ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Power required  (Read 1586 times)

Paul Hill

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 94
    • http://www.upfrontdjs.co.uk
Power required
« on: June 04, 2007, 02:25:21 pm »

FIRSTLY I'M IN THE UK... where I believe power is 230V (although everyone thinks it's 240 - correct me if I'm wrong)

I'm doing an outdoor gig this weekend and I'm not sure how much power I actually need. I'm running 2 Behringer EP2500s. In the specs it says 5A consumption and they have a 8A breaker. There's also some other devices like DSP, cd players, mixer. I think that's everything. Do you think I would be able to power it off one 13A socket if that's all thats available?

Thanks in advance.
Logged
Upfront DJ Services
Sound & Lighting Hire, Mobile Disco
http://www.upfrontdjs.co.uk

Scott Smith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2722
Re: Power required
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2007, 03:20:13 pm »

Doesn't current go "the other way" over there?  ...or maybe that was Australia...?
Logged
"Percussive Maintenance" - Bang on it until it works!
Scott Smith, South Florida - MIXING OLD SCHOOL WITH NEW

Bennett Prescott

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8924
    • http://www.adraudio.com
Re: Power required
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2007, 03:33:11 pm »

Maybe?

Depends on how hard you're driving the system. If you're going to load the amps to 4 ohms and drive them to clip for a few hours, probably not. Otherwise, probably.
Logged
-- Bennett Prescott
Director of North American Sales
ADRaudio d.o.o.
Cell: (518) 488-7190

"Give me 6dB and I shall move the world." -Archimedes

Bob Dore

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 152
Re: Power required
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2007, 03:56:54 pm »

Yes, power in the UK is 230V. You should be ok unless you drive the system flat out.

Bob.
Logged

Paul Hill

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 94
    • http://www.upfrontdjs.co.uk
Re: Power required
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2007, 04:11:21 pm »

Cheers guys. I think I'll be running it with a limiter keeping it just a little lower than the whole system should go. There's a DJ who I don't know using it and I won't be there the whole time. At least this way if he reds the arse of the mixer then it'll just be running just under 'full power' if you know what I mean. Deffinitely no clipping on the amps.
Logged
Upfront DJ Services
Sound & Lighting Hire, Mobile Disco
http://www.upfrontdjs.co.uk

Kevin Ballard

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 359
Re: Power required
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2007, 07:14:55 am »

Paul,

Providing the load isn't into 4 Ohm bridged (in which case you should have different concerns). This little setup will run off a stiff 13A supply. Remember a limiter may raise the RMS output and draw more current and the CD's will alteady be compressed.

BUT

There may be some current in rush to charge the capacitors so wait 5 seconds between turning on each amplifier and because there will be a DJ, I question the power consumption for flashing things (off topic here). Just don't try to run this on the end of a 25m cable unless it is rated for at least 15A or more because it will get warm otherwise, and remember that no mains cable should be left coiled and connected or it will smell of melting insulation after a while.

The 13A fuse in a plug is nominal and unlike a breaker can be abused for short periods of time. This means a current of more value can pass but it will heat up the fuse until it melts. Kick drum type beats can exceed the 13A rating as they pulse but put your hand on the plug and see if you can detect warmth after 15 mins. That will tell you to turn down or it will turn itself off soon.

HTH
Logged
Kevin Ballard

Yes the Toilets are over there!

Paul Hill

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 94
    • http://www.upfrontdjs.co.uk
Re: Power required
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2007, 07:49:47 am »

Thanks Kevin. I'll be running 4ohms off each side of each amp so they should have a bit of extra room in them. I hadn't thought of that feeling the plug trick. I'll do that. And yes, I've checked there won't be any off-topics eating all the juice for my amps. Just 2 amps, dsp, mixer and cd players.

Thanks again. Paul.
Logged
Upfront DJ Services
Sound & Lighting Hire, Mobile Disco
http://www.upfrontdjs.co.uk
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.028 seconds with 19 queries.