ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What mains with Tuba 24's?  (Read 4418 times)

kevinjames

What mains with Tuba 24's?
« on: February 12, 2006, 01:03:47 PM »

Hi newbie here with a few questions about matching mains to my new subs. This will probably be a long one so sorry for that in advance, but any help / oppinions would be appreciated.

I'm the very very happy new owner of 4 HL10a loaded Tuba 24 subs. I had them built for me, I did not build them myself because I have no skill at that type of thing and I'm NOT a diy'er at all. I'm so happy with the Tuba 24's that I am thinking of having 4 more built for a total of 8. I have 2 mains now (a pair of old JBL SR4735a's) but I need to buy 2 more mains if I add 4 more Tuba 24's. I am thinking of selling off my 2 SR4735a's in favor of 4 new dual 15 style tops.

My questions are:

1. What mains would you guys recomend as the best match for the Tuba 24's?

2. Are dual 15's my best option or is there something better?

I cross my subs over anywhere from 70hz to 100hz (usually right at 80hz probably about 9 out of 10 times depending on the room). I was thinking dual 15's because I want more punch just above the subs between the range of 80hz - 300hz. With only 1 15 each I don't feel like the SR4735a's are delivering enough punch in that frequency range.

This rig is for continouse dj use only in small to medium size rooms (if I add the 4 more subs and use 4 tops I'd say maybee 800 person events at the absolute most but usually about half that), no live musicians ever, and specifically the program content is very bass heavy House Music ( I really don't even venture into other electronic dance music genres very often at all, just House ) so I really want some major punch to the kick.