ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Live Sound Mixing Help  (Read 5119 times)

Tony "T" Tissot

• http://www.4dbsound.com
Re: Live Sound Mixing Help
« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2006, 03:48:37 pm »

- Do not look for an equipment solution
- Do not buy IEMs
- Do not do anything

BUT

- Turn it down to a level where you can all hear
- Give your drummer lighter sticks - and make him play more quietly (I am a drummer it can be done).
- Tell you guitar players that they can get "their tone" at reduced levels.

I wish I had a quote from Andy Peters - who always has a snappy and insightful post in response to queries that seek "product" solutions to problems that cannot be solved with more audio equipment.

"If you want to "flatten" a room - get a D-9."

If you want to hear - play more quietly.
MNGS
ProSoundWeb - Home of 50,000 audio professionals - and two or three curmudgeonly SOBs.

tomloizeaux

« Reply #11 on: December 08, 2006, 04:05:21 pm »

There are a number of good suggestions here.
My take on this is that, since you have a small PA, it may be a good approach to let the drummer play with only a kick mic, have the bass player only get a touch of bass (DI) into the PA, have the guitar players try to give the audience and the other band members their sound directly... and then puch the vocals into the house AND the monitors.
Keep the kick and bass out of the monitors. The band needs to listen to the instrument stage mix without the monitors working.
Angling the guitar amps in and getting them raised up a little will help the stage sound.

When you get a MUCH bigger PA and can get your stage volume a lot lower, your sound mixer will be able to balance your sound and give the players a good monitor mix. Until then, you guys will have to start listening!

Tom
P A  To Go
Baltimore

Doug Sprinthall

« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2006, 04:35:04 pm »