ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: How common is a PSU failure on a mixing board?  (Read 4643 times)

(Brian) Frost

How common is a PSU failure on a mixing board?
« on: June 02, 2007, 04:11:02 AM »

I have been running sound for 12 years professionally and have never needed to use redundant psu's, but have had them on plenty of gigs.  Today I was using the onboard psu of my crest hp8 and suddenly mid gig, the smell of magic smoke and the board psu lights went out.  No more board!    

What Im really concerned about is whether getting it fixed means that there is a problem with the board that will repeat itself later or if this was just a fluke full moon kinda thing.  

Ill be calling crest monday morning, but this further shakes my faith in crest products (i have blown up more CA series amps than I can count).  

Frost

Owner, Narnia Productions

www.NarniaProductions.com

Chicago IL

Good is good but not as good as better

Kim Watson

• http://www.polarisaudio.co.uk
Re: How common is a PSU failure on a mixing board?
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2007, 05:55:42 AM »

Hey Brian

Recently we have had 2 supplys go down. A&H GL3300 luckerly had a GL3 in the van with supply so stole that. turned out to be a crack on the board. and we also have had a DDA CS8 supply go down, but that console has redundent supplys which saved the day.

We also have a Soundtrax megas... (still going) and that supply was built like a tank! only recently has Capacitors needed resoldering to the board. lost one of the rails... easy to fix though.

So it does happen

Kim Watson
Have a great day!

Kim Watson
=============================
FOH/Monitors/System
www.polarisaudio.co.uk
www.myspace.com/kimsoundchick

Bennett Prescott

• http://www.adraudio.com
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2007, 09:59:18 AM »