ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Quick question...  (Read 1221 times)

Silas Ng

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Quick question...
« on: July 26, 2007, 12:25:05 pm »

Hey,

We have this lighting console at my church that I want to move somewhere else (25 feet).  I looked at the cable going in and it looks like a 3-prong xlr cable.  I know that wiring for these cables can be different so that's why I want to ask first.  Would it work to just plug a mic cable to extend the cable 25 feet?  If not, that's okay.  I don't want to blow anything up.

Thanks!


http://www.leviton.com/OA_HTML/ibeCCtpSctDspRte.jsp?section= 16054&minisite=10023
Logged

Silas Ng

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Quick question...
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2007, 12:31:49 pm »

Nevermind.  It said in the manual I can just use a mic cable.

Another question though,

When the fader moves up a LITTLE, the lights are at full intensity already.  It's like that for some of the lights.  Is this something that I can change on the console (sensitivity) or is there something on the dimmer or spotlights that cause this?
Logged

Phil LaDue

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4039
Re: Quick question...
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2007, 12:36:58 pm »

Silas Ng wrote on Thu, 26 July 2007 12:31

Nevermind.  It said in the manual I can just use a mic cable.

Don't use cheap mic cable, that's just asking for trouble.

http://www.wireworks.com/Cords_Assemblies/DMX.htm

Ed Peterson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 136
Re: Quick question...
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2007, 02:19:58 pm »

  The dim pack is likely set to non dim on the affected channels. check the manual to change this.
Logged

E. Lee Dickinson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1523
    • http://www.leedickinson.com
Re: Quick question...
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2007, 10:00:07 pm »

The dimmer or the patch in the board. Either could be set to a "full @ 1%" or "nondim" profile.
Logged
E. Lee Dickinson
Advanced Visual Production Inc.
sound - lighting - video - design
www.avpric.com

Silas Ng

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Quick question...
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2007, 12:13:22 pm »

Okay, thanks.  That helps!  Smile

Is it easy to change it?  I looked through the manual and can't find out how to change it.  I can access the dimmer as well, but I never touched this stuff before.

Thanks.
Logged

Tony "T" Tissot

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3902
    • http://www.4dbsound.com
Re: Quick question...
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2007, 12:55:18 pm »

Which dimmer?  I assume you already checked patches in the 1616.
Logged
MNGS
ProSoundWeb - Home of 50,000 audio professionals - and two or three curmudgeonly SOBs.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.045 seconds with 19 queries.