: 2 DMX lines using 5 pin
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2007, 11:47:42 pm »

Make sure your five-pin cable has five conductors running through it. I've seen three-conductor cable sold with five-pin connectors because most people only need the first three conductors.

If you have five-conductor cable, then it should work fine.

David Buckley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 582
Re: 2 DMX lines using 5 pin
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2007, 10:33:01 pm »

Some desks (Like pearls) are set up to do exactly this, two universes down one cable.
Logged

Randy Pence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1339
Re: 2 DMX lines using 5 pin
« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2007, 08:19:23 pm »

len woelfel wrote on Fri, 16 November 2007 13:44

Never done it, but considering the cost of cable versus the potential for aggravation if you run into a problem, I'd rather just run a second cable.  


what about the labor costs of running a second cable?
Logged

Phil LaDue

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4039
Re: 2 DMX lines using 5 pin
« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2007, 09:25:32 pm »

Randy Pence wrote on Mon, 17 December 2007 20:19

len woelfel wrote on Fri, 16 November 2007 13:44

Never done it, but considering the cost of cable versus the potential for aggravation if you run into a problem, I'd rather just run a second cable.  


what about the labor costs of running a second cable?


Have the FNG bundle them together at the shop before the load in.

Blair Willis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: 2 DMX lines using 5 pin
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2008, 10:53:18 pm »

To further complicate the question:

Would there be any problem using opposing signal directions?  That is, could one twisted pair be used for an upstream signal, the other for a downstream signal?

Thanks for your input (and output),

Blair




Logged

Ron Hebbard

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 287
Re: 2 DMX lines using 5 pin
« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2008, 04:24:34 am »

Blair Willis wrote on Sat, 05 January 2008 03:53

To further complicate the question:

Would there be any problem using opposing signal directions?  That is, could one twisted pair be used for an upstream signal, the other for a downstream signal?

Thanks for your input (and output),

Blair




Hello Blair;

I believe this has already been done by some of the higher end manufacturers with one pair carrying control info from a console to it's dimmers, foggers, scrollers, 'wigglies', et al and the secondary pair carrying report info back to the console for things such as load changes, fan failures, over-temp, etcetera.

Toodleoo!
Ron Hebbard
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.017 seconds with 14 queries.