ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Soundcraft MH2  (Read 24505 times)

Paul Magro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 271
    • http://www.valleysound.net
Re: Soundcraft MH2
« Reply #10 on: December 06, 2006, 11:12:08 am »

  I used the MH2 for another show a few weeks ago.  "Street Survivors" Skynyrd tribute band out of Long Island.   Great group of guys.  My hard drive in my computer crashed, so I lost most of the pictures of the evening, but I have a few left.
 Once again the MH2 lived up to it's reputation of excellent Soundcraft technology.  A while back I first used the MH2 with the Digam 10's.  My system sounded the best ever!!  Well, for the last show I was using a variety of Peavey amps for the mains and PLX for monitors.  I hate to say I used Peavey, but it was a last minute gig and they were all I could get, and for free!  Sadly the amps were the weak point in the system, just not the response I was used to from the Digam 10's or even PLX.  
 I was running about 22 inputs from the stage with eveything on VCA's to keep everything close together.  VCA's were: drums, bass, key/piano, 3 guitars separate, and vocals.  It was so much easier to have everything in one location.  Last time for the AC\/DC tribute, I was mixing on the channel strips and VCA's because of the way I had grouped things and it was a pain.  Also, there was a drunk guy bothering me, so I labeled the unused VCA's and when he told me to turn up the vocals, I'd grab the fake faders!!  He really bought it!!  
 I looked online about the inserts on the aux/subgroups, and found that the inserts are always on the fader.  Or at least that was the way I read it.  The back of the console lists the inserts as "AUX" if I remember correctly.  They should label them as "Fader 1", etc.  So next show I will probably send the vocals though a subgroup so I can throw in a compressor.  I run FOH and MON from the console and it does not work out too well sometimes when compressing each vocal strip.  Obviously, it effects the monitors and some musos are more effected by it than others.
 Once again the preamps were so sweet on the console, and I had the right choice of mics, that the channel eqs were mostly flat.  The typical high pass was engaged on all channels.  I did a bit of eqing to get the bass and kick to sit well and a little 200 hz cut in the vocals and the rest were entirely flat!!  I've used lesser consoles over the years and thinking back, I wasn't really eqing the mics on the channels, I believe that I was really compensating for poor preamps!!!
 I've got two nights in a row over New Years and am going to take the Direct Outs to my recording system and see what the results are.  I usually use Presonus Digimax96 for recording, so I will have something to compare to as far as preamp character goes.
 Here's a fewe pictures I was able to find after all mine were wiped out!!
index.php/fa/6857/0/
Logged
Paul Magro
Valley Sound
802.356.7001
http://www.ValleySound.net

Paul Magro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 271
    • http://www.valleysound.net
Re: Soundcraft MH2
« Reply #11 on: December 06, 2006, 11:14:06 am »

I can only put 1 picture per post unless I glue them together!index.php/fa/6871/0/
Edit:  Here's some glued pics of the FOH setup.
Logged
Paul Magro
Valley Sound
802.356.7001
http://www.ValleySound.net

RYAN LOUDMUSIC JENKINS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2639
Re: Soundcraft MH2
« Reply #12 on: December 06, 2006, 12:22:25 pm »

Paul Magro wrote on Wed, 06 December 2006 09:12

 I run FOH and MON from the console and it does not work out too well sometimes when compressing each vocal strip.  Obviously, it effects the monitors and some musos are more effected by it than others.
 index.php/fa/6857/0/


Here is a really easy solutions for this problem.  Get some inexpensive XLR "Y" cables.  Plug the two male XLRs into two channels on the board for each vocal mic.  Use one of those channels for the FOH and the other for Monitors.  You will have separate EQ for the monitors and don't have the compressor plugged into the monitor channel.  This works great for running monitors from FOH.  I keep a handfull of the "Y" cables in my console case so that I am always ready.
Logged
Ryan Jenkins
"Two days until the end of when I don't know what to think.  Three days until I start the cycle all over again!"

Please visit my website at http://www.murphygirl.com

Ryan Lantzy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2291
    • http://www.lhsoundandlight.com
Re: Soundcraft MH2
« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2007, 07:48:48 pm »

Well folks...

I drove up to meet Bennett through this:

http://photos.lhsoundandlight.com/photos/MH2_State/State%20Theater%20MH2%20install%20003-1.jpg

To bring the State Theatre this:

http://photos.lhsoundandlight.com/photos/MH2_State/State%20Theater%20MH2%20install%20023-1.jpg

Andrew Brodsky and I helped Jim Bowersox move it into the State Theater for some high profiles shows up there.

Look for some updates soon as it sees some use up there.

Logged
Ryan Lantzy
"In the beginner's mind the possibilities are many, in the expert's mind they are few."

Brian Bolly

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 679
Re: Soundcraft MH2
« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2007, 11:16:06 pm »

Well, we'll have Dr John in less than 24 hours.  You're coming out for that show, right?
Logged

Ryan Lantzy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2291
    • http://www.lhsoundandlight.com
Re: Soundcraft MH2
« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2007, 11:19:29 pm »

Brian Bolly wrote on Wed, 31 January 2007 23:16

Well, we'll have Dr John in less than 24 hours.  You're coming out for that show, right?


Like a lot of things in audio... It depends.

The box truck is in for repair.  If it's done or will be done Friday, then yes I'll be up (as long as I feel a little better).  If the truck won't be done, then I have to go unload it tomorrow before I come up.  So I may miss Dr. John, but I might be up in time for the Fools and Horses show at the Cellblock.  We'll see.

Keep you fingers crossed on the box truck.  It will make my gig this Saturday go a bit smoother.
Logged
Ryan Lantzy
"In the beginner's mind the possibilities are many, in the expert's mind they are few."

The Guy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1111
Re: Soundcraft MH2
« Reply #16 on: February 13, 2007, 10:28:24 am »

With a few shows under our belt on the MH2, I think I've got enough to write a first review.  The first show on it was Dr. John, the New Orleans Jazz Pianist.  His BE put together a nice sounding mix and had no qualms about the console or system.

Initial Impressions:
- Build Quality is very solid.
- It's a very "pretty" console
- The raked layout is a nice touch, and all the controls are laid out sensibly.
- For the feature set, the console seems very small to me.  For the application we've got (theater) a compact size is a consideration, when seating is in jeopardy.  
- Balanced Inserts = Smile
- VCA's = Very Happy
- High Quality Fader "Feel"
- I like the fact that they printed VCA assign instructions on the desk (even though some visiting BE's still either 1)ask or 2)just punch buttons until they get frustrated, then ask.)
- Built in PSU = Nice (we are using the DPS4, but it's nice to have an internal one too.)
- 4 Band Sweep EQ = Excellent
- Sweepable HPF = Excellent

The most important considerations to me are (in order of preference): VCA's, 4 Band Sweep EQ, Sweepable HPF, Balanced Inserts, 10 Auxes.

Sound quality wise, the console sounds excellent.  I have experience with the MH3 and MH4 (and love them both) and this seems to be a legitimate shrunken down version of them.  I was expecting the console to feel "lesser" but the guys at Soundcraft have done a very nice job with this one.  The feature set is impressive, and I think this is a very viable board, especially for a regional soundco looking for an affodable VCA desk.  I would consider the MH2 to be a direct competition with the APB Spectra-T and the Yamaha M7, the three consoles on my consideration "to purchase soon" list.  

Will post more as we use it more.  Stay tuned for a big show where we're going to use the MH2 as a 10-Mix monitor console at a festival for around 8 national acts.

-JB


index.php/fa/7931/0/
Logged

Michael 'Bink' Knowles

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4279
    • http://www.binkster.net/index.shtml
Re: Soundcraft MH2
« Reply #17 on: February 13, 2007, 08:19:53 pm »

Quote:

...I would consider the MH2 to be a direct competition with the APB Spectra-T and the Yamaha M7...


Fair enough conclusion. You would be looking at the Spectra-T with balanced insert option, of course, not the plain vanilla -C model. You would need to get all the optional Spectra bells and whistles in order to get closer to a straight across comparison. For one, the MH2 has classic audio subgroup buses whereas the Spectra is 100% VCA groups. This presents a big stylistic difference to people who are used to inserting processing on groups as a whole vs. individual channels. The Spectra solution is quieter in the end but the MH2 would be the choice for folks unable to wrap their heads around 100% VCA groups.

M7CL? I can see where you're coming from but I think the M7CL is significantly different than a standard subgroup plus VCA board. Full dynamics on every input, for starters. Right there you've saved a bundle on outboard.

-Bink
Logged
Michael 'Bink' Knowles
www.binkster.net

The Guy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1111
Re: Soundcraft MH2
« Reply #18 on: February 14, 2007, 06:19:13 pm »

Bink,

I was basing my comparison mainly on pricing, as these 3 consoles are pretty much even in the price department.  I know the M7 is a totally different beast, but it's in the price range.  And yes, the comparison includes the APB T model with balanced inserts.

As for the group thing, on a VCA desk I can't say I ever use the groups.  I generally flip the console into monitor mode (if available) to get the aux outputs on faders.

-JB
Logged

Dan Brown

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1450
    • http://www.reachcomm.net
Re: Soundcraft MH2
« Reply #19 on: February 15, 2007, 12:18:01 am »

I would say that the M7CL-48 and MH248 are not in the same price range as the M7 basic package is $24,999 list and the MH2-48 is $17,895.  I am not sure what the APB consoles are going for list.  Also map on the MH2 looks to be around $15,250 map.

The MH3-48 however is $1000 less list price then the Yamaha.

FYI,
db
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.059 seconds with 20 queries.