ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: BT7 motor corosion  (Read 1942 times)

Antone Atmarama Bajor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 851
    • http://www.geocities.com/somesoundgreat
BT7 motor corosion
« on: August 29, 2006, 05:50:55 pm »

     I feel like sort of an idiot, I whent from storing my BT7's in a barn covered with a Tarp and plywood wall and putting an oil filled space heater between them.  To storing them in my Truck with a nice cold aluminum floor.    

    Corrosion built up on the motor brush terminals and the Torax screws that hold it together.

    The armature and pads are fine, the brushes look great but a couple of them seem really reluctant to start without having a large voltage swing and are a little intermitant and distorted.

    I'm assuming there is corosion inside the motor somewhere  I was wondering if there is an easy way of servicing the motor and cleaning it up especially since the brushes are all good.

    I guess for now on I should stick a space heater in my truck with a humidity sensor to activate it?

    It would really suck to have to have all of my motors rebuilt.

Antone-
Logged

Tom Danley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 500
Re: BT7 motor corosion
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2006, 07:42:57 pm »

Hi

Understand I don’t work for the company, but if it were me, I would;
Loosen the shaft coupler screw and separate the motor and Drive shaft.
Drive each motor with say 5 Vrms at say 15 or 20 Hz for 15 min or so.
Reassemble motor / drive shaft coupling.
If the commutator was dirty / corroded, this should clean it up.
Ignore visible corrosion
Do not spray WD40 etc on anything, you do not want to get oils on the belts or shaft.
Hope that helps,

Tom Danley
Logged

Antone Atmarama Bajor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 851
    • http://www.geocities.com/somesoundgreat
Re: BT7 motor corrosion
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2006, 09:16:11 pm »

Thnx for the suggestion Tom,

    Do those motors have a moving commutator?  Like the old DC generators?

Antone-
Logged

jojo limuaco, jr.

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: BT7 motor corrosion
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2006, 08:12:58 am »

hi,

If you need to replace those servo motor i still have some, but you need to take out the encoder disk and tacho feedback generator. they are direct replacement, i use to replace the in our sdl5 very old. The servo motor came from our robotics and automation machine for semicon company we dont use them anymore we use AC servomotor.

just in case you need it.

have a nice day!
jojo
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.027 seconds with 20 queries.