ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]   Go Down

Author Topic: Your next computer will be a Mac.  (Read 9810 times)

Dave Stevens

Re: Your next computer will be a Mac.
« Reply #50 on: April 11, 2006, 02:38:34 PM »

Phil Ouellette wrote on Sun, 09 April 2006 08:54

Personally, my Mac experience is really old and limited. I found the paternalistic attitude expressed in how Apple prevented you from seeing what is really going on in your machine to not be to my liking (I'm an engineer and I want to know what's that man is doing behind the curtain).

You may want to look at a Mac that's been released since they went to OS X.  Wink  It's the desktop *.nix that Linux (or the others) wish they were.  The under pinnings are Darwin, which is FreeBSD with a Mach kernel, the Quicktime Media layer with the Quartz window server and the Aqua UI.  While the console and root are somewhat abstracted, there is still a full command line environment with all the normal command line tools with the ability for a wide variety of custom configs.  It's *nix with a good interface and graphics subset.  Darwin is open source but QT, Quartz, Aqua and the implementation of the kernel are still closed but more of the system is more open than any version of Windows.  If you want to peak behind the curtain, there is plenty to look at and also several features that aren't yet available in other OSes.

Dave
======================================
Revenge of the Chick Car...
A Barking Dog Goes Road Racing in 2011
http://www.roaddog.com/racing/

Bob Lee (QSC)

« Reply #51 on: April 12, 2006, 01:24:48 PM »

Phil Ouellette wrote on Sun, 09 April 2006 08:54