ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Your Power Systems  (Read 6625 times)

Alex Marine

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 248
    • http://www.oregonprosound.com/
Your Power Systems
« on: August 15, 2007, 04:46:57 am »

ok ok so if all these photo postings are not annoying enough.... I want to see what you all are using to power your system....

distro
power conditioner
strip
ext. cord

show me your ways

if you could include how many watts your pushing.

Tom Manchester

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3034
    • http://www.electrosoundsystems.com
Re: Your Power Systems
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2007, 01:05:04 pm »

Let's see. Standard rackmount "Middle Atlantic" power strips in the processing racks, and metal quadboxes with edison outlets in the amp racks. All amp racks take an L5-20 inlet for power mounted on the i/o panel. Amp racks and such are supplied with either a 25, 50, or 100' 12/3 SOOW cord of which I have about 400 feet of. There are a few 15' SJOOW cords I use for stage power drops for musicians's pedalboards and such. Main stage power is handled by a 40' long 12/3 SOOW cord with quadboxes mounted with one of them at 4' in, and the other at the end of the cord for stage left and stage right power.

http://srforums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/fa/9853/0/6538/

From there it goes to one of my distros. The main distro has 4 20 amp circuits and 4 edison outlets and is supplied by a 60' section of 6/4 feeder.

The other B system distro is built like a small suitcase so it can carry it's own 50' of 10/4 feeder. It is equipped with 2 20 amp circuits and 1 15 amp convenience outlet.

index.php/fa/10814/0/

Oh, wattage wise the A rig that uses the main distro is 6kw to subs and 2kw to tops and 1.5kw to monitors (if I am only doing 2 mixes)

B system that uses the smaller suitcase distro is 1kw to subs, 600w to tops and 600w to monitors.
Logged
-Tom
Electro Sound Systems

Alex Marine

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 248
    • http://www.oregonprosound.com/
Re: Your Power Systems
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2007, 07:49:25 pm »

nice Tom!

E. Lee Dickinson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1523
    • http://www.leedickinson.com
Re: Your Power Systems
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2007, 09:26:36 pm »

index.php/fa/10837/0/

The brown ones are wired for lighting, the white ones are wired for sound. This is very advanced; if you don't understand why (only
if you're very knowlegabel) this is safe I can't explain it to you.

I have no formal relationship with the company that makes these other than a paycheck every month, but its 1099 so it should be okay. I hope that's not against the rules of the forum, if it is, haven't you ever changed lanes without signaling?

PS, can someone recomend a sub that costs about $100 is good for about 1000 people?
Logged
E. Lee Dickinson
Advanced Visual Production Inc.
sound - lighting - video - design
www.avpric.com

Mac Kerr

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10223
Re: Your Power Systems
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2007, 10:12:53 pm »

E. Lee Dickinson wrote on Wed, 15 August 2007 21:26

index.php/fa/10837/0/

The brown ones are wired for lighting, the white ones are wired for sound. This is very advanced; if you don't understand why (only
if you're very knowlegabel) this is safe I can't explain it to you.

I have no formal relationship with the company that makes these other than a paycheck every month, but its 1099 so it should be okay. I hope that's not against the rules of the forum, if it is, haven't you ever changed lanes without signaling?

PS, can someone recomend a sub that costs about $100 is good for about 1000 people?
Only if you'll tell us what mic you use for kick.

Mac
Logged

Jerry Turnbow

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 320
    • http://www.soundsiteaudio.com
Re: Your Power Systems
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2007, 11:09:37 pm »

Here's my home-made distro that I've been using for several years.

I fished an old 3-phase panel out of the dumpster when we closed down one of our plants, painted it yellow, added camlok's, meters, etc. and it's served me well for several years.  (Currently only using it as a single-phase panel, but I equipped it with the third hot leg input and left a provision for doubling up on the neutral easily in the future.
Logged
- Jerry Turnbow (aka 'Mako')

  Owner - Sound on Site Audio Services
 

Jerry Turnbow

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 320
    • http://www.soundsiteaudio.com
Re: Your Power Systems
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2007, 11:14:43 pm »

Here's a close-up of the metering section.  I used current transformers and a triac arrangement to switch the ammeter between legs.
Logged
- Jerry Turnbow (aka 'Mako')

  Owner - Sound on Site Audio Services
 

Alex Marine

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 248
    • http://www.oregonprosound.com/
Re: Your Power Systems
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2007, 07:03:57 pm »

anyone else?

Chris Schuler

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 309
    • http://www.chrisschuler.net
Re: Your Power Systems
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2007, 09:08:56 pm »

This is one of many of our distros... it's the same exact size as our amp racks to make truck packing easier. Panels are made by Motion Labs.

It's also on wheels, although it's pretty light.

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n171/njsoundman/SPL/D32.jpg

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n171/njsoundman/SPL/D31.jpg
Logged
Freelance Audio Engineer in Philadelphia, PA

Phil LaDue

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4039
Re: Your Power Systems
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2007, 09:12:09 pm »

At this gig I had 2400 for mains, 1400 on the sub and 1200 watts for monitors.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v489/avkid/Demos/100_1964.jpg
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.033 seconds with 21 queries.