ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: 70-volt wiring  (Read 13228 times)

Robert Anderson

70-volt wiring
« on: July 10, 2006, 03:44:44 PM »

Forgive my ignorance - I am new to 70-volt systems.  

Is it true that I can wire an entire 70-volt system in parallel as long as all the sum of the taps does not exceed the wattage of the amplifier?  Or do I still need to try and break it up into series and parallel branches to keep the amp from burning itself out?

Thanks
"We have met the enemy and he is us"
- Pogo Possum

Brad Weber

Re: 70-volt wiring
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2006, 04:08:10 PM »

In a 70V (or more accurately 70.7V) system the speakers, or actually the speaker transformers, are all wired in parallel.  Within reason you may parallel as many speakers as you desire.  This can be one single branch line daisy chained from one speaker to another or you can branch off at various points and have mutliple branch runs as best fits the actual installation.  Whether split at the amp, at a speaker or in a junction box, in a 70.7V system all wiring including multiple branches should be in parallel.