ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7   Go Down

Author Topic: Peavey VSX26 Review  (Read 51146 times)

Justin Rygel

Peavey VSX26 Review
« on: June 07, 2006, 02:20:19 PM »

First off, let me say that I have no experience with any other DSP units, I am not a pro, and I have no ability to take fancy measurements, so take this all with a grain of salt.

I recently purchased a Peavey VSX26 for my church, it is taking care of our processing for a pair of EAW AS300e and LA400.  With the amount of difficulty I had finding useful information on this unit, I thought I’d share what I know now having one in use.

I bought a ‘demo’ unit for a $50 discount, it came with a manual that was labeled as ‘Preliminary'.  I downloaded the latest firmware (v1.03) from the Peavey website.

The VSX26 is pretty easy to use; it has buttons to go to each of the main functions and a navigation wheel to change settings for each function as well as select which input/output you are using.  All parameters are controllable.  The first screen you see upon start-up is a routing matrix where any combination of inputs -> outputs can be selected.  The standard functions are available: compression and delay on all channels, 27 band GEQ on A and B inputs, high and low pass filters (all standard types, 6 – 48 db/oct) on all outputs, 5 band parametric EQ on all outputs, all are fully programmable, no limitations by pre-configured templates or anything like that.  

I have seen some information that says an RTA, which doesn’t seem to be implemented yet.  The computer interface software is still non-existent; although, as easy as it was to use, I don’t see that as a really big deal (esp. for $450).

A couple features that are working that I like: