ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Color Scroller question  (Read 1435 times)

Brian Strike

Color Scroller question
« on: March 21, 2009, 08:31:58 PM »

I'm a theatre tech geek with a lot of lighting experience, lighting high school, community theatre, and college theatre spaces.  
I just purchased my first set of a few color scrollers with the appropriate power supply, cables, etc.  They will be arriving via UPS in 2 days.
I realized that I am one DMX cable short and will not be able to send the 4 pin DMX signal from the last scroller unit BACK to the RETURN on the power supply.  
Will the units still operate properly without the return?  Do I need to try to have another 4 pin overnighted to me in order for these to work properly?  I am very close to a show opening and don't want to spend the extra money to have a cable overnighted to me to make these work, as we're on a shoestring budget as it is.  
Thanks!

John Birchman, CTS

• http://www.jrbtechnical.com/
Re: Color Scroller question
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2009, 08:57:13 PM »

You didn't mention what scrollers and power supply you are using, that would be helpful.  However, most of them are the same.

First, the 4 pin cables are not DMX, they are power and data (the data maybe DMX, but usually is proprietary data to the model of scrollers), for future reference, just call these 4 pin data cables.

For most scrollers you send you 5 pin DMX signal from your console to the power supply, and then a 4 pin data cable to the 1st scroller, and a data cable from the 1st scroller to the 2nd, 2nd to 3rd, etc.

Make sure you are not exceeding the maximum number of scrollers and lenghth of cable to the scrollers from the power supply as recommended by the manufacturer.