ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Peavey sub static  (Read 13278 times)

George Holloway

Peavey sub static
« on: October 17, 2007, 10:58:32 AM »

I am currently running a pair of peavey 18' subs with a qsc 2450 amp and found a static/noise coming out of one of the speakers. For fear of ruining the sub, I moved a couple of cables, but that didn't fix the problem ,so I brought in a spare Yamaha 118 sub that I had to finish off the show. It initially work fine for a while but then it happened...The Yamaha quit all together. Any thoughts to what could be going on.

By the way,, I'm a real noob when it comes to this kind of thing, so take it easy on me. I'm just the guitar player. Rolling Eyes
P/A's run on white smoke. Don't let it out!

Whit Hutchinson

Re: Peavey sub static
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2007, 10:15:33 AM »

Bo,

How did the Yamaha sound when you hooked it up?  Did it have the same "Static" as the Peavey?

Which Peavey subs were you running and which amp were you using to run them?  It sounds like you may be burning up the drivers.
I have learned in my life:

-Pretty girls don't stay single long
- KF 850s  over SB 1000s per side was designed to be a percussion instrument rather than a "soundpretty thing".

George Holloway

« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2007, 11:47:54 AM »

I was using 2 SP118x Peaveys, powered with a QSC2450 amp bridged mono. When I started to get the noise out of one of the subs, I swapped it out with a Yamaha CW118 and it sounded great for a while then quit working all together. I did a little troubleshooting last night and found the Yamaha completely blown(OPEN). The Peavey still works but it has a decaying staic sound.It still pushes lots of air but it sounds like its on its way out.

Whit Hutchinson

« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2007, 12:36:27 PM »

Bo,