ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Hi-Fi connections and unbalanced people  (Read 7253 times)

Eric Snodgrass

Re: Hi-Fi connections and unbalanced people
« Reply #20 on: January 18, 2007, 05:45:53 pm »

Andy Peters wrote on Thu, 18 January 2007 13:24

Today's acronym: WIF (Wife Acceptance Factor).

-a

Wouldn't that be WAF?
Eric Snodgrass
No, really, I do this for a living.

Ian Hunt

« Reply #21 on: January 18, 2007, 06:13:19 pm »

I always heard it was SAR (spousal approval rating)
Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose

Michael 'Bink' Knowles

• http://www.binkster.net/index.shtml
Small studio monitors
« Reply #22 on: January 18, 2007, 06:35:12 pm »

http://www.sorcerersound.com/ns10.gif

Greg Cameron wrote on Thu, 18 January 2007 14:35

Dave Unger wrote on Thu, 18 January 2007 13:21

Speakers are NS10Ms and are driven by a Crown D75A.  All pro live gear and sounds better than most "audiophile" systems I've heard.

Hmm. While the NS10's are an industry standard for near-field studio monitors )because if you can get a mix to sound decent on them it will sound decent on almost anything), they'd be my last choice for a home system. I've always hated they way they sound.

Greg

Yeah, hated. The way I understand the progression is that some prominent studio guys brought in home consumer "bookshelf" style speakers so they could preview their mixes on something less wonderful than their Westlakes. The home speakers happened to be Yamahas. Then a bunch of other studios caught on to the idea and standardized on the Yamaha. Time passes. New people come in to the studio and hear how awesome everything sounds and they also notice the NS10Ms seemingly sitting the place of honor on the meter bridge. The NS10s get their reputation boosted by association. Now NS10s are considered studio monitors.  Rolling Eyes