ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]   Go Down

Author Topic: Anybody use/built the DR290 tops ?  (Read 15331 times)

Jeff Babcock

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2313
Re: Anybody use/built the DR290 tops ?
« Reply #30 on: September 28, 2006, 08:53:30 pm »

Alan & David,
Sounds good.  Please let me know your thoughts re the fidelity once you spend some time getting used to them.  Especially how you would compare them to other fairly well known boxes such as the Mackies or some other common brands.

I'm in the process of asking Bill F about having someone build these for me as I think it may be more of a challenge than I want to take on myself.  Alan - who built yours?

DAVID_L_PERRY

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 274
    • http://www.prosoundhire.co.uk
Re: Anybody use/built the DR290 tops ?
« Reply #31 on: September 29, 2006, 04:14:50 am »

Hi Alan

After re-wiring the HF drivers to drop the sensitivity and replacing the B&C driver with the Delta Pro the cab took only minor eq to get it flat with pink noise, howevor this was done in a hall and not outside, so clearly room acoustics come into play.  But the point being it was a relative test against other cabs in the same room.

This is the Pink noise RTA plot before I re-wired the horns and as you can see it was very hot in that area - hence the harshness of the first test (you can also see the roll off of the B&C in the upper mids that the correct Eminence Delta Pro does not suffer):-
  http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/prosoundhire/DR290%20rta%20no%20e q.jpg
This also explained why so much eq was required to take the harshness out of the box.

You can see the eq adjustmenet required here after the re-wire to get a flat eq and it was pretty small:-
   http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/prosoundhire/dr290%20new%20eq.jpg

You can also see other info on my web page for the DR290
http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/prosoundhire/dr290.htm

Dont forget to sort out the delay of the HF horns and 12" to get the system alligned. As the 12" horn path is so long it is a fair amount of delay on the DR290

The biggest thing for me was simply testing the tops with a vocal mic without the subs (I have just gone over to Aux fed subs) and my current tops just dont extend low enough to cover the lower mids well enough.  This is where the DR simply shines.  Try it out with a mic once you have it eq'd again.

Its just a shame I could not get hold of the original spec'd driver in the first place and ended up using the more expensive but not ideal B&C driver (even after checking it out with bill first...)  Just prooves that paper tests are one thing but real world tests can show something else.

Hope you sort it out, and keep us posted


Dave
Logged

Alan Star

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 66
    • http://namaska.com
Re: Anybody use/built the DR290 tops ?
« Reply #32 on: September 29, 2006, 09:37:52 am »

Jeff Babcock wrote on Fri, 29 September 2006 08:53

Alan & David,
Sounds good.  Please let me know your thoughts re the fidelity once you spend some time getting used to them.  Especially how you would compare them to other fairly well known boxes such as the Mackies or some other common brands.

I'm in the process of asking Bill F about having someone build these for me as I think it may be more of a challenge than I want to take on myself.  Alan - who built yours?



Hey Jeff, Harley Dear built my cabinets and I would recommend him without any hesitation... he is in new zealand - bacer5@ihug.co.nz
Logged

Alan Star

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 66
    • http://namaska.com
Re: Anybody use/built the DR290 tops ?
« Reply #33 on: October 26, 2006, 09:36:04 am »

Well I finally screwed in the last parts of the dr300's that Harley built for me and fired them up for the first time this afternoon. I had both of them sitting on top of my 4 LAB subs, the most noticeable thing for me was how punchy and clear they were in the bottom end, I had them crossed over at 80hz with the labs and they seemed to meet well there. They really added some serious thump to the labs that I haven't heard with my mackies which I thought so far have sounded a bit tinny on top of the labs at times. So far I am happy with the potential, I haven't had a chance to pink them yet and will do so using rta and driverack pa. I guess you have probably figured I am fairly novice, by no means anywhere as experienced as many here but hope this may interest some people.

I guess the most interesting part of this is that the dr300 (and dr290) are horn loaded all the way down to 80hz so theoretically could work well with the LABS ?

I was a bit nervous to fire these up as I wasn't sure if I might be dissapointed with them, well just with the eq flat they actually sounded pretty impressive, certainly loud enough, although a bit harsh here and there so looking forward now to seeing if I can get some extra fidelity with them using the driverack and rta mic and will report back here once I have tested that.

Any suggestions, tips, welcomed, am wondering what amp set up to use for the dr's?

This is what I tested with today.

2x DR300 -  top end 2 x 200watts ? into 16ohms (1 zpe800 crossed at 1200hz)
               - mid bass 2 x 1000watts into 8ohms (2 mackie m1400's)

4x LABS  - 2 x 2500watts into 2ohms (parralleled pairs/1 crown itech6000)

With the 4 labs clustered centrally, with this set up I felt like I wanted to push up the mid range and even more so, the top end.
Logged

peter.golde

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 252
Re: Anybody use/built the DR290 tops ?
« Reply #34 on: October 26, 2006, 04:24:05 pm »

Alan Star wrote on Thu, 26 October 2006 09:36

Well I finally screwed in the last parts of the dr300's that Harley built for me and fired them up for the first time this afternoon. I had both of them sitting on top of my 4 LAB subs, the most noticeable thing for me was how punchy and clear they were in the bottom end, I had them crossed over at 80hz with the labs and they seemed to meet well there. They really added some serious thump to the labs that I haven't heard with my mackies which I thought so far have sounded a bit tinny on top of the labs at times. ...


This is what I have found with similar setups and what I think everyone is missing when they put front loaded cabs on top of Lab Subs or any other high quality horn loaded sub. All the "kick" is 80hz and above, the Labs have no "kick", they just move an incredible amount of air, and when this is coupled to a horn loaded midbass the results are amazing. You wont want to use the front loaded boxes again, assuming you can get the mid and high you want from your DR300's. Very Happy


Quote:


I guess the most interesting part of this is that the dr300 (and dr290) are horn loaded all the way down to 80hz so theoretically could work well with the LABS ?



I think you answered your own question above


Quote:


I was a bit nervous to fire these up as I wasn't sure if I might be dissapointed with them, well just with the eq flat they actually sounded pretty impressive, certainly loud enough, although a bit harsh here and there so looking forward now to seeing if I can get some extra fidelity with them using the driverack and rta mic and will report back here once I have tested that.



Scary, buying on the faith of some internet forum.  Shocked  
Logged
"You can't be a real country unless you have a beer and an airline. It helps if you have some kind of a football team, or some nuclear weapons, but at the very least you need a beer" - Frank Zappa

Alan Star

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 66
    • http://namaska.com
Re: Anybody use/built the DR290 tops ?
« Reply #35 on: October 26, 2006, 09:22:47 pm »

peter.golde wrote on Fri, 27 October 2006 04:24



Scary, buying on the faith of some internet forum.  Shocked  



I know ! Although I must say that Harley did an amazingly thorough job on them but the pain of getting these boxes out of customs here and associated charges etc. has just made me think I will take the plunge next time and build them myself. Cost me close to a grand to get them out of customs with shipping charges and all...I couldn't believe it.
Logged

DAVID_L_PERRY

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 274
    • http://www.prosoundhire.co.uk
Re: Anybody use/built the DR290 tops ?
« Reply #36 on: January 06, 2007, 08:52:44 am »

A review can be found here of my DR290's after a few months usage:-
http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/prosoundhire/dr290%20review.htm

Make of it what you will

Cheers, Dave
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.053 seconds with 20 queries.