ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 4 Piece Rock Band Lighting Rig  (Read 2057 times)

John Ciallella

4 Piece Rock Band Lighting Rig
« on: April 12, 2007, 03:02:40 PM »

Hey everyone, I am a newbie to this, but tried to do my research before bugging you.

I am in a 4 piece rock band, we play bars and small clubs (anywhere from 50-1000 people).  Stage is typically 20x10 (give or take).

Right now, we have 2 Color bank 8's and a fog machine.  The color bank is in each of the rear corners on the floor pointing up & out, and the fogger is in the middle pitched towards the rear wall to distribute evenly.

This is what I'm thinking of getting.

Front Lights:
Either standard Par Cans, or LED fixtures such as ADJ Par 64 LED.  I will get 4 of these and place 2 on top of each front speaker.  Each can will be aimed in the general direction of each performer.  OR I will buy 2 ADJ AccuSpot spot lights (one on top of each speaker).  While this option will be nice for individual lighting, I now have no front wash.

Rear Lights:
2 Trees (one for each rear corner).  On each tree will be:

2 Pin cans (aimed at drummer and drum kit).  These will either be LED or standard as well.
1 Strobe (aimed at drummer- looks REALLY cool when used in moderation for fills)
1 Moonflower type light aimed at stage floor.

Does this sound reasonable?  Any thoughts on how to change it up?  Budget isn't a huge issue, but I'd like to keep the cost to around $2000.

I should also mention that I have a roadie who will be controlling all of the lights during our performance, so a desk board is an option (which is why I thought the spot lights in front may be cool since he can control them as we play).

Thoughts?

Tony "T" Tissot

• http://www.4dbsound.com
Re: 4 Piece Rock Band Lighting Rig
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2007, 02:36:04 AM »

John Ciallella wrote on Thu, 12 April 2007 12:02